We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bar with good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bruno's Bar & Grill

Bruno's Bar & Grill
304 Caribou St, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A1, Canada
+1 403-762-8115
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 128 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $16
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Private
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“bar with good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

The Eggs Benedict were better than any other in the area, maybe the best I have found anywhere! My companion was not a fan of the french toast. I had a taste of the french toast, however, and found it to be wonderful. The fruit compote over the top was excellent. The toast itself was not sweet and flavorful so the addition of the fruit and extra syrup was necessary for those wanting sweet, sweet, sweet. The potatoes on the plate were very good as well. Breakfast all day is a good thing.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    54
    23
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Not many vegetarian options”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Bruno's is a pretty good pub in Banff. The food is average and not many vegetarian options. But they have live music which is fantastic!! Cozy, fun place to drink, listen to music and chill. And it has all day breakfaast until 4pm:)

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The place to be!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Forget the review saying it's run down. The new owners have obviously been pumping all their spare cash into refreshing the decor...and it's looking awesome! We visited there several times for breakfast and returned for dinner. The food is hearty and tasty with a home-cooked feel to go with the friendly atmosphere created by their warm and welcoming staff.

Jerry and Matt, the owners, were great with their advice on where to go and what to do in Banff. With such a relaxed feel,value for money food, generous portions, live music (evenings 2/3 nights a week) and most of all great food, we'd recommend a visit!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Always stop with the kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Most times through Banff we stop at Bruno's with the kids. They have a kids menu though our oldest now selects from the main menu and loves the mac and cheese. Though the restaurant isn't much to look at the food is delicious and you can tell why it's popular with the locals. I'd recommend the burgers and swapping for the elk meat for the beef.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Pleasant Suprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stopped here for breakfast after an early start. We had the breakfast burrito. It was huge! Plenty to share for my wife and me. The pico was fresh, spicy & incredible!! The burrito was filling and out - of - this - world. Who knew that a little bar in Canada would produce spice good enough for a couple Texans :) If you are in Banff - start at 9 am, the crowds really don't show till about 10 or after. We had the whole bar (and sidewalks) to ourselves!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bruno's Bar & Grill also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Bruno's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bruno's Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.