We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food, clean restaurant and a little noisy atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Balkan Restaurant

Balkan Restaurant
120 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L-1A4, Canada
403-762-3454
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 128 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $13 - $27
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“good food, clean restaurant and a little noisy atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The restaurant was very good. The parking is relatively easy. The host was very effective with online reservations. The restaurant was clean. The food was very good with a diversified menu and a good wine list. However I preferred beer that night.
The service was quick. And the waitress wanted to insure that we were satisfied with everything.
The atmosphere is younger generation. Therefore it is a little more noisy, but not excessively. It is a place that feels alive.
I would recommend it to anyone who wants good food with an energic atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    170
    65
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Blanc, Michigan, United States
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Amazing Greek food and atmosphere, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a must if you are staying in Banff. Our only disappointment is that we had to leave food behind as we couldn't finish the meal but not for lack of trying. The Saganaki was superb, I had the calamari appetizer which was huge and perfection - served with Tzaziki sauce. My husband had a house specialty that was a lamb shank, braised 12 hours and as promised, falling off the bone, served with cucumber and tomato salad, rice pilaf and vegetables. Was able to order Prosecco by the glass and our server was right there when needed. Oh, and while we were trying to narrow down our selection for the evening, he brought bread with olive oil and balsamic to dip. No reservations as we'd just hit town but they got us in. Busy place but didn't impact service or receiving bar and food service in quick order.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Went went with another couple on the recommendation from hotel concierge. We were not disappointed! Both couples had the variety platter for two. Waaaay too much food, but very good. Service was prompt, especially considering how busy the were. Great experience.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balmain, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Overall didn't match expectation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

A family member had recommended this restaurant. It was booked out on the Saturday so returned on the Sunday when it was still busy. My sister is allergic to onions so asked the waiter whether her meal choice had any. He forgot first time (too busy) so asked again and the choice did have onions so she ordered the calamari. It came covered in onions! Service overall was disappointing and not what we had come to expect from other experiences in Canada.

However to be fair my slow cooked lamb was excellent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Opa! Good dinner and a surprise to find nice Greek food outside of Athens!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Started with a fun cocktail with cherries - yum. Cheese flamed tableside and tasty hummis with herbed flatbread. My entree - 'moose' aka :) was good and my friend's lamb shank nearly got my hand stabbed...that was the best down to the juices!! Thankfully, he shared! Service was a little slow....waitress stopped just shy of our table and stood talking to the other table for over 5 minutes while we watched the ice melt in our drinks. Then she wasn't able to locate a machine for the credit card when we asked to pay the bill. Food was quite good..and little kinks manageable. If you feel like Greek...go for it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balkan Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Balkan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balkan Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.