We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food, clean restaurant and a little noisy atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Balkan Restaurant

Balkan Restaurant
120 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L-1A4, Canada
+1 403-762-3454
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 129 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $29
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“good food, clean restaurant and a little noisy atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The restaurant was very good. The parking is relatively easy. The host was very effective with online reservations. The restaurant was clean. The food was very good with a diversified menu and a good wine list. However I preferred beer that night.
The service was quick. And the waitress wanted to insure that we were satisfied with everything.
The atmosphere is younger generation. Therefore it is a little more noisy, but not excessively. It is a place that feels alive.
I would recommend it to anyone who wants good food with an energic atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    187
    74
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Blanc, Michigan, United States
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Amazing Greek food and atmosphere, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a must if you are staying in Banff. Our only disappointment is that we had to leave food behind as we couldn't finish the meal but not for lack of trying. The Saganaki was superb, I had the calamari appetizer which was huge and perfection - served with Tzaziki sauce. My husband had a house specialty that was a lamb shank, braised 12 hours and as promised, falling off the bone, served with cucumber and tomato salad, rice pilaf and vegetables. Was able to order Prosecco by the glass and our server was right there when needed. Oh, and while we were trying to narrow down our selection for the evening, he brought bread with olive oil and balsamic to dip. No reservations as we'd just hit town but they got us in. Busy place but didn't impact service or receiving bar and food service in quick order.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Went went with another couple on the recommendation from hotel concierge. We were not disappointed! Both couples had the variety platter for two. Waaaay too much food, but very good. Service was prompt, especially considering how busy the were. Great experience.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balmain, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Overall didn't match expectation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

A family member had recommended this restaurant. It was booked out on the Saturday so returned on the Sunday when it was still busy. My sister is allergic to onions so asked the waiter whether her meal choice had any. He forgot first time (too busy) so asked again and the choice did have onions so she ordered the calamari. It came covered in onions! Service overall was disappointing and not what we had come to expect from other experiences in Canada.

However to be fair my slow cooked lamb was excellent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Opa! Good dinner and a surprise to find nice Greek food outside of Athens!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Started with a fun cocktail with cherries - yum. Cheese flamed tableside and tasty hummis with herbed flatbread. My entree - 'moose' aka :) was good and my friend's lamb shank nearly got my hand stabbed...that was the best down to the juices!! Thankfully, he shared! Service was a little slow....waitress stopped just shy of our table and stood talking to the other table for over 5 minutes while we watched the ice melt in our drinks. Then she wasn't able to locate a machine for the credit card when we asked to pay the bill. Food was quite good..and little kinks manageable. If you feel like Greek...go for it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balkan Restaurant also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Balkan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balkan Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.