We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oopa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balkan Restaurant

Balkan Restaurant
120 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L-1A4, Canada
+1 403-762-3454
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 128 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Oopa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The Balkan restaurant is brilliant....the end :-)
The food is delicious, we'd highly recommend the Athenian Chicken although all the dishes we tried were excellent!!
The staff were friendly and very helpful.
If you go on a Tuesday or Thursday you will have Greek night, make sure you join in with the entertainment on those nights, lead by the staff!!
All in all an excellent place to go and eat, right in the centre of Banff!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    339
    185
    71
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good Food and Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I really don't know much about Greek food, but our family really enjoyed this restaurant. We went on "Greek Night" (Tues. and Thurs.). The entertainment started around 8:30 - Belly Dancer who went all around the restaurant followed by a Greek line dance consisting of volunteers from the diners. At the end of the dance, the participants had the chance to break a dish. The 6 kids in our group loved this as did the adults who were originally doubtful. The seafood was very good as were the salads. Actually no one complained and all had a good time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Too much to pay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The calamari appetizer was great and plentiful, served with a wonderful tzatziki sauce. Service was very good and the restaurant is attractive. On the down side, the lamb shank, while huge, was not very tender, and the chicken "sword" was overcooked and dry. I enjoyed the pita bread and rice pilaf more than the entrees. Other than the calamari, it was too much to pay for a meal that we could have made at home with better results.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, food-like experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

A late arrival in Banff put us out for dinner around 10 pm and Balkan's tables were clearing out when we arrived. Our server was Hendrick (sorry if I've spelled that wrong) and this guy really knows the menu, how things are made, and impressed us with his great attitude. He obviously is a pro and made some great recommendations. A great example of what a restaurant experience should be.

We had a couple of cocktails to start followed by a daily special quinoa salad (basically a greek salad with quinoa) - very nicely done. We had calamari and spanakopita and were stuffed. Everything was excellent. A glass of ouzo finished it off nicely and I was impressed with how little the bill was given we had so much to eat and drink.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“OK”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The food was good, but television in a restaurant abstracts from enjoying it. Service could be better, when servant speaks out louder and clearer.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balkan Restaurant also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Balkan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balkan Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.