We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food but not so clean restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Balkan Restaurant

Balkan Restaurant
120 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L-1A4, Canada
+1 403-762-3454
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 128 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food but not so clean restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Yes we like the food , I'm not so impressed with dinning room, too small for my opinion, tables is to close to each other, floor is too dirty. This restaurant have good reputation and great food it will be nice to invest in better interior.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    337
    183
    71
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“No Complaints”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Had lunch here one afternoon after a long drive fron Kamploops The girl that was serving was very friendly and they were getting ready for Greek Easter. We had the lamb kebabs with all the trimmings the french fries were enormous and very tasty we alos got a starter of chicken wings and they were delecious. Good Greek cusine Would return if I were in Banff

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Food, Service & Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We just discovered this little gem last weekend and were totally impressed by our visit. The service was fantastic, the food (The greek fries are a MUST) was amazing and the price was totally reasonable. We are looking forward to heading back to Banff for another taste.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Greek food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This is a very good Greek restaurant. The ambience is beautiful with exposed brink and wood beams throughout. We had a young waiter who was terrific - very knowledgeable, very enthusiastic and very much a showman.

The food was excellent. I had the Bison filets - Mmmmm!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Delicious Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

As a family we have always enjoyed the food in this restaurant. We sometimes drive to Banff especially to dine in Balkan. The lamb chops are amazing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balkan Restaurant also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Balkan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balkan Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.