We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Complaints” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Balkan Restaurant

Balkan Restaurant
120 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L-1A4, Canada
403-762-3454
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 122 restaurants in Banff
Price range: $13 - $27
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“No Complaints”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Had lunch here one afternoon after a long drive fron Kamploops The girl that was serving was very friendly and they were getting ready for Greek Easter. We had the lamb kebabs with all the trimmings the french fries were enormous and very tasty we alos got a starter of chicken wings and they were delecious. Good Greek cusine Would return if I were in Banff

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    234
    134
    49
    7
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Food, Service & Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We just discovered this little gem last weekend and were totally impressed by our visit. The service was fantastic, the food (The greek fries are a MUST) was amazing and the price was totally reasonable. We are looking forward to heading back to Banff for another taste.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Greek food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This is a very good Greek restaurant. The ambience is beautiful with exposed brink and wood beams throughout. We had a young waiter who was terrific - very knowledgeable, very enthusiastic and very much a showman.

The food was excellent. I had the Bison filets - Mmmmm!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Delicious Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

As a family we have always enjoyed the food in this restaurant. We sometimes drive to Banff especially to dine in Balkan. The lamb chops are amazing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolum Beach, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Top Quality everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We visited here whist in Banff on the search for good food and good cocktails - and this is exactly what we got! Best quality food (The Lamb Shanks and the Bicen wrapped in bacon are to die for!) have tasted in Canada and the service was top notch! - we even went back a second night in a row! I would really recommend eating here whist in Banff!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balkan Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park

Been to Balkan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balkan Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.