We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, yummy Greek food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Balkan Restaurant

Balkan Restaurant
120 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L-1A4, Canada
403-762-3454
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 126 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $13 - $27
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great service, yummy Greek food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My husband and I ate here on our mountian getaway - we had essentially the meze, a multi-course meal of Greek delights. My absolute favourite part was the spanakopita - probably the best I've ever had! Our server did a good job and made sure we knew what everything was when dropping off platters. The food was really tasty, definitely some of the better Greek food out there!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    161
    61
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Fantastic food & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This was my favorite restaurant in Banff overall - partially because I am a sucker for Mediterranean fare but the combination of great service, excellent food, and a fair price makes it a must-do.

We ordered the Yia-yia's Quinoa Fig Salad and Spanakopita for starters, then had a pulled lamb sandwich (with artichoke & tatziki), and the dip medley.

The decor is understated as far as Greek style goes. We dined at lunch time but I'm sure they would cater to a large group very well, and at night I bet it would make a great spot for a romantic date.

Would definately return.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Wow, simply surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Highly recommend this restaurant, I have tried Greek food all over and this restaurant will certainly be one of the top five.

We were in Banff on a business trip, we found this restaurant quite by chance. We arrived for a late lunch and the staff was welcoming and warm, the waitress (English gal) was extremely helpful and courteous.

We had the lunch combo, the soup was simply delightful and the sandwich was perfect.

Keep up the good work,

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Perfect group dinner experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The gang at Balkan gave us the perfect dining experience to cap off our group ski trip! The food, service, entertainment, booking flexibilty and warm welcome were above and beyond what anyone expected. It was one pleasant surprise after another, from a somalier making great Greek wine suggestions to the mix-master and his Panda shots, all A-1. The food was without saying, delicious (I had the lamb). The pita and dips were fresh and delicious. The main course was melt of the bone good and the dessert was spot on.

The host knows how to throw a party complete with excellent emcee skills, Zorba dance, the belly dancing and plate smashing to complete the night. I love the fact that you can hang out in the bar before of after your meal and feel right at home.

We will see them again next season for sure!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Had dinner here for my birthday, staff treated us like family. Their were plate smashing and belly dancing, nice they stuck to the culture and tradition of Greek. Good place to go for a fancier dinner, would not reccomend wearing just any clothes their because of how nice it is! Try the Sangria... its amazing!!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balkan Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Balkan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balkan Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.