We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food with trendy ambience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Balkan Restaurant

Balkan Restaurant
120 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L-1A4, Canada
+1 403-762-3454
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 127 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $29
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Great food with trendy ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We had a terrific lunch at the Balkan Restaurant recently one Saturday afternoon. It was fresh, filling and very enjoyable Greek food, consisting of one beef and one pork souvlaki on freshly made pita with a side salad coverered in feta and olives (note this is not a Horitaki Greek salad with cucumbers and tomatoes - that was an extra $2 per plate but this salad was excellent).

Our waiter told us that they had rennovated recently and the place looked trendy and yet traditional Greek at the same time. The place was hopping and the servers were kept busy but always attentive. I ate at the Balkan many years ago and it was good. Today it is worth the stop!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    177
    68
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

My husband and I shared the Arni Kleftiko (The Stolen Lamb) braised lamb shoulder with roasted vegetables which was in it's own dish along with a tiny serving of mint pesto which was delicious but the tablespoon was not enough for this very gamey lamb that is from New Zealand! A small serving of Greek salad was included for two. All of this was for 60 dollars. The lamb needed more flavour and braising! The server disappeared after the comment on the lamb. The atmosphere was forced with the owner getting people to dance. Overall a disappointment after two other evening meals in other establishments during the week that were excellent.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Great food but service is youthful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We loved the food & the show. Everything was wonderful. I would only suggest that the servers check in more frequently especially before the show. We would have taken dessert & coffee for the show but after the show we were tired so I suggest that the employees check in 5 minutes before so people 'stack up' before the show.

Very very good greek food and in Montreal we have lots of greeks so I know.

Enjoy Banff

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

made a reservation for two before coming to Balkan on Thursday night, food was expensive but very good my hubby had the lamb for main and i had the charred pork ribs, balkan have great atmosphere and entertainment that night there was belly dancing and breaking plates. the service was ok it was very busy that night and our server forgot to run our main course after we had our starters but he was very nice to give us a freebie desert the baklava cheesecake and it was delicious all in all it was a great experience and we will be coming back for sure.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Overpriced for what you get”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I was really expecting more of a true Greek dining experience at the Balkan especially considering the prices. What a disappointment!

The food was bland, uninspiring and overpriced. We had two entrees, two glasses of house wine, one dessert and a brandy... over $100. I expect that of a more culinary focused restaurant and unfortunately, I expected that of Balkan.

I have to say the ambience is nice but they do not serve Greek cuisine. They are to Greek what Olive Garden is to Italian.

Disappointed. Will not return and have already warned people against going there.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balkanbanff, Owner at Balkan Restaurant, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry you didn't enjoy your experience at the Balkan. We always aim to offer an authentic Greek culinary experience using a combination of our family' recipes and contemporary Greek cooking. We are proud to offer our guests Karlos' family recipes like 12 hour slow roasted Arni Psito, Lago Stifado, Yiayia's Lemon Half Chicken, Handrolled Dolmathes and Keftedes as well as daily housemade pitas. We just launched our new menu and hope you have the opportunity to try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balkan Restaurant also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Balkan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balkan Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.