We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Balkan Restaurant

Balkan Restaurant
120 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L-1A4, Canada
403-762-3454
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 124 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $13 - $27
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

made a reservation for two before coming to Balkan on Thursday night, food was expensive but very good my hubby had the lamb for main and i had the charred pork ribs, balkan have great atmosphere and entertainment that night there was belly dancing and breaking plates. the service was ok it was very busy that night and our server forgot to run our main course after we had our starters but he was very nice to give us a freebie desert the baklava cheesecake and it was delicious all in all it was a great experience and we will be coming back for sure.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    143
    51
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Overpriced for what you get”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I was really expecting more of a true Greek dining experience at the Balkan especially considering the prices. What a disappointment!

The food was bland, uninspiring and overpriced. We had two entrees, two glasses of house wine, one dessert and a brandy... over $100. I expect that of a more culinary focused restaurant and unfortunately, I expected that of Balkan.

I have to say the ambience is nice but they do not serve Greek cuisine. They are to Greek what Olive Garden is to Italian.

Disappointed. Will not return and have already warned people against going there.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balkanbanff, Owner at Balkan Restaurant, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry you didn't enjoy your experience at the Balkan. We always aim to offer an authentic Greek culinary experience using a combination of our family' recipes and contemporary Greek cooking. We are proud to offer our guests Karlos' family recipes like 12 hour slow roasted Arni Psito, Lago Stifado, Yiayia's Lemon Half Chicken, Handrolled Dolmathes and Keftedes as well as daily housemade pitas. We just launched our new menu and hope you have the opportunity to try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Appealing Food , Nice Ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We walked in and lucked into a table about 6:00 pm on a Thursday. The decor was modern and pleasing, the service was very good and attentive. We shared the beef and rice wrapped in grape leaves which was very tasty, if almost a little salty. My BH (Better half) had the pork chop for his main and it was cooked perfectly, I had the slow cooked lamb recommended by our server. The lamb was fall off the bone tender and very tasty and enough for 2 hungry people. The sides were well cooked if under seasoned somewhat. Generous portions didn't allow room for dessert and overall, the food was quite good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Food and with a family, would be great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We dined at Balkan in Feb 2013. 2 adults and one teenager so the ambience wasn't high on the priority list. Food was good but a bit pricey for what you got. The Souvlaki was nice, the chicken ambrosia??? was apparently nice and whatever the 18 year old had disappeared, so i presume it was good as well. It is probably a place to eat at after 8 pm as the atmosphere when we were there was a bit bland.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Entertainment, Poor Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Food like most food in Banff is quite expensive. To get the best bang for your buck, go on a Tuesday or Thursday night - they have Belly Dancing and plate smashing those nights (greek night). For a quieter night, arrive at 6:00 before 8:00 (when greek night starts). For a better view of entertainment, sit in the middle instead of on the side in a booth.

Great food but poor service. Likely the service was just a one time bad experience, however we had a waiter with a pony-tail that was extremely inexperienced. He spent all his time at the larger tables and basically forgot about us. 20+ min waits were commonplace when waiting for food, drinks, and to leave. I would come here again because the food was good, but be prepared to get somewhat aggressive when you want something done. After politely approaching the manager, he packed up our food and got us on our way very quickly.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balkan Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Balkan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balkan Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.