We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balkan Restaurant

Balkan Restaurant
120 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L-1A4, Canada
+1 403-762-3454
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 128 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Lovely starter platter with plenty of choices. I ordered the prawn appetizer which was perfection! This appy alone was enough to fill me. Entree was mouth watering lamb that just slid off the bone. I was so full at this point that I couldn’t eat it all but it was amazing. The desert was also really really good cheesecake. I posted pictures so see for yourself! This dinner was paid for by my company so I’m not sure how pricey it was but the combination of ambiance and food makes this spot priceless for a special occasion.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    339
    184
    71
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Authentic Greek meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The service and food are great. The meals are very close to the real authentic meals. Few days per week they have live music and it is a lot of fun.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Love this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Every time I go to this restaurant they have friendly upbeat staff that are super knowledgeable about their product. When we arrived they weren't able to take us right away so they took our cell number down and texted us when they were ready. The waiter suggested a great bottle of wine. Our first sip wasn't what I would call amazing, but once we started pairing it with our meal it was great! The only downside is there are no gluten free desserts so we had to go elsewhere.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balkanbanff, Owner at Balkan Restaurant, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for the great review. Greek wines, even more than most, are fantastic when combined with the right food combinations. We have taken your advice and will be adding a gluten free dessert on our next menu revision. We look forward to seeing you again! Yiasas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“We had a great time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The food was good, if a bit pricey. We had a great evening. Be sure to volunteer for the Zorba dancing and plate smashing - which is on Tuesdays and Thursdays.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our favorite restaurant in Banff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I really like this restaurant. I like everything in this restaurant - design, entertainment for visitors and of course the food! On Thursday evening you have a great opportunity to not only enjoy a good atmosphere, but to take part in traditional Greek dance or belly dance! From the menu, I like many of the dishes, but our favorite dish - the lamb! Very tasty! Restaurant has very friendly staff willing to help with the selection and recommendation! Recomend to visit this place!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balkan Restaurant also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Balkan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balkan Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.