We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Balkan Restaurant

Balkan Restaurant
120 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L-1A4, Canada
403-762-3454
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 126 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $13 - $27
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Calgary
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Love this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Every time I go to this restaurant they have friendly upbeat staff that are super knowledgeable about their product. When we arrived they weren't able to take us right away so they took our cell number down and texted us when they were ready. The waiter suggested a great bottle of wine. Our first sip wasn't what I would call amazing, but once we started pairing it with our meal it was great! The only downside is there are no gluten free desserts so we had to go elsewhere.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balkanbanff, Owner at Balkan Restaurant, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for the great review. Greek wines, even more than most, are fantastic when combined with the right food combinations. We have taken your advice and will be adding a gluten free dessert on our next menu revision. We look forward to seeing you again! Yiasas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    165
    64
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Key West
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“We had a great time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The food was good, if a bit pricey. We had a great evening. Be sure to volunteer for the Zorba dancing and plate smashing - which is on Tuesdays and Thursdays.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our favorite restaurant in Banff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I really like this restaurant. I like everything in this restaurant - design, entertainment for visitors and of course the food! On Thursday evening you have a great opportunity to not only enjoy a good atmosphere, but to take part in traditional Greek dance or belly dance! From the menu, I like many of the dishes, but our favorite dish - the lamb! Very tasty! Restaurant has very friendly staff willing to help with the selection and recommendation! Recomend to visit this place!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Belly Dancing Greeks?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

We went here on our second night in Banff. The range of food was very good. The service was friendly and we could have a laugh and a joke with the staff. I have to been to the Greek Islands quite a lot and also the Greek mainland, now my measure of a good Greek restaurant is the Saganaki. The one at the Balkan is very good. There is one thing though, as I have said, I have been to Greece quite a lot and have Greek friends, in all my visits I have never seen belly dancing and it has never come up in conversation - so I am not quite sure why the Balkan has belly dancing.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balkanbanff, Owner at Balkan Restaurant, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
We're thrilled you enjoyed our delicious flambeed saganaki! We have free live entertainment ever Tuesday and Thursday nights with professionally trained local bellydancers Balance Jamal and Meysa as well as some Greek dancing. You are correct that bellydancing originated in the middle east. In the 1920s during the mass migration of Greeks from Asia Minor this amazing dance was brought over to the mainland and integrated into modern Greek dance culture. Today it is known as Tsiftetelli and danced, not only by professionals, but. by men and women at many social and family gatherings. We just love to dance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Greek treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We love holidaying in the Greek isles and found this restaurant to be a true taste of authentic Greece in snowy Banff. Fab, tasty dishes ( saganaki appetiser, Aubergine salad/dip) followed by giros and seafood saganaki. Delicious!
Great attentive service from the friendly, charismatic manager. Nice interior, can imagine large groups would be well accommodated as well as smaller parties.
Prices very reasonable... A real find and one of the best in Banff.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balkan Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Balkan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balkan Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.