We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greek treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balkan Restaurant

Balkan Restaurant
120 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L-1A4, Canada
+1 403-762-3454
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 128 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Greek treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We love holidaying in the Greek isles and found this restaurant to be a true taste of authentic Greece in snowy Banff. Fab, tasty dishes ( saganaki appetiser, Aubergine salad/dip) followed by giros and seafood saganaki. Delicious!
Great attentive service from the friendly, charismatic manager. Nice interior, can imagine large groups would be well accommodated as well as smaller parties.
Prices very reasonable... A real find and one of the best in Banff.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    339
    184
    71
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Servers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Went for a bday. Made a reservation and had to call and change the time and it was no problem. Food was great. Great drinks! Great server

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Food and Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

On our trip to ski at Banff we had a family dinner at the Balkan. We were there on a Thursday night which was a bonus. They had a belly dancer, restaurant patrons dancing, and of course traditional smashing of the plates. Our food and service where very good. The manager made sure everyone was having a good time and good food. I recommend getting a reservation as they are very busy. Thank you for making our evening enjoyable!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great food, great fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

We ate at Balkan on a Thursday night and enjoyed great food and also being entertained by a belly dancer who encouraged diners to get up and dance. A lot of fun and laughs. A zorba dance followed by plate smashing was enjoyed by many.
Great service, good wine recommendations.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed our lunch, the food was great, the staff were so friendly and attentive and it was a nice atmosphere. Thank you for a great meal

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balkan Restaurant also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Balkan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balkan Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.