We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Balkan Restaurant

Balkan Restaurant
120 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L-1A4, Canada
+1 403-762-3454
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 129 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $29
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great food, great fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

We ate at Balkan on a Thursday night and enjoyed great food and also being entertained by a belly dancer who encouraged diners to get up and dance. A lot of fun and laughs. A zorba dance followed by plate smashing was enjoyed by many.
Great service, good wine recommendations.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    187
    75
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed our lunch, the food was great, the staff were so friendly and attentive and it was a nice atmosphere. Thank you for a great meal

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great food great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We ate here twice and we were not disappointed the food is excellent and the service was great,the restaurant even has plate smashing we got abit close to it but it was good fun

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Decent but wouldn't return”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Thought we'd give this place a try and while we weren't dissappointed, we weren't particularly impressed, either. The food was good but not outstanding, and when you're paying 4 times the price of the greek food at OPA, who also serve good food, then you expect to be wowed. If you know the Pegasus in Calgary, then you know what we were comparing it to going in, perhaps that was our mistake.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The food was good, not great, but good. Portions were very large. The service was excellent and the restaurant can accommodate big groups. Their is also belly dancing some nights. I don't know that it was a highlight of Banff but it was certainly worth the money.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balkan Restaurant also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Balkan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balkan Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.