We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balkan Restaurant

Balkan Restaurant
120 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L-1A4, Canada
+1 403-762-3454
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 132 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $27
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed our lunch, the food was great, the staff were so friendly and attentive and it was a nice atmosphere. Thank you for a great meal

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    387
    209
    83
    13
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We ate here twice and we were not disappointed the food is excellent and the service was great,the restaurant even has plate smashing we got abit close to it but it was good fun

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
186 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Decent but wouldn't return”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Thought we'd give this place a try and while we weren't dissappointed, we weren't particularly impressed, either. The food was good but not outstanding, and when you're paying 4 times the price of the greek food at OPA, who also serve good food, then you expect to be wowed. If you know the Pegasus in Calgary, then you know what we were comparing it to going in, perhaps that was our mistake.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
105 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The food was good, not great, but good. Portions were very large. The service was excellent and the restaurant can accommodate big groups. Their is also belly dancing some nights. I don't know that it was a highlight of Banff but it was certainly worth the money.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
143 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Busy spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We've eaten here many times while in Banff and always enjoyed the food. Our visit this time did not bring memorable feelings, but overall good. Friendly wait staff.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balkan Restaurant also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Balkan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balkan Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.