We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Balkan Restaurant

Balkan Restaurant
120 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L-1A4, Canada
+1 403-762-3454
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 129 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $29
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Calgary
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Busy spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We've eaten here many times while in Banff and always enjoyed the food. Our visit this time did not bring memorable feelings, but overall good. Friendly wait staff.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    348
    187
    74
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Awesome food, awesome service, good prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We were glad we made a reservation because the place was busy but right from entering the restaurant we were made to feel welcome and appreciated. We were seated immediately and our waiter took our drink order right away. We started with the seafood and mussel appetizer and it was fantastic. Then I had moussaka (my favourite) and it was the best I've ever had with greek salad. My husband had souvalaki skewers and also enjoyed his meal. The portions were substantial and we were too full for dessert. All in all. a fantastic meal for a very fair price. So glad we read Urban Spoon reviews.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A tasty treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We ate by the bar, so I can't comment on the restaurant interior, but we certainly had plenty entertainment watching the cocktails being made!
The food was delicious, with generous helpings. As a coeliac, I had lots of choice, and was given a large plate of crudites to substitute for the pita bread with my starter.
I was also impressed to see one of the owners circulating to everyone to ensure they were enjoying their meal.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I've been to this restaurant three times now and the only bad thing to say is that it can be quite noisy. But on the flip side, you know the food is excellent because it's busy. The service is professional and friendly. They cater for large groups easily as well as families with young children. The roast lamb is succulent and very moreish. I would highly recommend Balkan for anyone who likes good food!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Service was quick, the food was delicious, and the prices were reasonable for that kind of dining. Would happily eat there again. I recommend the platter special.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balkan Restaurant also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Balkan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balkan Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.