We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun atmosphere and good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Balkan Restaurant

Balkan Restaurant
120 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L-1A4, Canada
403-762-3454
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #3 of 120 restaurants in Banff
Price range: $13 - $27
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Visited on Greek night and the place was rammed but managed to get one of the tables in the bar area. Service was very friendly and prompt. Calamari was good (not rubbery) and the 'Donair' tasty. My wife had the Greek salad and moussaka, both of which she enjoyed. Note the portions are large, after having such a big starter I struggled to finish my kebab. Enjoyed it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    199
    110
    46
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Delicious Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

My 13 year old son and I took a chance on Balkan. There were plenty of restaurants to choose from but this place was crowded and I really liked the menu, which can be viewed before deciding to eat there. I am so glad that we close Balkan! The food was delicious and very fresh. Definitely get the side Greek salad. The menu says just Greek Salad, which I ordered, and the waitress asked if I wanted the "small", which was not an option on the menu. I was so grateful that she asked because the regular size is easily enough for 4 people! The "small" or side Greek salad was still plenty of food but it was great as a side dish. There was not a speck of food left on either of our plates. I recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good Greek food in a beautiful venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We had two gyros and two beers and sat in the bar area at the window. The food was right on and the service was excellent. The decor is pretty upscale yet cozy.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best Roast Lamb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The Balkan has been a family-owned business since about 1984, with the decor updated since my last visit years ago. I had Arni Psito, the house specialty, a classic dish preceded by 2 small rolls with oil/balsamic vinegar "dip". The large lamb shank was "slow roasted" (don't they mean braised?) and served as it should be in an oblong dish with all the meat juices. Very tender and juicy. This is a meat-centric meal, with not a huge amount of accompanyment (rice, a halved roasted potato, some zuchini slices and red pepper strands), but who would want more with this amount of "rich" meat? For dessert, Galactobouriko, a pie-shaped custard between a top and bottom layer of filo, topped with honey and cinnamon. Not bad except the filo was hard to cut through. The staff were friendly and accomodated a table change with grace.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“True Greek food not so sure about the entertainment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Visited the Balkan during our stay in Banff. We love Greece and thought we try it out. The food was excellent and tasted just as good as any we have had in Greece, but then it is owned by a Greek so it should be. Staff as usual warm and friendly. We were there for the "Greek night" which turned out to be a belly dancer (Greek? not so sure?), plate smashing and getting the patrons up to do the usual "touristy" greek dancing. Despite this we had a lovely meal. Lovely memory of the Greek owner grinning from ear to ear when my husband wished him good night in Greek! If you want to be there for the Greek night make sure you prebook.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balkan Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Balkan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balkan Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.