We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Great Hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CasaBanff Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
CasaBanff Bed and Breakfast
Box 2875, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta AB T1L 1C6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 34 Banff B&B and Inns
Dhahran, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Location and Great Hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

John and Magi are great hosts at the B&B so close to downtown Banff. I've stayed at their B&B on three different occasions over the past 10 years and you can always expect a warm welcome and a fantastic breakfast in the morning. Whenever I'm in Banff or visiting Lake Louise or Jasper, I always make sure to spend a few days at Casa Banff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    1
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
2
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Port Coquitlam
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

Great Italian-Canadian hosts, John and Magi are warm and helpful. Every morning, Magi made breakfast from scratch, home made muffins, pancakes; jams and cereals, granola - all nutricious and delicious. John served coffee and tea and made his jokes. He promised to show us the elk at the golf court, and stood by his word: we drove down there - the elk decided not to show up, some deer did, but he did keep his promise and that's more than most would do. They both work hard at their B&B and the bakery/cafe (best Panini ever). We are still talking about our experience, and if I ever come back to Banff, this is where I will stay, no doubt!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

Booked for 2-nites based on price/location. Were not disappointed based on this criteria. John was welcoming and entertaining. Wife is, by her admission, "a posessed baker", and had many baked goods at breakfast. Place is very clean!! Location is 2-blocks from downtown shopping and dining.
We had the cheapest room, in the basement, basic to say the least. Bathroom 20 feet away, which was fine. The only real problem here is no common area to hang out and read and relax, as owner occupy the main floor area to eat and ave TV on, loud.
Appears amny europeans stay here, we had France, Dutch and Swedes staying while we were there.
So, if you are looking for basic, good location and good price and breafast, but not atmosphere, then this works.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2008

We and several other family members spent Christmas here and had rented several rooms. We were not welcome to use the common room as advertised (we all had to cram into one of the guest rooms to socialize together) and actually felt rather unwelcome in general. It was much more like a European guest house or a hotel than a typical North American bed and breakfast, and was definitely not what we had expected.

The hosts weren't blatantly rude to us but definitely weren't overly friendly either. They were also very noisy early in the morning, and the shared bathroom was rather awkward and not always clean.

  • Liked — was within walking distance to some businesses
  • Disliked — hosts were not very friendly, not allowed to use the common room, noisy, shared bathroom
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2008

The owners were warm and welcoming and helpful during the stay. The location is a few minutes walk from the main street, quiet and felt safe.

I seemed to be the only person paying to stay at the time, allowing me full run of the shared bathroom and free internet. The internet is a good edition to the place although the computer is rather slow, there is also a guest fridge on the ground level.

A perfeclty good place to stay, I've stayed in nicer places but much worse too, I'd say its slightly above average and would happily stay again.

  • Liked — Free net access and helpful owners
  • Disliked — A bit dark around the ground floor
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2008

My 3 nights at Casabanff were comfortable and breakfasts delicious. Other guests were interesting to talk to around the breakfast table...you don't usually get that in the big hotels!!Rooms were basic but clean. A bit dreary to spend too much time there but if it's just for sleeping and breakfast I would recommend it.

  • Liked — Breakfasts
  • Disliked — Room was a bit dreary and outside garden unkept.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2008

Owners are loud with their TV and music - Also, tend to be very rude. The beds are extremely uncomfortable - the matress is 6 inch foam on wood slats.

  • Liked — it was clean
  • Disliked — The beds
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to CasaBanff Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CasaBanff Bed and Breakfast

Address: Box 2875, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta AB T1L 1C6, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CasaBanff Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added CasaBanff Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list