We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You hear everything and everyone all day and night” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fox Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Fox Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“You hear everything and everyone all day and night”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

They said they were close to downtown Banff...not exactly . The rooms are small . We could only get 2 double beds when I booked a queen . Each room faces the outside so you hear EVERYTHING. it is not fun if you want quiet. Every time someone walks by your room, you hear their conversation so clearly. This made me anxious and unhappy. I took a very strong sleeping pill be I got so tired of screaming teens and babies. Never ever again. If you don't mind hearing the rowdiness from Chilis then you're good. The windows offer no insulation to the outside noise

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you want quiet. There is also a hostel next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    821
    531
    148
    73
    27
See reviews for
460
760
30
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was our first visit to Canada, a group of six friends visiting for 14 nights, predominantly for skiing at the local resorts. We chose the Fox on an excellent recommendation from friends. Overall, for the quality vs price, we have rated this at 5/5, as it had everything we wanted (and more).

Check-in: a friendly welcome from the reception staff, all of the items (keycard, breakfast vouchers, local area info etc) had all been put together ready for us so it was a quick and simple check-in.

Room: we stayed in a standard room. It was a little on the small side but contained everything we needed for our stay. Even with ski equipment we managed to find a place for everything in the room, but storage was a little tight. It didn't matter to us as we spent relatively little time in the room anyway. It still contained iron & board, large flat screen TV (50+ channels including sports), tea / coffee making facilities, hairdryer and excellent wifi connection (which was strong and fast throughout the entire hotel). Calls between rooms are free as well as local area calls (a nice touch to easily reserve tables at local restaurants etc). ***Make sure you dial *44 from your phone for the complimentary recording of the Elk bugle *** Rooms were cleaned daily and towels and coffee replenished. Having seen the suites, they are a lot bigger and have self contained kitchens, balconies, fireplaces etc and we would probably consider upgrading to a suite next time.

Facilities: one of the main attractions of this hotel is the hot spring. We visited every evening after a hard day of skiing and it worked wonders for the aching legs (look for the green button on the wall to activate the jacuzzi section!). You can relax in here and the ceiling is partially open so you can see the stars and relax. There is a very small CV / weights room, and also a sauna however we did not use these.
The laundry room only contains 2 washers and dryers but we only had to wait on one occasion for a free machine.
There is a PC and printer available for free usage which is handy for printing tickets out for local events.
There is a large underground heated car park that had plenty of space and easily fitted in larger vehicles (we had a Yukon XL).
There is only one lift at the hotel, so there can sometimes be a bit of a wait for the lift (use the stairs if you can) but this was not really an issue for us.

Food: breakfast was included. A self serve buffet of toast, pastries, cereals and fruit. Also make your own waffles with the waffle irons which was great and set us up for the rest of the day. There were always friendly staff to top up tea/coffee and the restaurant was never too busy.

Chilis: the restaurant then turned into chilis after 11am. It serves fantastic food at reasonable prices and is popular. You can also just have drinks in there with lots of sport shown on the TVs this place had a great vibe and was a good meeting place for our party to start the evening. As ever the staff were friendly and attentive.

Local area: Banff is a brilliant little town, with a variety of shops, bars and restaurants serving fantastic food. The downtown area is a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel and it's a great location to jump on the trans-Canada highway to visit the local skiing areas (Sunshine Village, Norquay and Lake Louise).

Overall a fantastic hotel that was clean with good facilities and an excellent restaurant / bar. Friendly and helpful staff. Standard room a little small but has everything you need. We are very excited to return to Banff and stay at the Fox again as soon as we can!


Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Our 'one-bedroom with two double beds' suite was quite small. There's not a whole lot of room around the beds and if you have messy teenagers with you, it can become a bit tiresome. The cleaners were very good, however, and even folded our pyjamas. Our living area was adequate but a little poorly lit, so don't plan on any reading if you have less than perfect eyesight. Hot tub was lovely but because the suites are in a different building, you had to bring along a jacket for the short walk over. You just need a little forward planning. It was great being able to do some washing in their guest laundry, which was very reasonably priced. Breakfast was very adequate, just a nice basic continental style, nothing flash, but filled us up. We appreciated the free bus passes that they offer, although we kind of wished that we had stayed up closer to town, as the buses run quite infrequently (but on time!).This place is a little further away from the main action, but the 10-minute walk into town is quite nice although freezing in January. Look out for friendly elk wandering the streets here. And the restaurant, Chili's, downstairs was amazingly good value!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This was our 4th hotel on Canada and turned out to be our favourite. The staff were very accommodating (we turned up a night early and they were fine with booking us in). We paid for an upgrade to a suite, which was really comfortable. The hot tub in the cave is amazing, looking at the clouds/stars as you relax is lovely.

The hotel is very clean, quiet and friendly. We would definitely stay here again if we came back to Banff.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is my 4th stay at the Fox as an Albertan, Banff is a frequent vacation place.

This hotel is great location to down town, about a 2 block walk. The hot tub is what makes this place, it looks like it was out of a movie. It is a rock cave like enclosure and quite unique and large.

Cleaning staff were great and very quick to bring up anything such as towels.

We were here for 4 days for work and initially given a room on the first floor tucked away with no light and felt like a basement. We returned to the front desk and the lady working did quickly switch us to a beautiful room on the 4th floor. She did mention that some people prefer the privacy and quietness of the first hotel, so she was not at fault for giving us a 'crappy room',

The room itself is quite small, I have had a room and suites here in the past. It is good enough space wife though for a small family or couple. Our suite had a fireplace which was a nice touch.

The hotel it very beautiful but slowly starting to show its age to the discerning eye. Night stands and tables are somewhat 'beat up' and could easily be replaced to give the room a much more fresh and clean feeling. With the new hotel, "The Moose" being built a block away, I hope they will up their game.

Price wise- the suite was $190/night and a regular room has usually run me about $150 (before taxes and GST). A quick search of Banff hotels and you will find this is a VERY good price, especially for the unique style of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Really great hotel lovely rooms awesome grotto (hot tub) really nice lay out. Only thing they need to improve are the condiments at breakfast which were gross (bring your own, theirs are cheap disgusting & all in excessive plastic packaging) and the elevator which is painfully slow. Just forget they have an elevator & use the stairs & bring your own jam for Bfast and you'll have a perfect stay.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at the Fox Hotel on a Spring Ski trip in Banff. The hotel is very nice and The kids loved the hot tub. They have good underground parking.
The breakfast could be a little bit better as there was not a good selection of fruit and the pastries were not very fresh.
Do not book this hotel through a travel website as you may not get the room you think you will get. Call the lodging company and work with them directly as they can likely match pricing.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#6 Business Hotel in Banff
#6 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff's newest Hotel! Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The new Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.