We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy sweet Loft” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Fox Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Fox Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
2 reviews
“Cozy sweet Loft”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Went there with a few friends and stayed for a couple of nights. We took the dual Loft. The Hotel employees were very polite and helpful. The cave pool was amazing, although the water was a bit too hot. Ate at the Hotel restaurant Chili`s a few times, not so bad. Overall I`d recommend this place to group travelers. The Hotel was very close to the downtown area, and the indoor parking was nice. Overall very satisfied with the place.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    815
    521
    145
    70
    25
See reviews for
453
748
30
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Loved staying here. Comfortable accommodations, very accommodating and polite staff. Love the underground grotto. Chilis in the building is okay. Not the greatest but will do in a pinch. Loved staying in the rooms with large balconies overlooking Banff ave. definitely a nice place to relax

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed here in Feb 2014 and overall had a great experience there were just a couple of little issues but that didnt spoil our stay. Initially we were going to stay for 3 nights but were unable to get from Jasper to Banff due to Avalanche issues - we had booked via the Banff Lodging number and when I rang to inform them of the change in plan, even though it was only giving 24 hours notice not 72, the staff there were +++ understanding and did not charge us any cancellation fee. Great service!
On our arrival we were offered an upgrade for only $25 from a one bed room suite to an executive loft apartment - very happy we took this offer as the room was lovely and very quiet during the night.
Free Wifi which was reliable and fast. Breakfast included and there were more than enough options to be had. Easy flat walk downtown which only takes approx 10 minutes. One of the issues we did have was that our room key card failed on numerous occassions i.e. at least twice each day and it was really annoying to have to go to reception to have it rescanned each time - first we were told to insert it slower which we did and then were told oh you must have it next to a credit card and it is degmagnetizing. The card had never been near another card and I did see several other people having to get their cards re done. No big deal but annoying. We did not eat at the Chillis restaurant - after reading review on Tripadvisor we decided to give that a miss! Overall a lovely room and nice stay and would recommend this hotel as one of the best in Banff.

Room Tip: Loft Apartment rooms are great and have everything you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We were checking out hotels for our wedding next year, one of the receptionists in particular was so helpful, I felt like letting her be my wedding planner.
Allison, receptionist at The Fox, was amazing, if the rest of the staff are as good as her that hotel must excellent in everything. Thankyou Allison for all the advice

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for about a week and it was absolutely wonderful. The hotel has a restaurant called Chillies, a gym and a hot spring! It's walking distance to the main strip of shops, and there's a bus stop right outside that takes you everywhere! I would LIVE here if I could, there is a beautiful sitting area as you walk in with a fire, and the rooms are beautiful and clean.

I wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It starts when you walk into the lobby and smell a crackling wood burning fireplace! Such a gorgeous lodgy atmosphere. They've found a way to do "mountain chic". The grotto is the best part! Good location on Banff Ave, clean rooms, complimentary breakfast...this was our third stay and will be back!

Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hospitality and Service sums up our experience at the Fox and generally in Banff. The staff provide friendly and enthusiastic service with a lovely casual freindlyness. A lack of fresh snow could have spoiled our trip but this was more than made up for by the people. Well done Banff!!

The Spa Pool was great fun - A cave (not real!!) under the hotel open to the sky with sauna and jacuzzi.

With an exchange rate of around $1.80 prices were very reasonable and eating out was very good value with lots of choice for the meat eaters!!! Canada does not seem to quite get the vegetarian concept!! However we worked out that all you needed to do was ask and they would vary dishes to suit - This is worth remembering if you are vegtarian. For the meat eaters the steak was great - I never tried Elk !!

Transfer to and from Calgary with Banff Airporter was efficeint and comfortable. Also worth considering car hire from Calgary- especiaaly if mor ethan two of you. You are probabaly better off using the coach to get to the ski areas as very convenient and avoids finding parking - free but limited.

Excellent coach transfers to Lake Louise, Sunshine Valley and Norkey - free with a tri-centre ski pass. Coach picks up 30m from the front door of the Fox. Tricky to ski more than one area the same day without a car!

Room Tip: Loft Appartments are lovely - worth asking for a mountain view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Banff
#5 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#6 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff's newest Hotel! Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The new Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.