We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small room & dirty hot tub” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Fox Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Fox Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Banff
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Small room & dirty hot tub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I was excited to stay at the Fox because it is one of the newest Caribou hotels and seems super luxury from the outside. However, I was disappointed. The room was so small and the window faced the corridor so if we had the curtain open, anyone walking by could look right into our room. And the hot tub was so dirty and the change room did not have any towels.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    790
    493
    139
    70
    25
See reviews for
441
725
27
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Hotel is in a great location & they give you free bus passes. Hotel is lovely, great design & amazing pool. Breakfast buffet offers good choices. Staff at front desk are the best, go out of their way to help you. Would recommend hotel highly

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed here with my 7yo son... and we had a blast! We stayed in one of the Premium Loft Suites.... talk about beautiful views! Balcony was amazing to hang out on... the hot pool was soooo relaxing after hiking all day and the staff was great! Chili's was a great place to have dinner and their continental breakfast was a perfect start to our day! Would totally stay there again if our family ever goes back :D

Room Tip: If you can swing it, splurge for a premium loft suite... its worth the balcony and extra space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We spent 3 days in a lovely suite with great breakfasts. The front desk was very helpful with recommendations and maps. The setting is gorgeous and the hotel is designed to take full advantage of the site. The hot tub has an amazing view and feels great after a day trekking in the Rockies. This was a great stop on our trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisco, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed for one night only, great price including breakfast. The room was nice, but hot. As you can expect with a newer looking hotel, you simply have to kick in the AC and all is well, well this is not the case here…as some rooms have the AC and some don't. Also our room didn't have a fridge, which we were hoping to have, again, I should have asked all those things, but most hotels do these days… Ensure you request one with AC if your are there in the warm summer months, as the fan provided in the closet in the room does not do the trick! As stated in many reviews before the bathroom is small, but clean and really all thats needed. We loved the cave hot tub and the location is perfect, few minutes walk and you are where most of the shops and restaurants are located. I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My partner and I stayed in Fox Hotel & Suites in Banff for one night and we then spent another night in Lake Louise. My first tip to future Rockies travellers: Spent all of your nights in Banff and just travel during the day to Lake Louise and Banff National Pak.

Lake Louise township is small and hotels there are expensive so it's really not worth the trouble moving hotels.

Now, back to Fox Hotel & Suites. We had one bedroom suite with a large living area and well equipped kitchen. The bathroom is tiny but our room has the 2nd washing basin in the corridor which was very useful. The bedroom is spacious and very clean. Heating is sufficient which is important for winter travellers. We didn't do any cooking for this trip but if you are taking your own car, stock up with some groceries before checking into the hotel :).

Chili's Grill & Bar, the restaurant associated with the hotel is very nice. We had both our dinner and our breakfast there. As a gourmet cook myself, I am very picky with food but I was thoroughly impressed by the spinach and chicken rolls we ordered. The dessert was also mouth-watering. Overall, the dining experience in Fox Hotel & Suites is very enjoyable.

Don't forget to ask for your free bus ticket from the reception. I took the bus to Mt. Sulphur. It's a 30-minute ride and the bus stop is to the right of the front entrance of the hotel. BTW, when I climbed up Mt. Sulphur, I met a black bear so bring a bear spray if you plan to do any hiking in the Rockies.

When I go back to Banff in the future, I will consider staying with Fox Hotel & Suites again provided their rate is competitive.

Room Tip: Our room has a small bathroom. If this worries you, check with the front desk whether all rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at this hotel for one night, after coming into town for a wedding. My grandparents chose this one as a "home base" for some of the wedding guests. My brother ended up being able to come at the last minute and I was worried about if he would fit in my room. When I called, they told me I had a "king suite". I did not know what that meant, I just booked it on Expedia and had hoped for the best.

When we arrived and got to the room, I saw it was literally a suite! There was a dividing door so my brother could have the living area and pull out sofa and I had the bedroom. There was a small kitchen area. The soap in the bathroom was locally made and smelled amazing. I was on the first floor and concerned with noise but it was so very quiet that night.

The breakfast that was included though..... left a lot to be desired. It was the standard continental of fruit, cereal, and pastries but everything seemed old or left out. I wouldn't eat breakfast there again, I rather pay extra and go to a real restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
#5 Family Hotel in Banff
#5 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff's newest Hotel! Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The new Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.