We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star or 3 star” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fox Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Fox Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“5 star or 3 star”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

The Good, The overall structure is very rustic and beautiful, The restaurant and bar and lobby are great, The staff are fantastic, We stayed in a suite with Fridge, Microwave and Two TVs, Parking is fantastic and included, Good location, bit of a walk to downtown Banff.

The Not so good. For $400 a night we did have AC in the Living room of the Suite but Not in the Bedroom which got hot even with the AC blasting all night and the bedroom door open.

The only washroom is an ensuite and if you have anyone sleeping on the pullout they can only access the washroom thru the master bedroom. Seems like it would make more sense to access the washroom from the hall.

Another strange thing is that the shower only has the short decorative cloth curtain and not the inner waterproof longer curtain that usually accompanies it.

Does not have a pool but does have a large fake cave whirlpool that a lot of people seem to like, Would be great in the winter.

Breakfast is great but no eggs, bacon, sausages or potatoes

So, is it worth $400 a night? Maybe 1 night but we were there for 4 so I'am not so sure,( but it was full)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    839
    551
    158
    75
    28
See reviews for
468
791
32
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We stayed in this hotel on our honeymoon. Banff was the first stop on our tour. This hotel, although it is slightly out of the centre is a perfect location. It was a quieter hotel due to it not being in the centre and the walk into town is only 5-10 minutes and quite a relaxing stroll too. The room was brilliant and very homely and the staff were very hospitable.

On the first night we decided to eat at the restaurant for convenience. The food was amazing and I would definitely recommend eating here, even if you are not a hotel guest. Breakfast is as good as dinner, best waffles ever!

To anyone who is thinking of visit Banff...do it and stay at this hotel! I can't understand why it is only rated number 5 in Banff on here!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Very convenient for walking into the town of Banff. The underground garage with direct hotel access is very convenient. Rooms well appointed and the kitchenette is a plus. We had some difficulty in adjusting the temperature between the living area and bedroom. A bit pricey but it is Banff in August

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We are here for the last of our four day stay and we are both very pleased with the Fox Hotel and Suites. It is a quick walk into the 'downtown' area but there is a Roam Bus stop right out the front door. The Hotel provided us with a bus pass for our entire stay. We were able to travel anywhere in the valley on the shuttle and never had to worry about parking. Some of the more popular sites can get VERY crowded. They have free underground parking so you don't have to move your car your entire stay.
The wi-fi is very reliable(and free). We had one of their small suites; one room with a living room and kitchen ( small fridge, sink, coffee pot and a microwave). There is a Safeway Supermarket about 10-15 minute walk away.
A ten minute walk from the Hotel and we were on the Tunnel Mountain that looped us down to Surprise Point and Bow Falls. The hotel also has bicycles for rent at reasonable prices; that allowed us to get up early and explore the outskirts of Banff
All in all, a perfect stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

I recently stayed for 5 nights at the Fox Hotel & Suites in a King Suite with a loft. Our boys stayed in the lower half of the room in the pull out couch. The positives of the hotel is the room had a nice amount f pace and kitchenette. The hotel is nice, the service staff attentive, the WiFi terrific, and the hot pool is great feature. The hotel is also close enough to the center of town to walk to most resturants. The negatives are that the downstairs parking spaces are too tight, the pull out couch was not comfortable, and the room was hot even with the air conditioning. The front desk was nice, but not very informed. Lastly, the complementary breakfast was the same layout every morning. We ate out two of the days because the beeakfast choice too boring. Overall it was a nice stay, but not fantastic and the price is fairly high.

Room Tip: Our room in the back of the hotel was very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We stayed here for four days in August 2014 and it was excellent. The staff were very helpful and kind. The room was perfectly adequate. The hotel is about 15 mins walk to the centre of Banff, but this means that its never noisy and its close to some local shops.

The hotel has a lovely pool, which is basically a large hot tub. There's also a laundry room and computer, as well as free wifi through out the hotel, which was all really useful.

There have been a few negative reviews for this hotel recently, but we really enjoyed our stay and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone visiting Banff.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryant, Arkansas
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

There are good points to this hotel but the bad outdo the good.First the room(a standard room) was the size of a closet.Second when we called the desk to ask why the room was so hot and how we could adjust the temperature, we were told the standard room do not have airconditioning!I Now I know this is banff and one might not need it much but Really! I've not encountered this problem since let see Greece or maybe rural Thailand.These are third world places and it is to be expected to run in to this type of problems but not in Canada!The room's window could not be used unless you want to see all the people walking past.They did bring us a fan to help with air movement.Their (standard) is not good enough for me and they will not see my Hot self again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I appreciate the opportunity to respond. Our standard rooms are 230 square feet, (oh how I wish I had a closet that big!)

All our standard rooms are without air conditioning, and surprising as it may be, this is the case with many hotel rooms here in Banff. We do however offer AC in our suites for those that require it.

We do offer fans, and the cool mountain nights tend to cool off our rooms considerably for the most part.

I'm surprised to be compared to a third world country...and disappointed that we won't be seeing your 'hot self' again. All the best for better and cooler travels in all our worlds countries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#7 Family Hotel in Banff
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff's newest Hotel! Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The new Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.