We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and homely feeling.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fox Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Fox Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Ayr, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Quaint and homely feeling.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed for four nights in the peak of July in a two level suit. Glad we had air conditioning as it was exceptionally hot. The room was very quaint and had a lot of character which made it stand out from other accommodation we stayed in. It felt very homely. The hotel provides bus vouchers to go along to the main part of town and back but to be we chose to walk which takes about 10 minutes.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    807
    514
    144
    70
    25
See reviews for
450
739
30
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We booked a 2 bedroom suite for ourselves and our children (10 and 8) for a 4 night stay in July 2014. The suite had a huge king sized bed in one room and 2 doubles in the other. There were 2 full sized bathrooms and a kitchenette area with microwave, fridge, sink, kettle and coffee maker, with a table for 4 and a lounge area. The room was very clean and well appointed.
The air con worked well in the lounge but not in the bedrooms. We spoke to the receptionist about this and he told us that this is how the air con was originally set up in the rooms and accepted that it is a flaw of the rooms. Although we were in the middle of a heat wave, we slept fine with the windows and bedroom doors open and the air on in sitting room, despite some road/train noise.
The continental breakfast was fine, fruit and pastries and the children loved making their own waffles every morning.
10 minute walk into town along Banff Ave and on site free parking in the basement. Hot pool was very hot but fun.
We felt it was reasonably priced and a great base for exploring the Banff area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I chose the Fox based on reviews from this site. It was a comfortable suite in a convenient location staffed by friendly people. The price (which i thought was quite reasonable) included free parking, free wi-fi, free bus passes and also a buffet breakfast. A Chili's restaurant is located in the hotel so you didn't have to go far to eat or drink if you didn't want to. There was also a fridge, toaster, microwave, utensils and dishes in the suite. I'd go back to The Fox again and would have no hesitation recommending this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Situated, about 10 minutes walk to town centre, towards the end of the main Banff thoroughfare the Fox Inn is a very attractive lodge built over some hot springs, which are available for guests to use. The staff here were helpful and friendly. Our accommodation was, in fact, a small suite with its own kitchenette facilities, lounge area, bathroom and bedroom. We found it very useful to have fridge to store picnic food and cold water overnight in preparation for our sightseeing trips. The restaurant, which also served as a bar served wholesome and tasty food in a very casual atmosphere. We were impressed. Breakfast was good, and included a do-it-yourself waffle maker. The hotel also provided safe underground parking, and free internet access. Overall we found this hotel more than lived up to expectations and would thoroughly recommend it

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I chose the Fox as our base to explore the Rockies as a result of very good reviews on TA. Our first impression was extremely favourable as the receptionist helpfully pointed out that i had booked a suite with two bedrooms- and we were obviously a couple- amazingly she offered us an alternative, which And we saved $200 a night - so its not cheap and it was at the hight of the summer!
The alternative suite was a duplex with its own balcony ,kitchenette, and downstairs lounge area.
Upstairs was a large bed and very small bathroom-Comfortable and clean, but unfortunately the air conditioning was rather noisy and whilst highly effective downstairs, failed to cool the bedroom area. We were there in July and it was extremely hot - so our nights could have been more comfortable.
The much vaunted hot spring pool i personally found a bit murky and the hotels policy of closing the bar at 11pm seemed to rather strange. But this is a good choice if you like a tranquil environment

But i must ay that all the staff were fantastically friendly and helpful -and at the end of the day, it is the way you are treated in hotels that makes all the difference-

Room Tip: Make sure room has a/c
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We stopped here for three nights. The reception staff were very courteous and helpful. The room,although small, was lovely and we were only in it long enough to sleep. The on site restaurant 'Chillis' is very reasonable and the food was very good.
Continental breakfast was great and there was always plenty of everything.
We didn't use the fitness room or the spa pool but it looked lovely. We would return to The Fox if we were back in Banff.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Haven, Connecticut
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The room was quite small but ok. However, no air conditioning made it awful. Hotels at half the price have a/c. The more expensive rooms did have a/c, which made it worse: "If you want to be comfortable in our hotel, you have to spend more than our basic but expensive rooms." The staff was ok but not outstanding. Parking spaces were very awkward to get in and out of. There was only one elevator, and it was quite slow (and it too was not air conditioned!).

Room Tip: If you must stay here, get the overpriced suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Banff
#5 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#6 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff's newest Hotel! Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The new Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.