We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel in Town!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Fox Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Fox Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel in Town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

It is not a big hotel and you cannot expect the room size. Yet, the room is comfortable and clean. Walking distance to the town area of Banff, which is just a few blocks away, you can also enjoy the quite environment in the hotel. Nice view from the room and you can see the mountains.

Great hot spring in the hotel. Remember, unlike Japan, you need to wear swimming suits when in the water.

Last but not least. There is a nice breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    787
    492
    138
    70
    25
See reviews for
440
723
27
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Encino, California, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed at the Fox hotel for three nights in July 2014. The hotel was very nice - conveniently located and a short walk from downtown Banff. We had a standard room which was roomy, clean and nicely decorated with the fox theme. The hotel staff was very accommodating and helpful. They have a "no noise" policy after 11 p.m. so it was quiet and relaxing (actually it was quiet all day). Included is a buffet breakfast which was nicely done - fruit, juices, beverages, cereal, bagels, muffins, danishes, etc. There is an exercise room, pool and spa. Free underground parking. There is a Chili's in the hotel which was nice for dinner one night. We enjoyed our stay and would certainly return in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We booked 3 nights in a suite at this hotel. After staying at the Fairmont properties in Jasper and Lake Louise - it certainly didn't compare but the suite was lovely and the staff extremely helpful. Our suite had an sitting room, kitchenette, dining table on the first floor and a lovely bedroom on the ground floor with an attached bathroom. Very adequate and comfortable.

Chilli's restaurant at the hotel was also great as we tried it out for lunch.

The hotel is about a 20 minute walk to the centre or you can take a free shuttle. We actually just opted to take taxis to different restaurants downtown which worked out to about $7 to $8.

Definitely check out the hot pool which is very relaxing.

All in all a nice hotel and would definitely recommend to other travellers - particularly if you have children.

Room Tip: Try and book a suite rather than a normal room as its only $50 extra and air conditioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We booked 3 nights here in July, in a I bedroom suite. Very attractive and comfortable rooms, very well equipped, with a small kitchenette including a microwave and fridge. I loved the themed decor - fox light fittings and wallpaper! The rooms were very clean and well maintained. Reception staff were very helpful and welcoming. The continental breakfast was fantastic. We are in the restaurant one night - food ok but nothing special. The hotel is within walking distance of the town, situated on a busy road, but this isn't a problem.

Room Tip: The hotel has an inner courtyard which has many rooms and suites overlooking - the lower floors are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

My wife and I had a vacation of our dreams in Banff, thanks in no small part to Fox Hotel and Suites. We upgraded to a suite with a living room, kitchenette and balcony because we couldn't see not being able to enjoy the outdoors at our hotel. Every view in Banff is to die for, and the Fox didn't disappoint. The view from our balcony included three mountains and beautiful, majestic trees. The kitchenette was basic, and couldn't have been used to make a dinner. The bathroom was very small. There was only one place to get ice, in the basement five floors below ours, and the soft drink machine was always empty of diet Cokes. The AC in our room worked well, and was needed. The lobby was dinky, and one male clerk was a semi-grouch never smiling or saying an unnecessary word. The breakfast buffet was adequate with self-made waffles and toast being the only warm servings. It was nice having a Chili's in the hotel, although with the dining options in Banff we only ate there once in four days. They need to make some improvements, but on the whole this place is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors in the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Stayed in an apartment with a separate lounge area incl small kitchen. Microwave oven only and fridge.
comfortable 2 seater settee and single chair. Table with 4 chairs.
Large Flat screen TV in lounge area and also in the bedroom.
Two wardrobes one in the wash area and the other in the lounge area.
King size bed with a drawer unit. No dressing table or mirror which did not impress my Wife. One armchair in the bedroom
Wash area has a mirror but no space to sit down so Ladies will need to do their makeup etc standing up!
On the whole it was a clean apartment with good housekeeping.
Reception staff friendly and helpful. Bus tickets available to take the bus from directly outside to the centre or to Sulphur Mountain. Although its about a 10-15 minute walk to the centre of Banff.
Air con did work well but was slightly loud.
The whole apartment was a dark place especially the lounge area. Lights needed on in the daylight.
Parking was free underground.
The restaurant was a chain (Chilis) and not particularly good. Many other places to eat. Breakfast was a continental affair with make your own waffles and a selection of fruit, yoghurts, pastries, orange juice and toast.
There is a free hot tub and Sauna which we did not use.
Rooms have free wifi with a good signal.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The Fox Hotel and Suites is a great place to stay while in Banff. The suites are very comfortable and roomy. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. We would definitely recommend this hotel for your stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
#5 Family Hotel in Banff
#5 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff's newest Hotel! Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The new Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.