We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Fox Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fox Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 33 hotels in Banff
Germantown, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed two night in this hotel mid May. The hotel is within walking distance to downtown, has free parking, free breakfast and free Wifi. They also have a computer and printer where quest can get online and print whatever you want. The room was nice and clean, and service is also very good. The breakfast only has limited choices, but not bad at all. The only complain was they put us in a room on the first floor when the hotel was not busy at all.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,435 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    762
    463
    125
    61
    24
See reviews for
428
678
27
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I picked this place based on the reviews I read here, and I'm glad I did.

We had a room on the 4th floor, facing the street. The room was perfect - comfortable bed, nice layout, and very clean.

The front desk staff were the best I ever encountered. Friendly, helpful, and professional!

The grotto tub/pool/sauna was very unique - in fact, we only stayed one night and had a choice between that or the hot springs, and we chose the grotto because it was so cool! Our kids loved it.

The parking is VERY tight. If you have a tall vehicle, forget it. Not something that could be helped though, looked like every hotel along that road had limited parking.

It was expensive but worth it. I think it would be a great hotel for a honeymoon. We did see a few honeymooners there, in fact :)

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 417 and it was really nice. Good view, and was in the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed In the Fox Hotel & Suites for a wedding on June 28. The staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. The room itself was adequate, however it was VERY hot and the thermostat allowed for only hot temperatures. There was no A/C and no fan to even move air. We had a room with two queen beds. One of the queens was in good shape, however the second one sloped significantly from the middle to the floor, creating a falling sensation for anyone lying down.

I've stayed in a number of hotels in Banff before and this hotel while adequate, would not be on the top of my list for next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Really lovely hotel with great facilities including a underground hot pool and spacious well equipped rooms (we had a small suite with kitchenette). Breakfast was included including make you own waffles which proved very entertaining. About a 10 min walk from shops with plenty of parking - so great for being able to pop in and out of the town without using the car (worth noting with the hotel you do get a transit pass or hire of a bike if you want). Great room staff but front desk staff were not very welcoming compared to what we normally get in Canada.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We enjoyed our 2-day visit to Banff (too short). This hotel was a short walk (5-10 min) from the center of town, where there were nice shops and good restaurants. Not fancy but clean and the staff was very friendly / helpful and the price was fair. The only negative (although minor) is that the standard room was a bit small and had no A/C (not a problem for most of the year but can get a little stuffy on warm days before it cools off in the evening). That said, you will spend most of the time exploring the many sites and activities in the area so you won't be in the room all that much.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed just for 1 night at this hotel. The underground grotto style hot tub pool is very nice. Our room was nice and with an excellent view of course! Our stay included free breakfast which was good it was just a little crowded as it was located in such a small area. Excellent location and very clean and comfortable. Frond desk staff very professional and friendly!

Room Tip: I would try to get a room with a balcony if you think that you would use it. Any direction that you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tetbury, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Fox hotels and suites are well fitted out rooms, but the basic rooms do not have air conditioning
which we found very oppressive as the opening window was small. We couldn't get the temp below 21c with the fan on all afternoon, Thankfully they upgraded us, but the facilities, pool, bar, parking etc wree really good

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#5 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff's newest Hotel! Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The new Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.