We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“That's what you call service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fox Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Fox Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“That's what you call service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I'll start at the end of the stay... We checked out and moved across to the banff springs hotel (3 nights in each). We'd left a swimming costume in a towel that morning after being at the hot springs. Thought we'd seen the last of it, but after a quick call they'd found it and dropped it off at the banff springs hotel! Great service. Thank you. One happy mother-in-law.

We had the two bedroomed suite for 4 adults and it was really good. Plenty if space and handy little kitchen area. Nice to have a living area to chill out in. Good underground parking, handy when you get a foot of snow overnight!!

Staff were always friendly and helpful.

Breakfast is continental, but good fruit and waffles are a nice touch.

About 10 min stroll into banff and easy to find. Second time we'd stayed and would go back again.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    801
    507
    142
    70
    25
See reviews for
445
735
30
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Hotel is a short walk to the shops and restaurants in the heart of Banff.
Staff were knowledgeable, very warm and helpful.
Found the rooms to be a little dark though reasonably new with spacious, thoughtful layout. We had a one level suite with kitchenette, living room and bedroom facing main street.
Underground heated parking very much appreciated given the huge dump of snow that we got overnight.
Wood burning fireplaces in restaurant and lobby make for a cozy atmosphere. We did not have a fireplace in our unit yet our living room was a little smokey, bedroom smelled fine though.
Buffet style breakfast was included: featured toast, baked goods, boiled eggs, fruit, cereal and, the highlight for wee ones, a make your own waffle station.

Room Tip: I like to leave the window open to get the fresh mountain air. We were on the main street side and I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Memorable and beautily made place .Hope visit Banff again and stay at yours one more time :)) The rooms were so cozy and pretty and staff so friendly . I guess It was the best hotel I've stayed so far and the only one I remeber ( That is an achivement :)Warm regards from England :) Looking forward to book again while visist Canada :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Hotel was very warm and welcoming. The lobby area is nice and cozy with a nice wood burning fireplace. Our room were clean and well laid out. The hot tub area looked like a natural hot spring and looked very inviting. The staff was extremely friendly even the housekeeper asked us how our day was going and if there was anything we needed. Overall with the added convenience of free wifi, complimentary breakfast and Roam bus pass it would be hard to find a better deal.
Great experience overall.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
m
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Hotel was more than what we expected. We visited with one other family and had great spacious rooms. Pool was a blast for the kids aged 4-12 in our party. Walks to the stores in the town, the restaurant, the staff - perfect!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

This is a great option if you're traveling with kids. We stayed here over Easter weekend and we have no complaints. We booked our hotel and ski package together through one of the big 3 ski hills. Overall, it was cheeper and our kids skied for free (and rented for free).

Hotel room was spacious and comfortable. We enjoyed having a suite option for a bit more space a small kitchenette. They should however replace the shower head in room 110. Staff were very helpful with directions, parking options, food options, skiing recommendations and knowing where to eat, when!

We ate breakfast at the hotel. While it is only a continental breakfast, we ate very well (waffles, toast, pastries, hard boiled eggs, cereal, fruit and yogurt). While we had no complaints, we did tire of the same thing by days 4/5 and a hot breakfast option would have been nice (for an additional charge - we would have paid it).

The hot tub/hot spring in the basement is great and has a nice opening outdoors. Parking is free and while we did have trouble finding parking over the weekend, there is lots of parking around the hotel on the street. Since the hotel is at the entrance of town, the streets aren't as full (more residential than commercial). The Fox is only about a 5 minute walk to the popular part of Banff Aven and it's worth walking into town to eat, grab a coffee or groceries at Safeway.

Banff is lovely and we enjoyed skiing at Sunshine and Lake Louise (LL being our preferred location simply due to snow base and # of runs this time of year). We also did a sled dog tour with Snow Own out of Canmore. Expensive, but really fun!

Overall, I'd recommend the Fox and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to write such a detailed review-thank you! I am very pleased to read you enjoyed your time with us, and found our accommodations comfortable, and our team friendly and helpful

Our suites are perfect for families looking for some added room and comfort. I hope we can welcome your family back again soon.

Thanks again for choosing the Fox Hotel & Suites, and for recommending us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed in a superior one bedroom suite which has a kitchenette and living area upstairs and two double beds and bathroom downstairs. This arrangement was perfect for us, a family of four. The suite was clean, well equipped, had plenty of storage space for all our ski wear and clothes. Free storage lockers are provided for skis and boards. Staff were friendly and helpful, underground heated parking was convenient and free, and breakfast at Chilis was delightful, especially when chocolate muffins were available! The hot tub was very relaxing, although the children did find it quite hot and could only tolerate 5 minutes, so we only used it once. There's a small gym which we did not use as we were too exhausted from eight days of awesome skiing and boarding. Thank you for helping to make our holiday!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
It was our pleasure to accommodate you! I am delighted to read that our superior one bedroom suite was the perfect arrangement for your family. It brings us all great pleasure to read we've 'met the mark' on service, and that we helped to make your holiday special. Thanks for sharing your review. We hope to welcome back to the Fox again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#6 Business Hotel in Banff
#6 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff's newest Hotel! Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The new Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.