We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Fox Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fox Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 33 hotels in Banff
Wigan
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2008

Enjoyed a 4 day stay at the Fox Hotel & Suites on our recent tour of BC and Alberta. On arrival we were asked if we wanted to upgrade from a standard room to a one bedroom suite at a discounted rate. We took up the offer and were pleased with the accommodation, all new and very clean. A small kitchenette (though no cooking rings) microwave, toaster, kettle, fridge proved very useful. We were a little taken aback that the crockery was plastic but that was a minor niggle. Lounge area had a lovely cosy log gas fire but the weather was beautiful while we were there so didn't really use it. The bedroom was very cosy with a king size bed and large flat screen TV. Unfortunately we didn't have the time to try out the hot tub but it looked very inviting. Laundry room available if you need it, also free underground parking was a bonus. Only a short walk to the shops and bars of Banff and Chillis was great for the complimentary continental breakfast, ample choice for a healthy breakfast. We found all the staff very helpful and pleasant, couldn't do enough for you. Very good stay, would go back.

  • Liked — The cosy feel
  • Disliked — Only one internet terminal
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,399 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    752
    448
    122
    57
    20
See reviews for
411
652
27
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Ontario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2008

We were a family of 6 - including 4 adult children. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite. The suite was outstanding - new & spotless. Functional kitchenette, 2 separate bedrooms, 2 full baths, lots of space to spread out - 2 balconies with amazing mountain views. Great value - we would have needed 2 hotel rooms which would have been about the same price without the comfort. The hotel is located very close to downtown - a nice walk! There is a grocery store about 2 blocks away. Staff was very accomodating. The subterranean hot tub is one of the best features. On-site restaurant was very nice. Sat in the lobby & chatted by the fireplace. Free continental breakfast. Free wireless internet. We really felt at home. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Banff!!!

  • Liked — Warm comfortable atmosphere
  • Disliked — Only stayed one night
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2008

We recently returned from the Fox after staying for 7 nights. The front desk staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The free breakfast was more than adequate and the waitresses were excellent. The hotel is just a few blocks from downtown and near a Safeway grocery store. Since we had a suite with a small refrigerator, we frequented the store for dinner and lunch supplies. We enjoyed our stay - the location of the hotel and the beauty of Banff are hard to beat.

The hotel was fine, but the suite we were given was small and barely large enough for 3 people. The Chili's restaurant workers smoking break area was just outside our suite door, so people frequently congregated here, talking and smoking. This was a bit irritating as we passed through the smoke leaving or returning to our room. At more than $300 a night, the suite was expensive for what we got.

  • Liked — The front desk staff
  • Disliked — Smoking section outside our door
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2008

We stayed at the Fox from August 22-25, 2008. The check in person was very pleasant and knowledgeable. He gave us a coupon book for the town. The standard room is with two queen beds, which was our room. The hotel is new and very nice but the rooms were tiny. We didn't have a place for our luggage. There is a closet right as you walk into the room. They should knock out the closet and put in a hanging rod.

There is a large, underground hot whirlpool which makes you think you are in a cave. It was pretty cool. My husband and I went to the whirlpool for 2 evenings and then again one late afternoon. Everytime we went there were kids runnning around, splashing and even had their water goggles on. The parents were using it as a swimming pool for their children. We did not stay long.

There is a continental breakfast in their Chili's restaurant which I thought was very good and always being restocked. The regular foods being cereals, fresh fruit, danish, muffins, scones, yogart, bagels, and toast. It was nice to get up and have a nice breakfast before leaving on your hikes for the day. We did not eat at Chili's because Banff is full of international cuisane.

The hotel is walking distance to the town. There were many shops to browse. While we were there we had the treat of viewing a Chinese Dragon performance in the town square made up of young people. The performance was wonderful and you can tell the children worked very hard learning their routines. They even threw out "good luck" chinese candy to the crowd.

Overall my stay was pleasant at the hotel. I just wish the rooms were bigger.

  • Liked — New, clean, close to town
  • Disliked — tiny rooms
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2008

You can still notice that this is a new hotel since all items in the room look so new and fresh.
We had a standard hotel room and we want to make it sure to everyone that these rooms are really small.
There was hardly any room left for anything but the beds.
Its also very dark because of the dark green wallpapers and since the only window face towards a loft balcony where people pass to other rooms.
The walls also seem to be very thin you hear a lot from your neighbours.
Its also situated quite a walk from downtown even though it is fully possible to walk down to the shops but its not close.
So considering all this one might think that this is not a hotel to recommend.
But on the other side you get a nice complimentary breakfast in the beautifully decorated Chilis restaurant, there is complimentary wireless internet in the room, there is a nice bathroom with a bathtub and a flat screen television.
The whole building is designed very beautifully and since everything is new it looks very fresh.
So considering all this still above average.

  • Liked — The design of the building.
  • Disliked — Too small and dark hotel room.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2008

I booked this for a 2 night stay from among the many hotels in Banff following the Trip Advisor reviews and was very pleased with the choice. Location is good just on the outskirts of town and the hotel has a modern, friendly feel a bit like an upmarket ski hotel. We were were offered a discounted upgrade to a 2-room suite which was lovely and, given the discount, reasonable value (although still not a complete bargain). Rooms are comfortable with high quality furnishings although the kitchen was a bit sparsely equipped with no carving/bread knife or kettle. Thankfully, our room was very quiet unlike previous reviewers but we were right at the end of the corridor so had no passing traffic. We were on the road but the double glazing is excellent and didn't seem to let in any noise. We had a meal at Chilli's, which was very good value, and also used the hotel hot tub which is nicely done and enjoyable to use. The hotel also had laundry facilities, which are very useful, although they are relatively expensive to use compared to others I came across in the Rockies. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay here and would stay again.

  • Liked — Comfortable rooms and luxurious feel of hotel
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Mn
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2008

We stayed 2 nights at The Fox. When we checked in our room was about 90*F (30*C). I called down to the front desk and was informed that only the suites are air conditioned. That was probably something I should have researched and known in advance but it just never occurred to me. Other than being exceedingly warm, the hotel accomodations were just fine. The room wasn't large but we weren't planning on staying in the room very much anyway. The staff were very well informed and friendly. The location is good- quite close to the hub of the town as well as a number of trails. It did get very noisy both nights but I think that's more about the guests than the hotel. People walking past open windows at 2am were speaking in normal outdoor voices. Quite a few people had to pass our room to get to theirs, and I'm a light sleeper so that wasn't a great combination. The couple having a loud argument at midnight was a bit over the top though.
I think quite a few hikers/campers stay here during their trip. Many of them seemed to congregate in the courtyard with all their luggage and the laundry room was pretty busy-2 washers and dryers.
The breakfast was more than adequate-cereal, fruit, bagels, croissants, bread, muffins, yogurt, juice and coffee.
It's an easy walk to get to quite a few restaurants. Coyote's Deli and Grill had great vegetarian options! My daughter and husband are both vegetarians so we always look for a place that will give them at least 2 options. Cafe Soleil was also a good place for lunch and people watching. I would only recommend the Evergreen if everyone likes meat and/or fish. The arctic char and bison were wonderful. The vegetarian table d'hote menu not so much. It was a ravioli with a creamy sauce that was just too much.

  • Liked — staff and location
  • Disliked — noisy at night
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Banff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#5 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff's newest Hotel! Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The new Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.