We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fox Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Fox Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Very good hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

My best friend and I took all of our kids for a ski weekend. We booked this hotel because it had a room that would fit us all. It was awesome. This room had two beds downstairs, a pull out in living room, and another room upstairs. It was comfy and really clean and new. It has this great hot tub area under ground. It looks like you are in a cave. We all enjoyed this very much. The free breakfast was awesome. Waffles, eggs, fruit, toast, cereal, coffee, juices. Perfect to start of the morning. It is held in the Chillies that is in the hotel. The front desk staff were super nice and knowledgeable. The only think we had trouble with was in the underground parking. It was a very snowy weekend. My van couldn't make it up the ramp because of the ice. But, an employee came to the rescue with gravel and ice. So, I got up. I parked on the street after that. Which was very convenient to our room any way. I would say of all the places we have stayed at in Banff this one is a keeper.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to post your review, and am very pleased to read you found our accommodations comfortable, our complimentary breakfast plentiful and of good quality. I hope you will bring everyone back again soon. There's still lots of time for excellent spring skiing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    800
    505
    142
    70
    25
See reviews for
445
733
29
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Recently stayed at the Fox during a ski trip to Banff. We were there 5 nights in a one bedroom suite. The room was very clean. Plenty of space. Seems fairly new so the basic amenities were all in working order. Included breakfast was nothing fancy, but -- as it was free -- I couldn't complain too much.

Some drawbacks included unhelpful front desk staff, only street parking for larger vehicles (e.g. full-size SUV), ice only available on one level, very firm mattress, basic towels (not soft and fluffy). Not huge issues, but indicative of the most "basic" nature of the hotel.

We did not experience any of the noise issues that some have mentioned. We do sleep with a white noise, so that may have helped. Our stay was also during the week so the noise issues could be worse on the weekends -- don't know.

Hot tub was large and nice after skiing.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Based on the ratings that we read we really thought this hotel was going to be awesome, but it turned out to be more average than we expected. First off we didn't appreciate the reception's staff attitude when we asked if we could redeem our coupon for 10% off the cost of the room (from our SUTP app). Said "oh you can only use those when you book the room and we don't accept them on busy nights", We responded that it did not say that on the coupon anywhere and were a little perplexed on how to redeem it when they need the code as we booked online to which the response was "well you'd have to phone us...."....who does that anymore??? To their credit they did give us the discount, but it would have been nicer to do with out the added scolding.

This hotel is best suited for tourists trying to get the "Canadian Mountain Experience". It has all the looks of what one would expect the Canadian Rockies to be, and what more could you really want in banff. It is most suited for a romantic couples get away though as it is not too kid friendly. And one of the coolest things about it was the hot tub, that looks like a cave although it is crowded most of the time so little privacy is to be had, there isn't a pool either.

The room was new and had all the modern amenities one could expect, although a fan that actually worked in the bathroom would have been nice. We had a king suite, and again a lock on the bedroom door would have been nice as well. The kitchenette (only a microwave and fridge) had an acceptable compliment of dishes and utensils. Unfortunately for us the sleep was less than memorable as we found the bed as hard as a rock, but if you like extra firm mattresses this may be the place for you. Lastly it was quite warm in the bedroom, but too early in the year for A/C, so we need to have the window open and could hear a lot people who had been partying hooting and hollering into the wee hours of the night.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I'm sorry to read that your time with us did not exceed your expectations.

Firstly I would like to apologize for the service you received at check in. This does not sound up to par, and it is not typical of our team.

The bathroom fans are silent, so I assume it was working, but you may have thought it was not due to it's silent feature. An easy way to test it to put a tissue in front of it, you will see that the tissue becomes sucked to the fan.

If ever there are issues with people 'partying late into the night' please don't hesitate to bring this to our attention. We are here 24/7 and enforce the quiet hours we have set.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Best family holiday ever at this hotel. We've done a lot of travelling over the years and this Hotel definitely rates as one of the best! We stayed for 10 nights with our two grown kids and couldn't ask for anything more. Our family suite was huge.Beautiful and clean with everything you could want along with nice comfy beds. The hot tub was so nice to come to after a day on the slopes and with Chili's as their restaurant you didn't need to go far if you didn't feel like it! The free breakfast in the morning was a great way to start the day and the front desk staff were always happy and helpful. We booked a snowmobile tour with recommendations from "Bek" and that was the highlight of our stay! Definitely a must do! Restaurants and shops are all so close and the bus for skiing picks you up right outside. You won't find a better hotel in Banff for comfort and convenience! Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

The rooms that we had next to each other were amazing. The door In between them opened up and basically turned it into a 2 bed apartment. If I'm ever back in Banff I will be staying here again. The view from the room was amazing as well

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloydminster, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

My family and I decided to stay there instead of our usual hotel well the rooms are tiny especially for the price! They were very clean and decorated well though that was great, the noise though was unreal and everytime I called front desk said they would fix the problem and nothing was done. So I went down in the morning to complain and was nice about it and the lady said oh was it outside or inside I told her both and she just said ya sorry it's a weekend!!!!!!!
Will never stay there again and I would never recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback, however would have appreciated the opportunity to speak with you during your stay. We do not have record of your calls complaining about noise, and am very sorry to hear you were disturbed.

Our room layout and square footage can be found on our website. Here you can determine the size of room that is right for you. Our quiet hour begins at 11pm, and if ever you are disturbed by excessive noise by other guests, simply dial '0' from your room and we'll have security address the issue.

The quiet comfort and enjoyment of your experience is important to us. When made aware of the issue, we will always do our best to rectify it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The hotel has a pool that is extremely warm below the main floors. The pool opens up to the sky above. The free breakfast has enough to get you started for the day. Good food for other meals. The fireplace was cozy and warm. Hotel has a lounge. The rooms were clean. We were there for the Alberta Winter Games and the temperature was -34C.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#6 Family Hotel in Banff
#6 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff's newest Hotel! Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The new Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.