We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely stay again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fox Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Fox Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Would definitely stay again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2008

I booked this for a 2 night stay from among the many hotels in Banff following the Trip Advisor reviews and was very pleased with the choice. Location is good just on the outskirts of town and the hotel has a modern, friendly feel a bit like an upmarket ski hotel. We were were offered a discounted upgrade to a 2-room suite which was lovely and, given the discount, reasonable value (although still not a complete bargain). Rooms are comfortable with high quality furnishings although the kitchen was a bit sparsely equipped with no carving/bread knife or kettle. Thankfully, our room was very quiet unlike previous reviewers but we were right at the end of the corridor so had no passing traffic. We were on the road but the double glazing is excellent and didn't seem to let in any noise. We had a meal at Chilli's, which was very good value, and also used the hotel hot tub which is nicely done and enjoyable to use. The hotel also had laundry facilities, which are very useful, although they are relatively expensive to use compared to others I came across in the Rockies. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay here and would stay again.

  • Liked — Comfortable rooms and luxurious feel of hotel
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    849
    574
    167
    81
    29
See reviews for
487
812
32
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Mn
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2008

We stayed 2 nights at The Fox. When we checked in our room was about 90*F (30*C). I called down to the front desk and was informed that only the suites are air conditioned. That was probably something I should have researched and known in advance but it just never occurred to me. Other than being exceedingly warm, the hotel accomodations were just fine. The room wasn't large but we weren't planning on staying in the room very much anyway. The staff were very well informed and friendly. The location is good- quite close to the hub of the town as well as a number of trails. It did get very noisy both nights but I think that's more about the guests than the hotel. People walking past open windows at 2am were speaking in normal outdoor voices. Quite a few people had to pass our room to get to theirs, and I'm a light sleeper so that wasn't a great combination. The couple having a loud argument at midnight was a bit over the top though.
I think quite a few hikers/campers stay here during their trip. Many of them seemed to congregate in the courtyard with all their luggage and the laundry room was pretty busy-2 washers and dryers.
The breakfast was more than adequate-cereal, fruit, bagels, croissants, bread, muffins, yogurt, juice and coffee.
It's an easy walk to get to quite a few restaurants. Coyote's Deli and Grill had great vegetarian options! My daughter and husband are both vegetarians so we always look for a place that will give them at least 2 options. Cafe Soleil was also a good place for lunch and people watching. I would only recommend the Evergreen if everyone likes meat and/or fish. The arctic char and bison were wonderful. The vegetarian table d'hote menu not so much. It was a ravioli with a creamy sauce that was just too much.

  • Liked — staff and location
  • Disliked — noisy at night
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

We booked room online and when we arrived were offered an update for a very reasonable price. For our 3days stay we were in the loft suite, which was wonderful. Nicely appointed. Spotless. Very comfortable. Also, the front office staff was very helpful with recommendations for dinners as well as trip suggestions. We will certainly be staying here again in the future.

  • Liked — Beautiful location, wonderful rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2008

The hotel is modern and well appointed with a hot tub to die for and a small gym that we found was clean and functional. The staff are very friendly and helpful, especially at the Hotel Reception where they go out of their way to help you make the most of your stay. We found that that the Chilis Restaurant staff were also polite and friendly and we ate there most nights as the food is good quality and a reasonable price. We enjoyed the simple but nourishing complimentary breakfasts.
We stayed 4 nights in a suite on the ground floor and had a wonderful stay with no problems. The air conditioning is noisy, but it can be turned off as the bedroom is fed from a seperate unit which is quiet but less effective in the 30 degree plus outside temperatures that we experienced. The suite had two, large flat screen tv's, one in the living room and the other in the bedroom. One small comment worthy of note is that the walls between each suite are thin and we could clearly hear our neighbours.

  • Liked — Friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2008

We were greeted with genuine warmth by Reception Staff who subtly upgraded us to a 2 room suite with kitchen as the only single room with a queen bed (which we paid for) was apparently next to a noisy air filter which they'd had some complaints about. The room was spotless, at the side of the hotel. It was warm when we stayed at Banff but we had no problems with the temperature in the room, there was an airconditioning unit in the kitchen/lounge which was perfectly adequate.

We loved the cosy reception area in the hotel with its wood,.Car parking was free in the secure underground area and breakfast was great. We found the breakfast staff to be friendly, offering re-fills of coffee and the selection of food was good, far better than other hotels we stayed at during out visit to Canada.

It took about 10 minutes to walk to Banff which we found very touristy, we preferred Jasper. We had a great meal at The Carribou - The Keg which is a 2 minute walk up the road, not in the direction of Banff. Lovely steaks there!

  • Liked — Friendly staff and clean room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2008

We had a suite which was clean and two rooms witha small kitchen area. The breakfasts were buffet and of a good quality. The fitness area was tiny but the underground hot springs were lovely. A lovely hotel just 5 minutes walk to the centre of Banff

  • Liked — hot springs
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2008

Stayed for 5 nights in August. Prior to arriving we had raised concern about lack of air conditioning in double rooms in light of some TA reviews about rooms being uncomfortably hot. Without debate we were upgraded to a suite which was air conditioned and which we found to be very spacious, comfortable and enjoyable to stay in. That said, the weather was not excessively hot while we were there and we are not sure how we would have fared if we had been in the smaller room with the temperature in the high twenties as some people had been. Perhaps the management need to find a solution for next year since this seems to be the only significant negative in all the reviews so far.

We enjoyed the breakfasts and Chilis was handy and reasonably priced.

The staff were very polite and helpful and overall we had what can only be described as an excellent experience. We will not hesitate to recommend the Fox to others.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.0 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 799 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 963 reviews
2.2 mi away
Rimrock Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#8 Family Hotel in Banff
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff's newest Hotel! Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The new Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.