We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel! Great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fox Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Fox Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Awesome hotel! Great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Best family holiday ever at this hotel. We've done a lot of travelling over the years and this Hotel definitely rates as one of the best! We stayed for 10 nights with our two grown kids and couldn't ask for anything more. Our family suite was huge.Beautiful and clean with everything you could want along with nice comfy beds. The hot tub was so nice to come to after a day on the slopes and with Chili's as their restaurant you didn't need to go far if you didn't feel like it! The free breakfast in the morning was a great way to start the day and the front desk staff were always happy and helpful. We booked a snowmobile tour with recommendations from "Bek" and that was the highlight of our stay! Definitely a must do! Restaurants and shops are all so close and the bus for skiing picks you up right outside. You won't find a better hotel in Banff for comfort and convenience! Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    845
    562
    162
    78
    28
See reviews for
475
804
32
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

The rooms that we had next to each other were amazing. The door In between them opened up and basically turned it into a 2 bed apartment. If I'm ever back in Banff I will be staying here again. The view from the room was amazing as well

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloydminster, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

My family and I decided to stay there instead of our usual hotel well the rooms are tiny especially for the price! They were very clean and decorated well though that was great, the noise though was unreal and everytime I called front desk said they would fix the problem and nothing was done. So I went down in the morning to complain and was nice about it and the lady said oh was it outside or inside I told her both and she just said ya sorry it's a weekend!!!!!!!
Will never stay there again and I would never recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback, however would have appreciated the opportunity to speak with you during your stay. We do not have record of your calls complaining about noise, and am very sorry to hear you were disturbed.

Our room layout and square footage can be found on our website. Here you can determine the size of room that is right for you. Our quiet hour begins at 11pm, and if ever you are disturbed by excessive noise by other guests, simply dial '0' from your room and we'll have security address the issue.

The quiet comfort and enjoyment of your experience is important to us. When made aware of the issue, we will always do our best to rectify it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The hotel has a pool that is extremely warm below the main floors. The pool opens up to the sky above. The free breakfast has enough to get you started for the day. Good food for other meals. The fireplace was cozy and warm. Hotel has a lounge. The rooms were clean. We were there for the Alberta Winter Games and the temperature was -34C.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Four of us stayed in a two bedroom suite in February. The bedrooms were large and comfortable with more than enough storage for the paraphernalia that goes with skiing. The lounge area was less welcoming, the sofa was small and uncomfortable and would be cramped if six people were being accommodated. Our biggest annoyance was the inefficient and noisy heating in the lounge. The fan was either on or off and blasted too hot air for a period followed by a short sharp blast of cold air. The thermostat was pretty useless although the bedrooms used different heat and could be kept at a decent temperature. One other notable issue - the floors are wood and the furniture has no cushioning on the feet of the tables and chairs. The room above us were moving around until 4AM some mornings and the scraping of this furniture became very annoying. Felt pads on the bottom of the dining chairs would be welcome!
Breakfast was included and was about as basic as a continental breakfast gets. There was no variety and the only hot option was waffles. The pastries were of variable quality and often stale.
We ate in Chilli's for lunch and dinner and had a good meal, typical of the chain throughout North America.
In the basement of the hotel is a large lagoon / hot tub and sauna which proved popular and is well worth a visit.
Parking was underground and free and with temperatures down to minute 27, very welcome.
Service at the hotel was always great and we wouldn't hesitate to return.

Room Tip: A room on the top floor would avoid being disturbed by chairs dragging on wooden floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

My daughter and I stayed at the Fox in early February 2014 while skiing at Lake Louise. The hotel is on Banff Ave and within walking distance to most restaurants.
The rooms are clean, well kept and reasonably priced. We stayed in a standard room with 2 double beds and the room was small and got a bit claustrophobic after 3 nights. As mentioned in another review the soundproofing is poor and you can hear everything from the adjacent room. The mattresses are not very comfortable
The hot tub area is unique and certainly worth a visit. The attached Chili's restaurant is very economical and also the location for the free continental breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Spent the weekend with a friend and two teenage boys. Finding a two bedroom suite was not easy but totally lucked out on this hotel. Two bedrooms, one upstairs, one down, with a living room in between
A quick 5 minute walk you are in the heart of Banff, close to everything
Our only complaint was the underground (heated...awesome!!) was VERY tight.
I'd go back in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Make sure you go to the hot tub.....awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thanks so much for your review! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed the spaciousness of our two bedroom suite.

The heated underground parking as you mentioned can become tight at times, as it is provided on a first come first serve basis. We do have plenty of street parking available as well.

We look forward to welcoming you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.0 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 771 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 942 reviews
2.2 mi away
Rimrock Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
#8 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff's newest Hotel! Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The new Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Venere and getaroom.com so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.