We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Fox Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fox Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 33 hotels in Banff
Gatineau, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Very friendly welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We booked this hotel through a travel agent. So we did not research much. Great hotel, great rooms, very quiet and very comfortable. We would return without hesitation. We did not think much of the hot tub in the basement but this did not matter much to us. Decent breakfast, location and comfort were the key to us.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,447 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    768
    466
    128
    61
    24
See reviews for
431
685
27
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

During the last week of January, we stayed at the Fox Hotel & Suites for 7 nights while on a large group ski trip to Banff. It worked out very well. I was hesitant at first to stay here since it was not ski-in, ski-out accommodations. But the shuttle service was easy to use and the route so scenic that I surprisingly enjoyed the drive each day! Typically, there was only 1 or 2 stops along the route.

Room:
We booked a suite, which had a king bed, two closets, a living area with kitchen nook and two TVs . The suite was up-to-date, clean and comfortable. The kitchenette proved to be quite useful and had a small fridge, microwave, coffee maker, toaster and kettle along with plates, utensils and a can opener. While the bathroom was a little small, this room type was the perfect size for 2 people with ski gear. Our room was quiet and we did not hear our neighbors or road noise.

Note: Rooms have an outside entrance so you have to go outside to get to the lobby, hot tub or Chili's restaurant. Also, there is first-come, first-serve ski storage in the basement garage (with locks provided by the hotel), but we did not find it to be any more convenient than keeping our skis in our room.

Breakfast:
A continental breakfast at Chili's, located on the first floor, was included with our stay. The staff was wonderful and very accommodating. While the restaurant was supposed to open at 7 am, the staff allowed us to sit down and begin eating 15-20 minutes earlier. The breakfast included 3 cereals (no oatmeal), hard-boiled eggs, pastries/muffins, toast, yogurt, fruit and waffles. The food was filling and good (particularly the waffles) but a bit heavy on the carbs. However, because we were staying there for 7 nights, the breakfast became a bit monotonous later in the week and more variety would be an improvement.

Location:
Conveniently located right on the main street, it is an easy 10 minute walk to charming downtown Banff with its abundant restaurants and shops. The hotel also will provide you with a free ROAM pass, if you ask for it, that entitles you to free shuttle service into town. We never used that option since the walk into town was easy. In town, there is a Safeway grocery store along with a more local food store (whose name escapes me now). There is also a nice little park in town. A friend had an elk come right up to here in the park!

Unique Grotto Hot Tub:
Very nice, large, clean and underground. I would have preferred for the water to be a little hotter, but it still felt great after skiing. One end is jetted, the other end is not. There is also a sauna. Towels can be obtained in the adjacent changing rooms (replete with shower). Note: There is also a very small exercise room down there (with maybe one treadmill and one bike).

Bottom line:
A suite at the Fox Hotel & Suites worked out perfectly for us during a weeklong ski trip to Banff. There is easy access to town and convenient shuttle service to the ski resorts.

The remainder of this write-up is about using the Fox Hotel as a base for skiing. I am providing info that I would have found useful in preparation for my trip.

Skiing:
There are 3 ski resorts in Banff: Norquay, Sunshine and Lake Louise. We skied at the latter two. Your lift ticket entitles you to free shuttle service to the ski resorts. Each ski resort has its own unique shuttle service (which is a different bus service than the ROAM shuttle that takes you to downtown Banff.) The ski shuttles stop at the hotel (Banff Inn) right next door to the Fox Hotel. It took us about a minute to walk from our room on the 3rd floor to the shuttle stop.

Norquay is closet (maybe a 10 minute bus ride, 300 skiable acres with steep runs). Sunshine is a 20 min shuttle ride and has 3,000+ skiable acres. It has some wide open ski areas. Lake Louise is a 45 min shuttle ride with 4,200 skiable acres. It has the longest runs. We skied 2 days at Sunshine and 3 days at Lake Louise. While I liked both ski resorts equally, most everyone on our ski trip like Lake Louise best. Most people wore their ski boots on the shuttle buses, but we got lockesr (which were credit card operated and ran $7 per day for a medium size one). At Lake Louise, there are racks for storing gear out in the open if you don't want to pay for a locker. At Sunshine, I never saw such racks.

In the morning, the shuttles ran every 60 or 90 minutes from the hotel to the varous ski resorts (starting at 7:30 am with lifts opening at 9 am) and then in the afternoon, the shuttles started running back every hour or so from the ski resorts in the 2 pm - 5:30 pm time period. The front desk has a little shuttle schedule that you can carry with you. I found using the shuttles to be very easy. The drive along the highway with the expansive Canadian Rockies as a backdrop is spectacular and I never got tired of the views.

Lake Louise/Fairmont Chateau:
It was incredibly cold one day while we were skiing at Lake Louise (minus 8 F), so we hopped over to the actual Lake Louise, which is about 15 minutes from the Lake Louise ski resort. You can take the Fairmont Chateau's small shuttle bus to the hotel situated on the lake. The Chateau is a grand, historic hotel but not at all stuffy. It looks like a wonderful place to stay, with plenty of activities for any season. We caught the 11:30 shuttte, ate lunch there, viewed the ice sculptures and then caught the 1 pm shuttle back to the ski resort.

Johnston Ice Canyon Walk:
On our off day from skiing, we signed up for the ice walk with Banff Discover tours. It was a short (maybe 2 hr walk) up to the base of the upper falls. The canyon looked beautiful draped in ice.

Room Tip: Recommend a suite (with kitchenette) over hotel room if you have ski gear with you. Hotel rooms see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oklahoma city
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Near shops and great food. Helpful desk staff. Chilis restaurant. Fun grotto. Near great ski resorts. Good price. Wonderful grotto hot tub. Clean rooms. 20 mins to sunshine. 45 mins to lake Louise. Buy lift tickets at front desk. Banff is a nice town

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Not much to say, great service, great room, great hot tub. Will go back!!!!!!!!! I recommend everyone to stay here. My wife and had a suite for a weekend and it was great, would love to stay longer next time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

The Banff Fox Hotel and Appartments

Just returned to the UK after the best skiing holiday in 25 years. Honest.

They say honesty pays and my/our trip to Banff was polished by the services provided by the staff at the Fox Hotel and Apartments.

Honest.

We actually visited the Fairmont in Banff and threw a few darts. We even visited the large pile by the lake in Lake Louise but we kept coming back to the Fox where we were greeted by a warm smile and a hot bubble bath.

Honest.

May I add special mention to Chris on the front desk who went beyond the call of duty. The lady from Freeo without whose help we would have perished, and of course the boys behind the bar - your know who you are ! Hey it rhymes.

As does a stay at the Fox in Banff.

And another important mention for the coffee manager (Tasilo) and whatshisname who cleared out the hearth and brought the ice to the room... both deserves special mention.

I have no need to mention xxx who is getting married in Honolulululiu for obvious reasons.

Seriously folks, the rooms could be a little larger and there should be a little more variety in the breakfast (x mention for Z***** here who appeased our hunger over the day ).

As for £ / $ / zzzzz v fun the fox takes some beating.

Honest.

Room Tip: Speak to Chris.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I was admitted to the Banff Hospital for 6:00am surgery and required a room the day before and after my hospital stay. This hotel was very clean, very modern, the prices were reasonable and my husband and I took advantage of the cave basin hot tub. The hot tub was truly unique and made you feel like you were outdoors in a cave with a skylight in the roof allowing the fresh air in and a view of the stars. Around the hot tub were romantic little flood lights and waterfalls. The steam room was also great. In the morning for medical reasons I could not eat from their complimentary breakfast so they provided me with a take away box to pack something for later. I was thrilled. Their banana nut muffins are delicious! The basic hotel rooms are very small but that didn't bother me. It was clean and modern. The underground heated parking was a real treat too.

Room Tip: The Fox is located a ways down from your main shopping strip but it is a delightful little walk and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed here for two nights over the Christmas holiday and I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. When you walk into the hotel, there is a beautiful roaring fireplace with comfy couches in the lobby and super friendly front desk staff. We booked a standard Queen room which was a perfect size for two people-the decor is very 'ski chalet' rustic and it works well. The grotto hot tub downstairs is open to the outdoors giving it a more natural feel. Breakfast is served in the attached Chilis restaurant and is actually quite filling for a continental breakfast-lots of fruit and waffle makers. Underground parking is included and very convenient. My only complaint is the Wifi; while it is free, it's quite slow and the connection drops frequently.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
#5 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff's newest Hotel! Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The new Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;