We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fox Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Fox Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2008

We were greeted with genuine warmth by Reception Staff who subtly upgraded us to a 2 room suite with kitchen as the only single room with a queen bed (which we paid for) was apparently next to a noisy air filter which they'd had some complaints about. The room was spotless, at the side of the hotel. It was warm when we stayed at Banff but we had no problems with the temperature in the room, there was an airconditioning unit in the kitchen/lounge which was perfectly adequate.

We loved the cosy reception area in the hotel with its wood,.Car parking was free in the secure underground area and breakfast was great. We found the breakfast staff to be friendly, offering re-fills of coffee and the selection of food was good, far better than other hotels we stayed at during out visit to Canada.

It took about 10 minutes to walk to Banff which we found very touristy, we preferred Jasper. We had a great meal at The Carribou - The Keg which is a 2 minute walk up the road, not in the direction of Banff. Lovely steaks there!

  • Liked — Friendly staff and clean room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katkat17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2008

We had a suite which was clean and two rooms witha small kitchen area. The breakfasts were buffet and of a good quality. The fitness area was tiny but the underground hot springs were lovely. A lovely hotel just 5 minutes walk to the centre of Banff

  • Liked — hot springs
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brightwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2008

Stayed for 5 nights in August. Prior to arriving we had raised concern about lack of air conditioning in double rooms in light of some TA reviews about rooms being uncomfortably hot. Without debate we were upgraded to a suite which was air conditioned and which we found to be very spacious, comfortable and enjoyable to stay in. That said, the weather was not excessively hot while we were there and we are not sure how we would have fared if we had been in the smaller room with the temperature in the high twenties as some people had been. Perhaps the management need to find a solution for next year since this seems to be the only significant negative in all the reviews so far.

We enjoyed the breakfasts and Chilis was handy and reasonably priced.

The staff were very polite and helpful and overall we had what can only be described as an excellent experience. We will not hesitate to recommend the Fox to others.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Yuk0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2008

Chose the Fox after reading the reviews on trip advisor. Family & I were very warmly greeted on arrival and helped with bags (this was the final leg of a 2 week trip for the 4 of us, so there were a lot of bags). Booked the 2 br suite, very nice. Front desk staff always courteous, friendly, and helpful.

A couple of problems though. First, the room was hot, and only had one (loud) window unit AC for the three rooms. Banff was experiencing a heat wave when we were there so it was a bit stuffy at times in our suite.

But the most significant issue was the total disaster they called "complimentary continental breakfast". Overcrowded, very poorly laid out, confusing, and with surly staff -- one morning, a waitress actually slammed two glasses of water down on the table and stormed off. If you're going to stay at the Fox, I recommend you find breakfast elsewhere.

I don't mean to be too negative though.. all in all it was a nice stay at a nice, friendly hotel. Except for the breakfast part.

  • Liked — Very helpful staff
  • Disliked — Breakfast.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ts62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2008

yes, the fox is very nice - its a pretty hotel with small but attractive rooms - they have an underground hot tub, spa - its very pretty and nice way to enjoy an after dinner relaxation - an on-site chilis provides an expanded continential breakfast - its very nice with lots of fruit and differnt breads...

still, its just a nice hotel - nothing really special - ill probably not come back - not because the hotel was bad - just because im always looking for something a little special...

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank beth_19a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2008

We chose the Fox Hotel because of its reviews on Trip Advisor and because the rates seemed fairly reasonable when compared to other Banff hotels. The building is nice looking inside and out. The slate and cedar is lovely and the decor is tasteful. Our studio room was absolutely tiny, so we paid to get upgraded to a one-bedroom. The concierge asked my husband if we wanted the upgrade before we had seen the studio, but there was no offer for a freebie. Everything in our room was very clean, including the dishes in the kitchenette, and the bathroom was spotless. The furniture could've been more comfortable, but the bed was decent. The location was great - short walk to the main drag with all the shops, restaurants, Starbucks, etc. The restaurant in the lobby (Chili's) was good - huge portions, fresh food. The wait staff was surprisingly tolerant of our two-year-old who refused to stay in her highchair and kept getting in their way. The continental breakfast that was served in the same restaurant in the morning had a variety of options: yogurt, granola, berries sauce, bagels/toast, cereal, muffins, fruit. All in all, we thought it was a nice hotel and we'd likely stay there again.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, decor, location.
  • Disliked — No swimming pool.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ForTheWeekend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest
Level Contributor
114 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2008

We originally booked a standard king room. The guy at the front desk said there was a king loft suite available for $50 more per night. We looked at both rooms and decided on the upgrade as the standard room was quite small, although very nice. The loft room, however, was huge and had a kitchenette and a balcony with mountain views. The hotel is nicely appointed and very modern. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast served in the Chili's restaurant attached. The only complaint I have is about the housekeeping. They left dirty dishes and glasses in our kitchen. I would stay here again in a heartbeat though. The location is great too.

  • Liked — room size and layout
  • Disliked — a bit expensive
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mns06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.0 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 882 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#10 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,074 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#6 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
#10 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Odigeo so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing