We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Fox Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Fox Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 33 hotels in Banff
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Amazing Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

A friend and I stayed here on a ski weekend! Such an amazing place! I lived in Calgary and visited many Banff hotels before and this one was a great value, very comfortable and spacious! Everyone was so friendly and the continental breakfast that was included was the BEST I've ever had at a hotel before! Perfect for a pre ski fuel up! The hot tub grotto was amazing! You felt outside without being outside in the freezing cold! I would 100% recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a authentic winter cabin feel!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your comments. I'm sure the Trip Advisor community will appreciate that you've stayed at other Banff hotels, and therefore are making a solid comparison with your comments. I agree the hot pool areas is our best feature...I wish I could go for soak right now!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,325 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    716
    425
    110
    54
    20
See reviews for
390
614
27
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Wanting to have a white Xmas in banff was complete. We stayed at Fox Hotel & Suites.
Our suite had a kitchen dining area and lounge which converted to a bed. Downstairs was the bed room with 2 double beds and bathroom. Room for 3 adults with one sleeping upstairs on converted lounge. You could accommodate more but it would have been a bit cramped with 6 adults.
Chillis restaurant was inexpensive and good food. It has hotel accom as well. A heated open to the sky pool downstairs. Hard to describe the views and atmosphere of this place at Xmas. Just perfect.
Customer service excellent in all areas. Staff so helpful. Free shuttles downtown regularly and u can walk it easily...only a few blocks.
Want to go to banff for a White Xmas book their suites early. I now know why it was booked out by end of January. About $350 a night for 3 adults at Xmas is pretty good.
Gie S

Room Tip: Rooms Facing side street Excellent. Close walk into reception and chillis. Quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for your review! It was wonderful to have you as our guest over Christmas, and I'm thrilled to hear your stay was everything you had hopped for. Banff at Christmastime is a truly magical place, but then again summertime brings it's own kind of magic! We hope to host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed 5 nights at this hotel! We stayed in room #205. It was a great loft suite with a fireplace. Loved the cave jacuzzi and although fairly close to the main town we rented a vehicle and drove everywhere. The chilies in the hotel is VERY crowded. We wanted a quick bite to eat one evening when we came home and were unable to get a seat. All in all a great stay! A room with a view is a must!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

+ Lovely hotel, modern, funky, comfortable, clean
+ The pool is like a cave, super hot, really nice
+ 12 minute walk from Banff, on the same road leading directly into town
+ Really friendly staff
+ Relaxed, nice atmosphere
+ Reasonably priced
+ Free parking
+ Room included breakfast at no extra charge
+ Free and high speed WiFi

We stayed in Banff for 9 days, 5 days in the Fox and 4 days in the Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel. The Fox, in my opinion, is a far more pleasant hotel than the Banff Springs which is very stuffy and incredibly expensive. I could not fault the Fox in any way. Really recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
We truly appreciate your review! It brings us a great pleasure to read we've succeeded in providing the quality product and level of service we strive for! Thank you very much for your kind comments and recommendation. I hope we can welcome you back one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed in a premium loft king suite with fireplace over Christmas. Lounge + kitchenette downstairs, and bedroom + bathroom upstairs. The fireplace was wood effect gas fire and could be turned on/off with the flick of a switch. Made the lounge area really cosy. The kitchen had fridge, microwave, kettle, coffee maker, toaster and plenty of crockery/cutlery. There was also an iron + board in hall cupboard + safe. TV in lounge + bedroom. Plenty of storage. I particularly liked the fact that there were various options for lighting - ceiling lights + lamps. Also good were the three thermostats in the lounge, bedroom and bathroom, so you could get each area to the temperature required. The furniture and decor were tasteful and comfortable. The bed was great with beautifully soft sheets - no problems sleeping. There were two sets of blinds to the windows - those to provide a light shade + black-out blinds to keep out all light. The suite was kept extremely clean by the chamber maids, who also washed any cups, etc we had used. Plenty of clean towels/flannels. Wi-fi available at all times in the room. Reception staff very friendly and helpful. Ten minute walk to town centre with many shops/restaurants. On prior visits to Banff we have stayed at the Caribou Lodge, which my husband prefers. He is a skier and likes to have a cooked breakfast before hitting the slopes. Although the continental breakfast at the Fox is included in the price, there is no option to up-grade to something hot and more substantial. You could make waffles, but there was always a queue for the machines, and only ever three cereal choices, one of which was always multi-coloured loop things that I wouldn't put into my body! We were in room 405, which was handy for the only lift in the building (we sometimes had quite a wait for it), but our bathroom window overlooked the extractor from the kitchen, which did produce a continual drone from 6am to 11pm. However, you could block this out if the windows were shut. There is an outside staircase to access the rooms, which is fine if you're wrapped up well, but not so good if you're just going downstairs for breakfast. Ideally the hotel needs another and/or quicker lift. The downsides are FAR outweighed by the upsides and I would definitely stay there again as I felt totally comfortable and at home.

Room Tip: Ask to be near the only lift if that's important to you, or away from the kitchen extractor fan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We made our home base Fox Inn and Suites. This was a nice location, ten minute walk to shops and restaurants. We stayed in a king suite. Our room was spacious and quite comfortable. The Rooms were very clean, and small kitchen had a fridge and microwave, wine glasses, dishes, coffee maker the works. If you needed anything the hotel staff was extremely gracious and helpful. The Fox Inn offers complimentary internet. If you have a car, underground parking is wonderful, particularly in winter, and it's no extra charge. The rooms are quiet too. One thing you should know is all the rooms have exterior doors. It is very secure in that they do not face into the street but it does make for a chilly run to the spa cave downstairs in the winter. Don't let that spoil it for it's just an added note.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It is wonderful to read we've succeeded in providing you with an enjoyable stay. For future guests, we do have warm change rooms at the hot pool area, should you wish to change inside. Each change room is complete with coin operated lockers, showers, towels and hair dryers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

I loved the Fox. I went with my Mother and my 5 year old daughter. We stayed in the 1 bedroom suite and it was more than enough room for the 3 of us. The pool was great! My little one loved it. Very cozy place to stay. I recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff
Fox Hotel Suites
Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Banff
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
#6 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff's newest Hotel! Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The new Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.