We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and quality at the Fox” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Fox Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Fox Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 33 hotels in Banff
Innisfail, Canada
1 review
“Excellent service and quality at the Fox”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Recently visited the Fox for an overnight stay and must say the service was top notch. Rooms very nice and clean. The spa area is a very unique concept having the appearance of a cave and basin, which makes it feel very different. Very enjoyable stay, would recomme

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,326 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    717
    425
    110
    54
    20
See reviews for
390
615
27
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canmore, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We've stayed here a number of times and it is one of our favourite properties to stay in Banff. Rooms are spacious suites, warm and well appointed decor, nice hardwood flooring, clean, quiet, comfortable beds and nice flat-screen TVs. Breakfast is complimentary in the mornings, and their hot tub is the BEST with the Cave & Basin-inspired theme. That's my favourite part. We tend not to dine at Chili's, but The Fox is close enough walking distance to other restaurants nearby and downtown. A particularly nice bonus on their part is they provide complimentary cards for use of the ROAM bus in town during your stay. I really appreciated that added gesture. Loved it, will stay again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoorn, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

It was our first stay at the Fox Hotel. The room was very comfortable. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite. One room with a kingsize bed and the other with a queensize bed, so we had a lot of space for the three of us.
Everywhere in the hotel it is very clean. The lobby is cozy with a great fireplace. In the cave of the hotel is a very nice hotpool which can only be accessed by guests of the hotel. The car could be parked in the underground parking, so the snow didn't bother us.
All of the staff is very kind and always willing to be of your service.
Breakfast is included in this hotel, which is exceptional in Banff.
For diner you can go to Chili's. A restaurant with nice food and not too expensive.
The Fox is absolutely recommended for a great stay in Banff!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review with the Trip Advisor community! I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated both the warm fireplace in the lobby, and our unique grotto hot pool. I hope you will visit again! One stay is never enough!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Had a wonderful stay at this hotel. Staff was very friendly and took the time to show us good areas on the map. Hotel was very clean and modern, hot tub was great. Loved the large fireplace in the lobby. Ate at the chili's at the hotel and had a great meal. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

This was our second stay. We really enjoy the hot pools that the hotel offers and its a very clean hotel with a mountain lodge type theme. Its nice to be greeted by the sound and smell of a lit fireplace. Plus we found out that they offer a free three day bus pass (with the stop just outside the lobby doors) and of course the continental breakfast with waffles! Apparently, those items aren't included with other hotels...
The weather was nice so we did prefer walking as it was a 5 - 8 minute walk to the main strip. When we went out for dinner at some of the Bon Appetite venues it was nice to be able to catch the bus to our restaurant and literally go from door to door. Their transit system is much nicer than large city systems! We decided to have our car parked for our trip in the underground parkade.
The staff at the Fox were extremely friendly and when we accidentally left behind a cell phone charger they shipped it back to us free of charge!
I will always recommend the fox to anyone looking to travel to Banff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I stayed at the Fox in early October and it was just wonderful. The suite was a 2 bedroom with a kitchenette. The room was very clean and cozy. The beds were very comfortable. We ate at Chilis for lunch and breakfast and both times were very good. We visited the hot pools and thoroughly enjoyed them. All in all, it's probably one of the better places to stay in Banff.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross on Wye, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed here on a coach tour that we had put together ourselves. We were upgraded on arrival, so we ended up with a lounge area and kitchenette on one floor and the bedroom and bathroom downstairs. Really enjoyed it, plenty of space, everything very clean and as it should be. Quite a long walk into town, but perfectly fine as long as you are used to walking as it is all on the flat. Staff were really friendly. We didn't eat here, but as a place to stay, we would certainly return if we were ever in Banff again (which is unlikely, but we live in hope)

Room Tip: Note, given the lack of options I could give the correct date of travel as it was so long ago - actu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff
Fox Hotel Suites
Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Banff
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
#6 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff's newest Hotel! Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The new Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.