We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Fox Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fox Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 33 hotels in Banff
Shepparton, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We chose this hotel from the internet, and what a find it was - an absolutely great building which was just so right in beautiful Banff. The service was excellent, all very clean, the restaurant terrific, and the location fine especially as they gave us complimentary town bus service tickets and it stopped right outside the hotel.
Our whole experience in Banff was great (until we went to another hotel later), and the quality of this hotel certainly contributed to that - could not recommend it too highly!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback! It brings us all great satisfaction to read we've met and exceeded our goals on standards and levels of guest service. I hope we can welcome you back to the Fox again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,403 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    756
    447
    121
    58
    21
See reviews for
414
664
27
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

The Fox Hotel is a favorite for most Calgarians that like the weekend getaway, or just a night away from reality.

My friends and I LOVE staying at the Fox. The staff is incredibly amazing, and the hotel is just perfect.
Among the many perks the hotel has to offer (the lovely hot pool, chills restaurant located by the lobby, clean rooms, and beautiful scenery), the location for the fox is in perfect range to downtown Banff when a night out on the town is needed.

Recently a group of 10 friends visited Banff to celebrate a friend's birthday. The management team was extremely accommodating to our needs as guests, and went above and beyond to ensure that our needs were met. Every time we stay at the Fox, they continue to exceed our expectations by a landslide.

It feels like home away from home. We absolutely love this hotel and recommend it to EVERYONE who is planning to stay in Banff, whether it is overnight, or for weeks!

Room Tip: The premium 2 Bedroom loft suite is a great option for a group of 5+ to enjoy the company of each ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thanks so much for your glowing review! We look forward to hosting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didsbury, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The Fox had many positive features. The staff was friendly and courteous. The room was clean. The breakfast was good. For those who like a hot tub it is excellent.
We were however disappointed with the room. It was very small. We are readers and there was no chair in the room to sit in to read. I believe a 4 star hotel should have a better living space.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I am happy to hear that for the most part, you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry we do not have a sitting area in our hotel rooms. Should you require extra space, perhaps booking a suite would be more to your liking. Suites offer ample room for lounging and reading. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Our children gave us a weekend get-away in Banff for our anniversary we were so impressed with this hotel. They booked the king suite for us and it was very comfortable. We enjoyed the location as it wasn't right downtown so we avoided the busyness of this area and yet it was less than a ten minute walk down to the shops and restaurants. The underground replication of the "cave & basin" was an unexpected surprise!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu, China
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a two bedroom unit for one night and wish we could've stayed longer. Both rooms were spacious and clean, had comfortable beds and linens, had their own TVs and plenty of storage. We even had a beautiful view of the mountains. The two bathrooms were also clean and had nice towels and toiletries. We didn't use the living room or dining space, but there was just enough seating for 4.

The hotel is about a ten minute walk from the main part of Banff Ave. I wouldn't be out off by it though because there are many other hotels at this end and people walking to and from. There's also a bus stop right in front of the hotel and bus that takes you right into the centre of town. We saw after the fact that the hotel offers free bus passes too.

The underground parking is quite tight and was packed with large trucks and SUVs when we were there. I think there's street parking for those that can't find a spot, but we made a point to find one early and keep it until check out. The hot tub was also really busy so we didn't end up using it. The continental breakfast was adequate, typical toast, DIY waffles, yogurt and fresh-ish fruit.

We had a very quiet and relaxing stay and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Battleford, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

First impression of the lobby decor is one of Rustic mountain luxury- wood, rock and natural wood burning fireplaces. Our loft suite was clean and well maintained (even clean in the corner behind the bathroom door!) incredible mountain views through the large windows.
Negative-full sized SUV's are too tall for the underground parking. Bonus-this facility isn't owned by some obscure multinational corporation but is part of an "Employee Owned" group of Banff hotels and businesses. One wonder the staff appear so engaged. We will be back.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
It is music to my ears to hear the words, 'exceeded our expectations'!
We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Fox Hotel & Suites the second week of September. The hotel is located on the main road through town and is just several blocks away from the center of town (but far enough that it's quieter). There was a triathalon in town when we were there and we were content to park our car in the hotel's underground garage and walk into town.

The hotel is modern, very attractive and reminded us of a mountain lodge. The fireplace was very welcoming since it was raining and cold the evening we arrived. Our room was well appointed with a queen bed and a small love seat. The TV was a flat panel LCD located on the wall above the desk/dresser area..

A well stocked and very tasty hot/cold breakfast buffet is included. After breakfast the restaurant reverts to a Chili's. We had dinner there our first night since we did not want to venture out given the weather conditions. Dinner was typical for a Chili's.

The hotel's underground garage was very handy for us given the weather while we were in Banff. We also saw many lockers for ski equipment along the walls. While we did not avail ourselves of the pool and hot tub in the basement "grotto" we visited it and it seemed very nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Banff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#5 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff's newest Hotel! Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The new Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.