We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend get-away!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fox Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Fox Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
“Perfect weekend get-away!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Our children gave us a weekend get-away in Banff for our anniversary we were so impressed with this hotel. They booked the king suite for us and it was very comfortable. We enjoyed the location as it wasn't right downtown so we avoided the busyness of this area and yet it was less than a ten minute walk down to the shops and restaurants. The underground replication of the "cave & basin" was an unexpected surprise!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    825
    533
    148
    74
    28
See reviews for
462
763
30
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitehorse, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a two bedroom unit for one night and wish we could've stayed longer. Both rooms were spacious and clean, had comfortable beds and linens, had their own TVs and plenty of storage. We even had a beautiful view of the mountains. The two bathrooms were also clean and had nice towels and toiletries. We didn't use the living room or dining space, but there was just enough seating for 4.

The hotel is about a ten minute walk from the main part of Banff Ave. I wouldn't be out off by it though because there are many other hotels at this end and people walking to and from. There's also a bus stop right in front of the hotel and bus that takes you right into the centre of town. We saw after the fact that the hotel offers free bus passes too.

The underground parking is quite tight and was packed with large trucks and SUVs when we were there. I think there's street parking for those that can't find a spot, but we made a point to find one early and keep it until check out. The hot tub was also really busy so we didn't end up using it. The continental breakfast was adequate, typical toast, DIY waffles, yogurt and fresh-ish fruit.

We had a very quiet and relaxing stay and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Battleford, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

First impression of the lobby decor is one of Rustic mountain luxury- wood, rock and natural wood burning fireplaces. Our loft suite was clean and well maintained (even clean in the corner behind the bathroom door!) incredible mountain views through the large windows.
Negative-full sized SUV's are too tall for the underground parking. Bonus-this facility isn't owned by some obscure multinational corporation but is part of an "Employee Owned" group of Banff hotels and businesses. One wonder the staff appear so engaged. We will be back.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
It is music to my ears to hear the words, 'exceeded our expectations'!
We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Fox Hotel & Suites the second week of September. The hotel is located on the main road through town and is just several blocks away from the center of town (but far enough that it's quieter). There was a triathalon in town when we were there and we were content to park our car in the hotel's underground garage and walk into town.

The hotel is modern, very attractive and reminded us of a mountain lodge. The fireplace was very welcoming since it was raining and cold the evening we arrived. Our room was well appointed with a queen bed and a small love seat. The TV was a flat panel LCD located on the wall above the desk/dresser area..

A well stocked and very tasty hot/cold breakfast buffet is included. After breakfast the restaurant reverts to a Chili's. We had dinner there our first night since we did not want to venture out given the weather conditions. Dinner was typical for a Chili's.

The hotel's underground garage was very handy for us given the weather while we were in Banff. We also saw many lockers for ski equipment along the walls. While we did not avail ourselves of the pool and hot tub in the basement "grotto" we visited it and it seemed very nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Located right on the main street in Banff, this hotel is really lovely. Lots of natural wood used in construction, a log fire in the lobby, the suite was clean and comfortable, staff helpful, welcoming and friendly. There is free underground parking, free wifi, free breakfast (although it is supposedly "continental" it included waffles, eggs, and fruit) and a restaurant on site. The "hot pool" turns out to be a recreation of the original Banff springs cave. On arrival was offered upgrade from room to a suite at a very reasonable cost. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review. I am delighted to read you enjoyed a great stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

First off, The Fox is a great hotel. So the title of this review should be taken with a grain of salt. We stayed in one of the top floor, two-storey loft rooms this time. The room overall is good, although nothing spectacular.

The good stuff:
Hot pools are great. Easily the best feature of the hotel. (although seriously, make the lockers free to use. Having to go all the way back up to your room for a quarter is very annoying).

The underground parking is clean and easy to get in and out of (they could install a mirror at the top of the ramp to help identify any oncoming traffic in both directions - my wife was very nervous driving up that ramp).

If you're new to Banff, the property is very easy to locate and super simple to just pull up in front, check in, and then park your car when you're all set with your room keys.

The bad:
The room key's seem to have a time out on them. We thought this was a one-off experience last year, but they did it again this year. It appears that the room key deactivates it's self after 48 hours or so. It's never just one key, either - it's always both, at the same time.

The pillows and mattress are just not very good. We thought maybe the bedding in the first room we stayed in last year was just due for replacement, but having the same experience in two rooms tells me this is probably the case property-wide. We actually left one night early as neither of us were sleeping well at all, so we forfeited $300 just to get a good nights sleep back home.

Overall this is a good property and we'd still recommend it, but we'll have to try a different place next time as it's just not for us any more.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. Although I'm trying to 'take it with a grain of salt', I am concerned that it may be your last visit with us. We value our guests, and always wish for repeat visits.

If you find our pillows too big and fluffy, a flatter option is available, please let us know, we can accommodate you!

We have replaced our mattresses this month (October). So I'm sure you would again find comfort with our beds.

Card keys do not have a time out option on them, but can be de-activated should they come into contact with magnets, or sometimes cell phones. Simply return to the Front Desk, and we'll happily reactive your card keys at anytime.

I hope you do decide to return to the Fox Hotel & Suites. We would love to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The Fox is located near the beginning of Banff Ave so a lot less foot traffic. The Roam bus is just outside the door which takes you to all of the attractions. (free with a nights stay at the Fox). The shops on Banff Ave are an easy stroll away if you prefer to walk.
The basic room is a bit small but is cozy and clean. The beds & pillows are soft and comfy.
Chilis restaurant/bar is in the hotel which is convenient. Not a large selection but what they have is good & the service is top notch,
The hot tub looks like a cave which is really neat.
Would I stay here again? Absolutely..

Room Tip: Even if the low season popular hotels book up quickly. So if you want a room with a good view, book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#6 Family Hotel in Banff
#6 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff's newest Hotel! Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The new Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.