We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay, probably our last stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Fox Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fox Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Second stay, probably our last stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

First off, The Fox is a great hotel. So the title of this review should be taken with a grain of salt. We stayed in one of the top floor, two-storey loft rooms this time. The room overall is good, although nothing spectacular.

The good stuff:
Hot pools are great. Easily the best feature of the hotel. (although seriously, make the lockers free to use. Having to go all the way back up to your room for a quarter is very annoying).

The underground parking is clean and easy to get in and out of (they could install a mirror at the top of the ramp to help identify any oncoming traffic in both directions - my wife was very nervous driving up that ramp).

If you're new to Banff, the property is very easy to locate and super simple to just pull up in front, check in, and then park your car when you're all set with your room keys.

The bad:
The room key's seem to have a time out on them. We thought this was a one-off experience last year, but they did it again this year. It appears that the room key deactivates it's self after 48 hours or so. It's never just one key, either - it's always both, at the same time.

The pillows and mattress are just not very good. We thought maybe the bedding in the first room we stayed in last year was just due for replacement, but having the same experience in two rooms tells me this is probably the case property-wide. We actually left one night early as neither of us were sleeping well at all, so we forfeited $300 just to get a good nights sleep back home.

Overall this is a good property and we'd still recommend it, but we'll have to try a different place next time as it's just not for us any more.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. Although I'm trying to 'take it with a grain of salt', I am concerned that it may be your last visit with us. We value our guests, and always wish for repeat visits.

If you find our pillows too big and fluffy, a flatter option is available, please let us know, we can accommodate you!

We have replaced our mattresses this month (October). So I'm sure you would again find comfort with our beds.

Card keys do not have a time out option on them, but can be de-activated should they come into contact with magnets, or sometimes cell phones. Simply return to the Front Desk, and we'll happily reactive your card keys at anytime.

I hope you do decide to return to the Fox Hotel & Suites. We would love to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    777
    475
    133
    66
    24
See reviews for
434
704
27
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The Fox is located near the beginning of Banff Ave so a lot less foot traffic. The Roam bus is just outside the door which takes you to all of the attractions. (free with a nights stay at the Fox). The shops on Banff Ave are an easy stroll away if you prefer to walk.
The basic room is a bit small but is cozy and clean. The beds & pillows are soft and comfy.
Chilis restaurant/bar is in the hotel which is convenient. Not a large selection but what they have is good & the service is top notch,
The hot tub looks like a cave which is really neat.
Would I stay here again? Absolutely..

Room Tip: Even if the low season popular hotels book up quickly. So if you want a room with a good view, book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

what a fabulous place, the room was large and comfortable, the hot pool glorious. We ate in the restaurant for a very reasonable price and an excellent quality of food. Free bus passes allowed us to get out and about easily, breakfasts were excellent - make your own waffles, s new experience for us. Certainly somewhere i would go back to if i could just pluck up courage to fly again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

My husband and I just arrived home after staying 3 nights at this hotel in Banff in October 2013. We stayed in a King bedroom suite (no view) and found it very comfortable. The "living area" was a good size with a mini kitchenette (microwave, fridge, kettle, coffee machine), a table with 4 chairs, a love-seat (which acts as afold out bed) and another chair to lounge in. To reach the bedroom, you literally walk from the living room through the bathroom area - I found it odd that there was a door between the bathroom area (sink, mirror) and the living area but no door between the bathroom and bedroom. If someone was using the fold out bed, to access the bathroom you would need to intrude into the bedroom area - not a deal breaker for us, but again, I found it somewhat odd. Also, the living area has A/C but the bedroom does not, nor does the HVAC system allow for you to have a fan on in the bedroom. For people such as ourselves who like some "white noise" (such as a fan) while sleeping, we found the bedroom too quiet. So much so that when the street sweeper, buses and person blowing leaves (who does this at 8am??) started early in the morning, we could hear it loud and clear and it interrupted our sleep all 3 mornings. I would say that booking a room on the front of the hotel (which costs more money) would be even louder - for that reason alone I wouldn't book a room with a view. Aside from these small issues, the room itself was clean, the bed comfortable and the hotel itself lovely. It has a nice balance of wood, glass and stone in the lobby/main-floor, offers a decent continental breakfast daily until 11am, and the staff was friendly.

I will note that while the hot-tub/grotto was neat and very unique, due to location (in the basement) of the hot-tub and the out-door hallways to get to your room it was a little cold when you got out. We witnessed many people running down the hallways, dripping wet and freezing cold. Also, the only ice-machine was in the basement area also. Again, minor issues and they would not prevent us from staying at this neat hotel again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments. I am delighted to read you would stay again, and I hope to welcome you back soon. For future visits, please request a fan, for the white noise you and your husband appreciate. We can have this in your room, prior to your arrival.

Some guests do choose to dart from hot pool to room, dripping and cold, but this isn't only option. We do have change rooms equipped with towels, showers and lockers. Some guests shower, dry off and change back into their clothes to avoid getting cold. We also provide shampoo, conditioner, and hairdryers.

I look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Three night stay: excellent reservation handling; great, friendly, international staff; middle/small-sized, tidy, spartan room; decent location; everything worked; free breakfast nothing special; the heater was a little slow to start up; stain on a towel, stain on a bed sheet; minuscule exercise room; pool not really for swimmers ... the perfect picture of a 3-star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton-inAshfield, Notts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I booked the one bedroom loft suite for seven nights for my fiances birthday arriving from the UK. So glad I chose the Fox! It's so cozy. The room is clean and spacious. The breakfast was fine. I'm not a big eater but generally had toast, muffins, juice and coffee which kept me going till lunch. Chili's was great too for main meals and a drink or two! All the staff I met were friendly and helpful. Would I return...for sure!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments. It was great to have your as our guest, and I do hope we can welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis, MO, USA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Our stay here was wonderful-the king suite was like staying at a Swiss chalet with all of the amenities. We even convinced the bartender downstairs (at Chili's) to find the Cardinal baseball game on ESPN. Also, the hot tub was designed like a hot spring which was unusual and very well maintained. The complimentary breakfast was good, but improved when I noticed another guest enjoying Rice Chex, which is gluten-free. I asked her if she had brought it herself, she said no, just go into the kitchen and ask for it which I did.
Overall, this was a wonderful hotel for a 4 night stay in beautiful Banff, AB!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
It's very satisfying to read that we met your expectations! Just a note for others that may follow a gluten-free diet, we also have bread available on request. Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff's newest Hotel! Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The new Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.