We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favourite Hotel in Banff!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Fox Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fox Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“My Favourite Hotel in Banff!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I go to Banff with my friends, my family or my girlfriend, and I do so quite often. Fox hotel is the best one in the $100-$200 per night range. They have smaller rooms, but they are very cozy, well furnished, and are always clean! The best part is the "hot springs" cave, basically a very unique take on a hot tub and also very cozy. A sauna and a very cold shower are also in the cave. Always very relaxing, especially after a day of snowboarding or skiing. The location of the hotel is very central as well, walk to restaurants, shops, clubs. The fact that Chili's Texas Grill is in the lobby is a big bonus. The breakfast is usually very good, and if you want to have lunch or dinner - it's right there. I always recommend this hotel and most people love it, and I'm sure you will too! Stay here and enjoy Banff and the beautiful surroundings!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    777
    475
    133
    65
    24
See reviews for
434
703
27
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We have just returned from a 1 week stay at this hotel. We were a party of two couples so booked a two bed suite with balcony (room 319). It was very spacious with lots of storage. Rooms were nicely decorated and showers powerful. The black out blinds were welcome and the beds very comfortable. The only reason I have given sleep quality 4 stars is because the trains (which travel at all times of the night ) toot their horns to alert wildlife, this took a bit of getting used to, but is no fault of the hotel!!
We Hired a car and the car park was handy. Plenty of spaces.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful, both on reception and in the restaurant. The reception staff were happy to organise trips for us and could advise on where to see wildlife.
The hotel is a short (10minite) walk from downtown Banff which is no problem. We were given free bus tickets by the hotel so that was handy and a quicker way of getting about when we were pushed for time.
The food in the restaurant was good. We ate there twice. Be warned that the portions are huge!!
Breakfast was a nice continental buffet. Lots of fresh fruit, pastries, bread, waffles, yoghurt, cereals, cold boiled eggs etc. I was more than happy with this although some might want to see cooked meats and cheeses. It is served from 7 until 11 which is longer than a lot of hotels.
We are going to come back to the Rockies and will defInately stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Staying at the back of the hotel was probably quoted that facing the main road but you do hear the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed here in July 2013 for 2 nights. Suite was spacious, clean, modern and really comfortable. As we were still getting used to the change in time zones, bedroom could be darkened easily. Hot tub was great and kids loved it. Washing machines and driers available in central laundry- very handy. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Although it was a bit of a walk to the main shops and restaurants it was still really pleasant. Restaurant was good for breakfast but we went into the main part of town for dinner as there is so many restaurants.

Room Tip: Suites overlooking the rockies are just magical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had a room with stairs on the next street, no internal access and had to carry our suitcases up slippery steps in pouring rain! We booked the seniors rate so you would assume that we would have been given a more suitable room. We had no view as bedroom was in basement and view was of road. The stairs were very steep and we could not manage to take our cases down the stairs so left them upstairs in the living area. We stayed in a motel in Kamloops that was cleaner and brighter for less than a third of the cost of this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Having just come back from the Fox I would like to congratulate them on their outstanding service.

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. More than anything else the staff that run this hotel were incredibly friendly and helpful at all times even down to the cleaning staff. The place is very clean, the rooms are very comfortable and we found the hot pool and sauna very relaxing after our long days walking.

The restaurant attached to the hotel - chillis is fantastic. The food was good with huge portion sizes and the staff were also brilliant and made us feel very welcome. George the manager and Jen and Cheryl were all great and have made us want to return.

The location of the hotel is quite a walk out of Banff town but you can get buses if you don't want to walk. Also the lift in the hotel can take a while so be prepared to walk the stairs! We would definitely recommend a trip to lake Morraine just up from Lake Louise and also a walk up to Sundance canyon.

We will definitely be back to this hotel and to the rockys.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

My spouse and I stayed here for two nights on our first getaway alone since our son was born.

We stayed in the Premier King Loft facing the street. Here are some pros and cons of our experience:

Pros:
- continental breakfast
- hot tub/pool area
- room was extremely clean and well kept
- Fireplace
- Kitchenette
- free underground parking
- neat Banff townsite
- Balcony

Cons:
- hotel room had a lingering campfire smell
- no extra blankets in the room
- noisy kitchen exhaust from Chilis restaurant could be heard all day and night
- gym facility is lacking

Would I stay here or recommend to others? Absolutely! Not recommended for families but great for adults or parents with older children.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at the hotel 4 nights. This is a nice and new hotel. Our room was pretty dark though as there was only one lamp. The same counts for the bathroom. We have missed a spot light next to the mirror. Great warmed parking in the basement and hot pool. The gym was tiny. Very nice and informative staff. Generally great atmosphere. Breakfast was average in our European eyes. Each morning we had to ask for a stronger coffee as this.
Overall I would recommend this place. Nice and warm atmosphere.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff's newest Hotel! Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The new Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.