We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fox has nice suites for longer stays.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fox Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Fox Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Helen, Georgia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fox has nice suites for longer stays.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We booked a 2 level suite for 4 days. Asked for quiet Asked for a quiet area which it was. Two levels a little inconvient but extra space was nice. Breakfast was good with yogurt, fresh fruit and the usual. However, it never changed so a little tiring after a few days. All staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Woodway, TX
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

My wife and I started off our Canadian Rocky vacation here in a King loft Suite. The hotel is nice and it's location is convenient for exploring Banff and its many restaurants and shops. The room was comfortable and well equipped.

Room Tip: Note that the King Loft Suites don't provide sound separation between the living and sleep areas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CentexHokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed here one night in a one bedroom suite/loft room. It was, by my standards, very expensive for what you got...but as I said in another review...seemed like most things were more expensive in Canada!! The room was nice, nothing spectluar...bathroom was super small, bed super comfy, kitchen area really small. View...well there wasn't much of one...but the deck area was nice enough. The hot tub/rock pool area was a big hit with the family. The free breakfast at Chili's was not very good (and I not hard to please at breakfast), parking was a nightmare...very tight and small spaces and the entrance and exit are the same way along with a curvy blind spot....so, you just hold your breath that you aren't going to meet anyone coming in when you are exiting!! Room had a funny smell to it which I told them about when I checked out...didn't seem to care too much. Outside rooms which I am sure is fun in the winter time. I will say, somehow they knew it was my b-day and did offer me a bottle of wine...that was thoughtful! The couple behind us caught on to this and told them it was their anniversary and got a 2BR upgrade...would had rather of had that!! Overall, for the price (over $350) would not stay here again..has to be more resonable and nicer places to stay!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank love2go-va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm disappointed to read that you were not delighted with your stay. Our prices are very competitive, and when all is factored it, I am certain you will find great value in the Fox Hotel & Suites. We are Banff's newest hotel, we offer free breakfast, parking and wi/fi, some other hotels charge for these. We also offer Free ROAM bus passes. We will always try to make special occasions a bit more special with wine, or upgrades when available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Air conditioning? Hardly. We were extremely uncomfortable for our 4 night stay at the Fox. While it was difficult to get to sleep, it was also hard to stay asleep.

Housekeeping? I suppose at this hotel all that means is making the bed. I can't even be sure that they changed the sheets. Food left after housekeeping tended to our rooms (take out/room service containers too large for small garbage bins, so they were stacked on the table.)

Service? I made a few inquiries to the front desk only to be made to feel like a pest for the 30 seconds of attention required to answer my questions. Very unwelcoming, made me feel uneasy about inquiring further about anything else, or using the hotel services. I went elsewhere for spa services for this reason, after speaking to a number of the employees on D/S and N/S.

What I will say good about the hotel is the location, as others have mentioned it is close enough to walk into downtown yet far enough to be quiet at night. The mountain views from the balcony are lovely and the free parking (when there is space available) is nice (but we were left to park on the road on various occasions throughout our 4 night stay.) the young lady who checked us in was quite friendly and warm, it's too bad the rest of the workers weren't the same.

This was our first trip to Banff, although everything else was lovely and I would highly recommend it, I wouldn't do so for this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank b-xo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I appreciate the opportunity to respond. I am sorry to read you did not sleep well.

Our Housekeeping policy is to clean the room taking out garbage, make the bed, vacuum and bathroom cleaning daily. We change the sheets ever 3rd day, or on the day of check out. When guests have take-out containers of food, we do not toss them. We've made that mistake in the past! Some guests want to eat those left overs later. A quick call to our 24/7 Front Desk, and we certainly could have removed these for you. We also have a pen and paper in each guest room, and sometimes our guests leave us notes as to if they would like take-out containers removed.

I'm sorry to hear you wont' recommend us. We strive to impress each and every guest, and it is disappointing to read that we did not succeed with you. Service is of upmost importance. Never hesitate to ask for what would make you more comfortable, and discuss with management if you feel you are not getting the service you expect.

When given the opportunity, we will do our best to make things right!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night while in Banff. The first thing that we noticed was the wooden mountain rustic decor. There was only one person at the check-in desk, who I must say was very pleasant and accommodating despite working solo (and for long hours, we later realized). He accommodated our request for a quieter room. We stayed in room 422, which was towards the side of the property. No issues with noise (as others on Trip Advisor & Expedia noted in rooms facing the main road).
The hotel is interesting in that the rooms are situated around a central courtyard, which is exposed to the elements. The room we stayed in had partially obstructed views of the mountains to the rear of the property. The layout of the room is great, with a living room and kitchenette, complete with small fridge and mini coffee maker. There was even a gas fireplace, which would be lovely in cooler months. The suite had a safe, 2 televisions, a clean & comfortable bed, and a small but nicely appointed bathroom. I really enjoyed their toiletries, particularly the lavender hand & body soap!
The hotel is situated a short 10 minute walk from the downtown area. the hotel provides complimentary passes for the bus for those interested, which takes you to the gondola and other sites. We didn't make use of the pool, so I can't comment on it, but we did pass by the pool which has a unique grotto layout. There are laundry facilities, and a small business centre. It was convenient to be able to park our car in the underground garage for the duration of our stay.
Breakfast was continental style with vouchers provided upon checkin for redemption at the Chilis restaurant on site. There were waffles, hard boiled eggs, toast, fruit, cereal options, and yogurt. We would have liked if there were more hot food choices.
Overall we were very happy with our experience at the Fox hotel, & would probably stay there again if ever we have the chance to return to Banff.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbugEh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The rooms were very nice with a separate bedroom and a small kitchenette with all of the utensil and plates for any meals. There is lots of room to move around in the sitting for family's or friends. The hot tub was wonderful after a very long bike ride, that looked like a deep cave, which was very clean and the lockers had clean towels.

The staff were very helpful and very knowledgable and very friendly. It was great to have breakfast included. The views from the room were great, the train is a little loud at night. It was a great hotel would come back again.

Room Tip: Very close to downtown and is walkable distance from hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrizia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Large suite, great for families. It's a bit dated in terms of furnishings and such, but it was clean and the staff friendly. The hot tub "cave" is a fun little touch. It's (unfortunately) attached to a Chili's, and our street-facing room got a lot of noise at night with people talking very loudly, car doors slamming, etc. Overall it was an enjoyable stay for our family.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank natemalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.0 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 881 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#10 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,070 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#5 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#10 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing