We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the rank it has on this website.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Fox Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fox Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 33 hotels in Banff
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not worth the rank it has on this website.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Air conditioning? Hardly. We were extremely uncomfortable for our 4 night stay at the Fox. While it was difficult to get to sleep, it was also hard to stay asleep.

Housekeeping? I suppose at this hotel all that means is making the bed. I can't even be sure that they changed the sheets. Food left after housekeeping tended to our rooms (take out/room service containers too large for small garbage bins, so they were stacked on the table.)

Service? I made a few inquiries to the front desk only to be made to feel like a pest for the 30 seconds of attention required to answer my questions. Very unwelcoming, made me feel uneasy about inquiring further about anything else, or using the hotel services. I went elsewhere for spa services for this reason, after speaking to a number of the employees on D/S and N/S.

What I will say good about the hotel is the location, as others have mentioned it is close enough to walk into downtown yet far enough to be quiet at night. The mountain views from the balcony are lovely and the free parking (when there is space available) is nice (but we were left to park on the road on various occasions throughout our 4 night stay.) the young lady who checked us in was quite friendly and warm, it's too bad the rest of the workers weren't the same.

This was our first trip to Banff, although everything else was lovely and I would highly recommend it, I wouldn't do so for this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I appreciate the opportunity to respond. I am sorry to read you did not sleep well.

Our Housekeeping policy is to clean the room taking out garbage, make the bed, vacuum and bathroom cleaning daily. We change the sheets ever 3rd day, or on the day of check out. When guests have take-out containers of food, we do not toss them. We've made that mistake in the past! Some guests want to eat those left overs later. A quick call to our 24/7 Front Desk, and we certainly could have removed these for you. We also have a pen and paper in each guest room, and sometimes our guests leave us notes as to if they would like take-out containers removed.

I'm sorry to hear you wont' recommend us. We strive to impress each and every guest, and it is disappointing to read that we did not succeed with you. Service is of upmost importance. Never hesitate to ask for what would make you more comfortable, and discuss with management if you feel you are not getting the service you expect.

When given the opportunity, we will do our best to make things right!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,403 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    756
    447
    121
    58
    21
See reviews for
414
664
27
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night while in Banff. The first thing that we noticed was the wooden mountain rustic decor. There was only one person at the check-in desk, who I must say was very pleasant and accommodating despite working solo (and for long hours, we later realized). He accommodated our request for a quieter room. We stayed in room 422, which was towards the side of the property. No issues with noise (as others on Trip Advisor & Expedia noted in rooms facing the main road).
The hotel is interesting in that the rooms are situated around a central courtyard, which is exposed to the elements. The room we stayed in had partially obstructed views of the mountains to the rear of the property. The layout of the room is great, with a living room and kitchenette, complete with small fridge and mini coffee maker. There was even a gas fireplace, which would be lovely in cooler months. The suite had a safe, 2 televisions, a clean & comfortable bed, and a small but nicely appointed bathroom. I really enjoyed their toiletries, particularly the lavender hand & body soap!
The hotel is situated a short 10 minute walk from the downtown area. the hotel provides complimentary passes for the bus for those interested, which takes you to the gondola and other sites. We didn't make use of the pool, so I can't comment on it, but we did pass by the pool which has a unique grotto layout. There are laundry facilities, and a small business centre. It was convenient to be able to park our car in the underground garage for the duration of our stay.
Breakfast was continental style with vouchers provided upon checkin for redemption at the Chilis restaurant on site. There were waffles, hard boiled eggs, toast, fruit, cereal options, and yogurt. We would have liked if there were more hot food choices.
Overall we were very happy with our experience at the Fox hotel, & would probably stay there again if ever we have the chance to return to Banff.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The rooms were very nice with a separate bedroom and a small kitchenette with all of the utensil and plates for any meals. There is lots of room to move around in the sitting for family's or friends. The hot tub was wonderful after a very long bike ride, that looked like a deep cave, which was very clean and the lockers had clean towels.

The staff were very helpful and very knowledgable and very friendly. It was great to have breakfast included. The views from the room were great, the train is a little loud at night. It was a great hotel would come back again.

Room Tip: Very close to downtown and is walkable distance from hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed in a loft room on the fourth floor. This gave us separate rooms for sitting and sleeping as well as a balcony with a lovely view for morning coffee. The room also has air conditioning, which we have found is a real plus in the summer months when visiting mountain towns.

Check in was quick, efficient and friendly. We had free parking downstairs and an easy way to the elevator. While it was close enough for us to walk into Banff for our dinner, it was far enough away not to absorb the noise of the crowds later that evening. I also appreciated the comments in the welcome card reinforcing the value of quiet time from 11 pm to 8 am. While Banff is a fun place to party, we don't need to hear it in our hotel.

This was only one night, so I don't know what a longer stay might be like but if you aren't sure what hotel to stay in, this will be a good start. We'll definitely come back to this place next time we are in Banff.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Large suite, great for families. It's a bit dated in terms of furnishings and such, but it was clean and the staff friendly. The hot tub "cave" is a fun little touch. It's (unfortunately) attached to a Chili's, and our street-facing room got a lot of noise at night with people talking very loudly, car doors slamming, etc. Overall it was an enjoyable stay for our family.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Banff town is expensive and most of the hotels are overpriced. However Fox looks nicer than others, very helpful front desk staff. The included breakfast buffet is mediocre--like most breakfast buffets, after one or two days you get sick of the same old stuff. We had a two floor room with a bedroom and a pull out couch in the living room. Convenient location, close to the main stuff in town but a block or two removed from the main crazy chaos. If going to Banff town would stay here again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

im not staff first off. my now wife got engaged in Banff after a great day of dog sledding...the fox hotel was absolutely perfect.. great setting close to everything... check out the grotto ..massive hottube and steam room down stairs.. makes a -30 degree night perfectly warm in the water and steam...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Banff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#5 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff's newest Hotel! Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The new Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.