I'll start by saying that I had high expectations based on previous reviews posted here, from that of a family member that stayed, and for the high price of the room at $300+
What we liked:
1. Location is good, close to downtown Banff.
2. Hot tub/sauna area very relaxing as it is open air but looks like an underground rock cave. (not for small children, very hot...temperature probably 104 or 105 degrees)
3. The attachted Chili's restaurant is great and decent priced compared to options downtown.
4. Its quirky cabin style was fun and gave for a unique atmosphere.
6. The Rocky Mountain soap & other bathroom ammenities were nicer than average.
What didn't work so well for us:
1. We booked a suite as we needed 3 beds. What we didn't know was that the pullout (which is where our 3 1/2 year old was going to sleep), was on the main level of the suite, and the 2 beds were down a quite steep winding staircase. Obviously not a problem for all adults or older children, but this was not a good option for us. No fault of the hotel, but we didn't realize this before booking and couldn't change rooms due to capacity issues. Just wanted to state this for those travelling with small children.
2. The suite we stayed in was a walk up from the street. This was fine, but made for an akward trip to the hot tub as we had to go out the suite, down some stairs, around part of the hotel, in the elevator, and into the hot tub room. It was summer, but in mid winter I would not be a fan...
3. The "double" beds in the suite were quite smaller compared to some others that we have slept in. I'm short, but the taller members of our group had problems of legs hanging over the bed making for an uncomfortable sleep.
4. The free continental breakfast was the worst we'd experienced on a 10 day trip through various hotels in Alberta/BC. The area wasn't very clean, organized, or offered many options compared to numerous other hotels. The mixed fruit tasted spoiled, and many unaware folks put were putting yogurt on top of their waffles thinking it was whipped cream, only to throw them in the garbage. **Note to manager who will undoubtedly read this...Please move yogurt away from strawberries, thank you!***
I understand that $300+ per night is probably the norm in this touristy area, but, for the price I was disappointed compared to other places we've stayed, and so was the rest of our group.
I think that this hotel is quirky and unique and I can see why some people love it. I likely would have enjoyed it better if we weren't in this particular akward suite, but there was no other option at that time. I just think we made the wrong choice since we had our son with us, this would have been better with adults only. Live and learn.
The breakfast needs to be improved, especially considering the cost of the stay. We didn't sleep or eat as well as some $140 rooms we'd stayed in elsewhere, and while the decor was neat and the hot tub was nice it just isn't worth a return stay in my opinion, which is sad because I really wanted to be amazed with this place and am sorry to say I was not.
Not sure, didn't have a good room...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
August 22, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review. I am sorry to read you were not as impressed with the Fox as you had hoped to be. I do appreciate the comments about the things you did love about our property.
Report response as inappropriate
A couple of points for future travelers and our Trip Advisor readers:
This particular suite has the beds in the lower level, with the kitchette and living area on the main level. To have a look at floor plans and layout options, please visit our website. Due to the fact that we have several options to chose from, it is important that you choose the layout that best suits you, especially in high season, when we won't always have options to move you to.
The hot pool area has attached change rooms with lockers, showers, towels and hairdryers. There is no need to walk in your bathing suit from your room, so this isn't an issue in the winter time.
I will pass along your comments regarding breakfast to the General Manager of Chili's. I'm sorry you were not impressed with the selection, or quality of the complimentary continental breakfast.
I hope you will try us again for future visits to Banff, we have a variety of options to choose from. I am hopeful you will find a room to better suit your needs. Alternatively, have a look at some of our sister properties, which may suit your needs better. You can also find information about these properties on the Best of Banff website.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.