We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fox Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Fox Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
derwood, md
Level Contributor
113 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We loved it here. We had a suite with a balcony overlooking Banff Avenue and the mountains in the background. The room was very comfortable and a little pricey, but we would stay there again! They also offered a free continental breakfast.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    845
    562
    162
    78
    28
See reviews for
475
804
32
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Our superior suite was excellent with plenty of space for the four of us. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Would highly recommend making use of the hotels courtesy Roam bus passes as parking in Banff is limited. Chilies Diner within hotel really good too as were their leisure facilities. We are planning a return trip to Banff within the next couple of years and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thanks for your review! I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, our staff, our restaurant and our complimentary ROAM bus passes. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Fox Hotel & Suites. We had a standard room. We arrived late, after driving from Calgary. Nevertheless, the check-in was quick and efficient. The staff was friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Parking is conveniently located below the hotel. Our room was clean and comfortable. The beds were super cozy with feather beds and down comforters. The breakfast buffet was great with plenty of choices like cereal, fruit, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, waffles, toast, muffins, and juices. Our room had an adjoining door to another room. At times, we could hear the TV on in the other room, but it never proved to be a problem when trying to fall asleep. Similarly, rooms situated in the inner courtyard had some noise when people came back to their rooms. Again, it was a brief bit of noise in what was a mostly very quiet and comfortable place to stay. The location is within walking distance to shops and restaurants on Banff Ave., but far enough away to not hear any of the town noise. This hotel is a very good choice in Banff. We would happily return and recommend the hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for taking some time to share your review. I am pleased to read you appreciated the standards we have set, and you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm particularly thankful for your recommendation to family and friends. It is much appreciated. With Calgary just a hop, skip and a jump away, I'm hoping we can welcome you back again soon. Keep an eye on our website for upcoming special offers in October and November. A quick break from the city to the mountains is medicine for the soul!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Having a great stay at the Fox hotel and suites. Great location, free Wifi, free breakfast and free underground parking.
Easy access to all the park has to offer. Just a short 45 min ride from Lake Louise and Moraine Lake, two must see locations.
Friendly staff and great service.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I'll start by saying that I had high expectations based on previous reviews posted here, from that of a family member that stayed, and for the high price of the room at $300+

What we liked:

1. Location is good, close to downtown Banff.

2. Hot tub/sauna area very relaxing as it is open air but looks like an underground rock cave. (not for small children, very hot...temperature probably 104 or 105 degrees)

3. The attachted Chili's restaurant is great and decent priced compared to options downtown.

4. Its quirky cabin style was fun and gave for a unique atmosphere.

6. The Rocky Mountain soap & other bathroom ammenities were nicer than average.

What didn't work so well for us:

1. We booked a suite as we needed 3 beds. What we didn't know was that the pullout (which is where our 3 1/2 year old was going to sleep), was on the main level of the suite, and the 2 beds were down a quite steep winding staircase. Obviously not a problem for all adults or older children, but this was not a good option for us. No fault of the hotel, but we didn't realize this before booking and couldn't change rooms due to capacity issues. Just wanted to state this for those travelling with small children.

2. The suite we stayed in was a walk up from the street. This was fine, but made for an akward trip to the hot tub as we had to go out the suite, down some stairs, around part of the hotel, in the elevator, and into the hot tub room. It was summer, but in mid winter I would not be a fan...

3. The "double" beds in the suite were quite smaller compared to some others that we have slept in. I'm short, but the taller members of our group had problems of legs hanging over the bed making for an uncomfortable sleep.

4. The free continental breakfast was the worst we'd experienced on a 10 day trip through various hotels in Alberta/BC. The area wasn't very clean, organized, or offered many options compared to numerous other hotels. The mixed fruit tasted spoiled, and many unaware folks put were putting yogurt on top of their waffles thinking it was whipped cream, only to throw them in the garbage. **Note to manager who will undoubtedly read this...Please move yogurt away from strawberries, thank you!***

I understand that $300+ per night is probably the norm in this touristy area, but, for the price I was disappointed compared to other places we've stayed, and so was the rest of our group.

I think that this hotel is quirky and unique and I can see why some people love it. I likely would have enjoyed it better if we weren't in this particular akward suite, but there was no other option at that time. I just think we made the wrong choice since we had our son with us, this would have been better with adults only. Live and learn.

The breakfast needs to be improved, especially considering the cost of the stay. We didn't sleep or eat as well as some $140 rooms we'd stayed in elsewhere, and while the decor was neat and the hot tub was nice it just isn't worth a return stay in my opinion, which is sad because I really wanted to be amazed with this place and am sorry to say I was not.

Room Tip: Not sure, didn't have a good room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review. I am sorry to read you were not as impressed with the Fox as you had hoped to be. I do appreciate the comments about the things you did love about our property.

A couple of points for future travelers and our Trip Advisor readers:

This particular suite has the beds in the lower level, with the kitchette and living area on the main level. To have a look at floor plans and layout options, please visit our website. Due to the fact that we have several options to chose from, it is important that you choose the layout that best suits you, especially in high season, when we won't always have options to move you to.

The hot pool area has attached change rooms with lockers, showers, towels and hairdryers. There is no need to walk in your bathing suit from your room, so this isn't an issue in the winter time.

I will pass along your comments regarding breakfast to the General Manager of Chili's. I'm sorry you were not impressed with the selection, or quality of the complimentary continental breakfast.

I hope you will try us again for future visits to Banff, we have a variety of options to choose from. I am hopeful you will find a room to better suit your needs. Alternatively, have a look at some of our sister properties, which may suit your needs better. You can also find information about these properties on the Best of Banff website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Building: lovely wooden building with mointain views. About 15mins walk into Banff centre. Hot jacuzzi was fantastic after a day of running and hiking! Gym is EXTREMELY basic.

Food: breakfast was continental and yummy. Chili's evening food was average. No veggie food on the menu but they were happy to adapt dishes for you.

Room and service: I booked us another night at the hotel so we thought we would have to move rooms after night 1 but they managed to put us in the same room for the 3 nights - fantastic! We were in room 432 which had a lovely mountain view, queen bed and sofa. It was peaceful but sadly every 20 - 30mins the aircon would make a ridiculously loud rattling/banging noise! We tried turning it off at night but woke up because we were hot so put it on but then were woken everytime it made the noise - not good. They said maintenance looked at it and that it was working fine. We knew it was working OK but it continued to make this noise. On leaving they gave us a $40 discount for our lack of sleep which was nice. They also assured us it would be fixed for the next guests.

Banff: we loved the fab Mexican food in Magpie&Stump. Also, Touloulous was excellent - for breakfast or lunch. Always a little queue but so worth the wait - big menu of pancakes, waffles, french toast...burgers, seafood, meat... We went twice and had breakfast and pancakes - both delicious!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Fox Hotel & Suites and for sharing your comments. I am delighted to read you thought our hotel 'gorgeous', our employees 'excellent', and our complimentary continental breakfast 'yummy'. This is exactly what we strive for!

I am sorry to however, that you were disturbed by the AC unit. I am happy we were able to appease you with a discount. The AC unit in this room has since been addressed. I apologize for the inconvenience.

Hopefully you will make it back to Banff. We would love to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Codicote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Very well located hotel, with easy access by bus and foot to Banff town and activities. Very friendly, helpful service and good facilities. We sampled the cave pool which was good fun. I would certainly recommend The Fox for anyone visiting banff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your review, and for recommending us to anyone visiting Banff. I appreciate you recognizing our friendly, helpful employees. It is gratifying to read reviews confirming the efforts of our team. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.0 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 771 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 943 reviews
2.2 mi away
Rimrock Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
#8 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff's newest Hotel! Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The new Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.