We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the friendly Fox” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fox Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Fox Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Codicote, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“the friendly Fox”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Very well located hotel, with easy access by bus and foot to Banff town and activities. Very friendly, helpful service and good facilities. We sampled the cave pool which was good fun. I would certainly recommend The Fox for anyone visiting banff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your review, and for recommending us to anyone visiting Banff. I appreciate you recognizing our friendly, helpful employees. It is gratifying to read reviews confirming the efforts of our team. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    800
    505
    142
    70
    25
See reviews for
445
733
29
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Our room was a loft with the bedroom on the bottom floor and a living room and kitchenette on the top floor. The fact that we had a kitchenette as well as free parking, wi-fi and a free breakfast included with our stay, the fox definitely gave us value for our money! The beds were super comfortable and the ski lodge type decor made the room feel very cozy. I loved the replica "Cave and Basin" hot pool! They only thing we regretted is that we didn't stay longer. We will definitely be staying at the Fox again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Fox, and for sharing your comments. It pleases us to read your favorable review, and I am happy to read you found great value in the extras we provide for free.

I love your 'regret'. Hopefully you will allow for more time to relax here at the Fox Hotel & Suites, the next time you visit. We look forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We recently stayed at your hotel for 2 nights. We had a 2 bedroom superior suite booked and at the time of check in they gave us a upgrade to a 2 bedroom suite with a balcony and fireplace. The staff was very helpful and very friendly. I don't know if the hotel has any part of chili's restaurant BUT they really need to get air conditioning in the restaurant. It was a nice warm day when we were there and checked in at about 6pm or so and after a long 10 hour drive we were hungry and just decided to stay there for dinner. The 5 of us had sweat rolling down our faces. we asked the server if there was any way he could open the door to maybe get a breeze through he did but still very warm in there. We only ate there once cause we did not want to be uncomfortable during dinner again. The breakfast needs improvement as well we stayed in hotels for 10 days on our stay in Alberta the fox was the most expensive room by far and it was the least favorite breakfast out of the 3 hotel chains that we stayed at.
In a whole the room was very nice the staff was awesome and super friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at the Fox hotel during our recent visit to Banff and were extremely pleased with the stay. We were travelling for 2 weeks and in four different hotels and of all of them, I enjoyed the Fox the most. Our room was a 2 story loft with a king bed and bathroom on the upper level and a pull out sofa, kitchenette and fireplace on the first level. Coming from Florida, we were thrillled with the chilly mornings and evenings allowing us to use the fireplace! The service was wonderful. My husband has some back problems and when we asked them to replace the pillowtop on the bed, they replaced the whole mattress as well. Breakfast was very nice and had plenty of choices to keep us satisfied. The hot pool was a highlight and I wish we had more time to enjoy it. This hotel is very close to the downtown area and also a quick walk to the trailhead of Tunnel mountain which is a very nice and easy hike that we enjoyed as a family. I truly wish we had spent more time in Banff and at the Fox.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, Guest Relations Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
I am delighted to read that out of all the hotels in your two week holiday, the Fox was your favorite! It brings us all great satisfaction to hear our guests stay was enjoyable. It is our goal with each and every guest, and to receive confirmation is rewarding to us. I think you will have to make plans for a future visit. We would love to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Had a great 2 night stay in the Fox Hotel in Jul '13. We stayed in a one bedroom superior suite with balcony that was really nice, spacious & very well equipped. We had lunch in the Chili restaurant twice, which were good. The thing that stood out for us was the service, which was excellent. Everyone was so service orientated & whether it was the person on reception, the waitress in the restaurant or the room cleaner, they were all so nice, helpful, friendly & nothing was too much trouble.

If we come back to Banff on another trip, I would not hesitate in staying here again.

PS - We didn't use the swimming pool/spa, so I have not made a comment about this.

To all at the Fox Hotel - Many thanks for making our stay a great one.

Room Tip: Go for the one bedroom superior suite with balcony if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We spent 3 nights at this hotel and I recommend it. The staff is unfailingly friendly and helpful, the rooms clean, well maintained, and attractive. We had a suite with a king bed, and a living area with a sofa bed. The microwave, fridge and kitchen supplies (plates, cups, cutlery) were handy. A lovely little balcony looked out onto the mountains and it was a lovely place to relax in the evenings. The whirlpool area on the lower level is carved out of the rock and is unique - you can look up in the open area and see the sky, and it's just beautiful. one night there were no towels left in the locker rooms, but I asked a staff member and they got some immediately. The area was always kept clean. One of the few drawbacks to this hotel was that there was no regular pool. The hotel wasn't cheap, but nothing is in Banff in high season. I recommend this hotel for families and others as well - it's terrific!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We have been visiting Banff for many years and now we always stay at The Fox Hotel! The rooms are so comfortable, clean and impressive! The king loft is absolutely beautiful and the balcony is a breathtaking bonus. Tas, the Hotel Manager, is so kind, professional, and friendly. He goes above and beyond to make his guests feel welcome and appreciated. We always recommend this hotel to our family and friends and now, we are all Fox loyal!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review, and an extra big thank you for your loyalty! We truly appreciate our repeat guests, and as you know, Tas is great at making connections and lasting relationships! We appreciate you recommending us to your friends and family. We will look forward to welcoming them to the Fox Hotel & Suites as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#6 Business Hotel in Banff
#6 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff's newest Hotel! Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The new Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.