We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fox Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Fox Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2008

The Fox Hotel and Suites is a little gem in Banff. As a Travel Agent, I always looking to stay at the nicest properties and this one did not disappoint! Cleanliness is of utmost importance to me. We stayed June 3-6, 2008. When we first arrived, we noticed that our room had an odd odour. We opened the windows to let it air, then asked the room attendant the following morning if she could get rid of this strange smell. She told us they would have to investigate it and suggested that we change rooms. We didn't really want to do this as it was a beautiful room, well appointed and super clean! We went down to the front desk where Pete DuBeau the Front Officer Manager was working. He could not have been more gracious and accommodating. He immediately gave us another room with a small balcony on the same floor. Our original room was identical, but without the balcony. But, when we stepped inside, we noticed this room had the same odour! Back to the desk we went and Pete accompanied us up to the room to see if he could identify the origin of the odour. He identified it immediately as something to do with the new hardwood floors in the suites, and as these rooms are the newest and most recently completed, the odour from the installation had not yet had an opportunity to fully dissipate. He apologized to us again and upgraded us to the Premium Loft Suite, took us to the room himself to ensure all was okay, which it most certainly was.
We couldn't have been more pleased with how Pete handled our situation, ensuring that we were happy with our room. He is a credit to the staff at the Fox Hotel and Suites.
All in all, Banff is a wonderful place to visit and the Fox Hotel and Suites is a wonderful place to stay. The kitchenette area is perfect for making tea, coffee and snacks. If you are looking for a clean, comfortable, home away from home then look no further! For those of you who like the bathrooms to be like new - at the Fox Hotel and Suites you would think you are the very first guests to stay in your suite - what more could you ask for? We will definitely be returning in the future!
Thanks to Pete and the Fox Hotel and Suites for helping to make our stay a wonderful time.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, staff
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    825
    533
    148
    74
    28
See reviews for
462
763
30
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights in June. Beautiful little hotel. Free parking. Small but comfortable room. It was warm and there was no AC unless you are in a suite but the desk sent up a oscillating fan. Nice Hot tub as well and continental breakfast.

  • Liked — asthectics
  • Disliked — no A/C in regular rooms but they probably don't usually need it.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2008

Stayed for three nights at the start of a road trip across the Rockies, was absolutely spotless and staff were friendly & informative. The standard of furnishings makes for a pleasant stay and the complimentary breakfast was comprehensive. (Although complementary, the staff didn't turn a hair when one lady asked "Can I get some of this to go?" after eating her fill, and even supplied a box for her to make up her lunch!) The Kiwi barman was attentive & knowledgable and the whole experience was most enjoyable. Reception will happily supply you with free travel passes for the local bus service for the duration of your stay, which is useful if you don't like walking much,and also are mindful of Canadas zero alcohol limit for drivers. We would certainly recommend the Fox to anyone.

  • Liked — Cleanliness & service
  • Disliked — Distance from town centre
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2008

Did not especially like the central position of the basic room we had booked, we were shown other rooms and negotiated an up-grade to a premium loft at the back of the hotel, with mountain views . Good decision. Large double bed & 32" TV, bathroom & vanity area on the 4th floor. Well equiped kitchenette, large living area, cosy fire and another 32" TV in the downstairs area, also a balcony. So much space and light. Loved staying here.

  • Liked — Layout of room, views,complimentary breakfast, staff
  • Disliked — External staircases when it was raining
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2008

Great hotel.

We stayed there for two nights in May 2008. The place was beautifully designed and had an amazing big hot tub (you should skip the swimming pool style hot springs and just use the hot tun in the hotel). We got a small queen room, free parking and a basic contintental breakfast in Chillis for around £80 a night.

Our only niggles would be that the hotel is a good 10 minute walk to down town and the free wi-fi didn't work on our i-phone. The girl on reception was not helpful when we complained about it and simply told us to walk down to their sister hotel and try the wi-fi there. Customer service at check in was really good though. Apart from that, great hotel and would recommend staying there if you can get a good deal.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Spain
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2008

I took a punt on The Fox: I didn't want to stay at the Banff Springs, so relied on reviews here on tripadvisor. What a good choice that turned out to be. The Fox is a delightful hotel at a very reasonable tariff. It's a few minutes walk from the busy downtown area of Banff, handsomely built in stone, wood and glass. The building is constructed around a courtyard that is "open" at the bottom to the warm spring pool below the hotel, a most interesting configuration. The front desk staff are friendly and most helpful. The spotlessly-clean rooms are quite special: I had a loft suite, which was a vast duplex, with sitting/eating area with kitchenette downstairs, and bedroom/bathroom area upstairs. Each area has its own TV; there is an attractive gas fire downstairs. One wall is entirely glass, leading out onto a balcony. Beds are very comfortable. The restaurant is Tex-Mex (where prices are reasonable), but if that isn't to your taste there are dozens of restaurants within a few blocks. My stay here turned out to be one of the most enjoyable in over a month of travelling across Canada. Warmly recommended.

  • Liked — Rooms, service, price
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mijasab
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2008

Our family of four (includes two boys aged 6 & 4) enjoyed a great three day stay at The Fox in mid April. From the moment we arrived until the morning we left the service from the front desk would have been some of the best we experienced in our month long visit to the US and Canada. Only too happy to help with any questions we had or offering suggestions for our stay.

We stayed in a one bedroom unit (b/r downstairs/ ensuite downstairs) , living & kitchenette upstairs at street level. The rooms were very nicely appointed and the kitchenette was of a good size and enabled us to whip up an easy meal two(microwave meals).

The room was adjoining so depending on the geusts next door you can get some noise. The rooms adjoin at the kitchen but I would say the next door room was a studio with the bathroom joining to our kitchen. There was a group of teenaged girls using the hairdryer for 20 minutes or more one night!!.

The air con/heat pump units were quite noisy when they came on automatically and I would not have liked to have been sleeping on the sofa bed in the living area when that went off at night. Our boys shared one of the queen beds downstairs.

The spa in the cave downstairs with an open air top got plenty of use.

Chillis restaurant was okay, loved the bottomless basket of corn chips and salsa. I was impressed too they allowed me to take a tray of drinks back to our room too.

Complimentary brekfast is a plus and also a PC was available for internet access which is handy.

  • Liked — Clean modern and comfortable rooms
  • Disliked — noisy air con
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#6 Family Hotel in Banff
#6 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff's newest Hotel! Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The new Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.