We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fox Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Fox Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Another Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This was our fourth visit to the Fox. We used to stay at the Rundlestone, but found that it had become quite dated and the staff there were not particularly helpful. In the last 3 years The Fox has become our hotel of choice in Banff. Internet and parking are included which are not the case at other hotels. Also included is a continental breakfast which includes waffles. Very sufficient to keep you going to lunch or beyond.

Front desk staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. Check in and check out were without issue. Our room was clean and comfortable and we especially enjoy the foxes on the lights and the wallpaper. Definitely different that your standard hotel. My only complaint, if there is one about the room, is that the bath towels are pretty thin and small in size. We stayed at a Choice hotel in Edmonton on this trip and that is typically a lower end hotel. The bath towels were better there than the Fox.

The sauna and hot tub area is done in a grotto style with opening in the roof to the courtyard above. You definitely have to check it out even if you don't go into the hot tub. My wife loves it.

Have read a few reviews about the room being dated. Not sure what people mean by being dated. As mentioned above, the decor is very different than standard hotel rooms. I don't see that you can date this kind of decor. It is not like they have used shag carpeting from the 70s. This is a unique hotel that is very clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: A room with a street view is preferable over the side that faces the Delta Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    849
    574
    167
    81
    29
See reviews for
487
812
32
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Banff national park for few days and we stayed at Fox hotel. It has been a pleasant surprise! Free hotel pass to the city center, although at walking distance, excellent service and cleaning. godd breakfast, althought simple and little choise. What was astonishing was the swimming pool and Iacuzzi with warm water. A real extremely pleasant surpise!!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MN
Level Contributor
81 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The "Fox" basically met my expectations based on Trip Advisor reviews. We stayed in a one bedroom loft suite (4th floor) on the east side. A couple of comments on room 406. It was a warm summer day, and we basically could not open the window in the bed/bath area to sleep as it was very close to kitchen exhaust from Chili's. King bed is a "platform" (no box spring), which made a bit uncomfortable for us. "Blackout" curtains are provided, and needed to block early AM and late PM sun for sleep. Air conditioning does not reach the loft area from the living area. The view, while nice, was not worth paying a pemium for us. I arrived early and they were happy to check us in as room was available. Staff friendly and helpful. While we are not spa people, it was fantastic as many enjoyed.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at this pleasant family hotel. Our 1 bedroom suite was a good size and allowed us to spread out. We had little contact with staff except at check in and check out but they were efficient and helpful. The hotel provided a free continental breakfast, which was very limited, but sufficient to get you going for the day. Has a coin operated laundry on site, very useful when travelling! It's located on Banff ave, which is the main street, about a 10-15 minute walk from restaurants and shops. The decor is trying to be log cabinish, but is very dark, not to my taste at all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Great location in Banff. Our family stayed in a one bedroom suite. The room was dated and dark and in need of refurbishment. The positive was that it was clean! Decent continental breakfast and tasty coffee provided by Chili's. a satisfactory stay in Banff.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thanks for sharing your comments. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed the location, cleanliness and complimentary breakfast. The Fox Hotel & Suites is Banff's newest hotel, I'm sorry you felt it 'dated'. I hope you will choose the Fox for future travels to Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayport, New York
Level Contributor
131 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with the family and we had a great time. Staff were very friendly and room was clean. Location was good too just a short walk to all the restaurants and shops which is important with a toddler in tow. They have a hot tub and gym that guests can enjoy. Will definitely recommend.

Room Tip: The top floor has a nice view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altamont, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We recently stayed here for 1 night at $300 for a queen bed room, including breakfast for 2. It's nicely decorated and clean...but..no air conditioning, which I'm sure isn't usually an issue, but we were there during an unusually hot spell. So we left the one window open (no cross breeze) and the blind up to let in air, which also let in light and sound. Also, while the rooms face in on a courtyard which is very pretty, it also has an opening to the hot springs/tub area...nice to look at, but the sounds from it echo throughout the courtyard ,making it a bit noisy. No mini refrigerator in the room. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The issues here for us were all "structural" in nature, not service. There is a Chili's restaurant on the premises, with a reasonable buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.0 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 800 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 964 reviews
2.2 mi away
Rimrock Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#8 Family Hotel in Banff
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff's newest Hotel! Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The new Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.