We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Fox Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fox Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 33 hotels in Banff
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The only downsides that I can point at for this hotel are that the room we were given was rather small (but we fit in anyway) and the menu of the breakfast (included in the room price) was not very large, although it was more than sufficient to feed us until dinner. For the rest, I loved this hotel. The thing I like the most was the hot pool in the basement - relaxing there after a day in the national park is divine. The hotel is beautiful, very clean, and the staff is very friendly. Location is perfect: within short walking distance from town center, where food and entertainment can be found. An excellent choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,403 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    754
    448
    123
    58
    20
See reviews for
412
655
27
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, W. Sussex
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

First of all, great underground parking (at a fee) which was very convenient. Check in was smooth and there was a notice board in the reception area with information on road conditions etc due to the flooding (Banff itself didn't appear to have any issues when we were there) which was helpful. Really nice decor and I bet this place is amazingly cosy in winter. Only one elevator which was annoying at best due to the time it took to get anywhere. Good restaurant attached to the front which also doubled up as the breakfast room. Breakfast choice was good, with three waffle machines to make your own! As for the rooms, I was disappointed to find that the only windows look out on to the open air hallway out the front, so unless you want people to see you lounging around your room up close, there's very little natural light. Rooms were alot smaller than I had anticipated, but were nicely decorated (again, with winter in mind). The Fox theme can be seen throughout and we loved it. Getting from your room down to reception or out of the hotel was a bit of an ordeal, either wait for the elevator or find one of a few obscure stairways leading down to the lobby then street level. Our air conditioning didn't seem to work particularly well. I am nitpicking, in general we had a nice stay and a pleasant time, but i think it's a little overpriced for what you're getting. On the whole very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Most amazing hotel we've ever stayed at. Worth the money. Rooms were super clean, the staff were friendly and so helpful. Amazing view!!! Highlight of our entire trip!!! I would recommend this hotel to everyone!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
286 reviews 286 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous hotel just a little walk from the centre. We opted for one of the suites which was first class. Upstairs had sitting area, table and well fitted kitchen with microwave, fridge etc and bedroom downstairs contained two very comfortable beds. Breakfast of cereals, toast, pancakes and enough to set you up for the day. Staff were excellent and a hidden gem of a spa in the basement was an excellent way to finish the day. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We prepaid four nights online at this hotel, we do not recommend doing this.

Cons: Some of the front staff were rude and at times condescending, especially if asking about places to visit outside of Banff. We noticed the couch to be stained and chairs and rug to be worn with dust on the furniture and small bits of paper on the floor a metal spring probably from the couch. For the amount of money they are charging, you wouldn't think this would be the situation. Pointing this out to a manager, his response was "I know, you want it to be perfect", when in fact I do for $300 a night. Also, the AC did not work, although they did send somebody to repair it in a timely manner. The manager refused to refund our credit card because the room was prepaid online. His only solution was to either downsize a room without refunding the difference or upgrading to a larger room without increasing the rate. We weren't interested in either option, only in a cancellation, but that was not an option. When we were checking out, one of the front desk staff was having an argument with a teenager over a $15 credit card charge ... the boy said he was charged and the staff member demanded a receipt ... we thought the whole situation was not handled properly and it appeared unprofessional over $15. They should have just comped it instead of arguing in front of several hotel guests.

Pros: Some of the front staff were very nice and very helpful...the staff at breakfast were extremely nice and very accommodating. Chili's continental breakfast was okay, but there wasn't a big selection. It was chaotic at times with travelers' children running and playing tag around the breakfast bar. The bed was comfortable and we had a quiet night's sleep. We enjoyed the underground hot tub.

For the price, we do not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Do not prepay online...see the rooms first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback. I appreciate the opportunity to respond, and clarify a few points for future travelers.

I am sorry to hear you found some housekeeping issues, as well as service issues with the staff. This is certainly not typical, nor up to the standards we have set. I appreciate you bringing them to our attention.

In regards to a refund for your stay, you had been kindly advised to contact the third party through whom you made your booking (Expedia), in order to modify/amend the reservation. We understand you were not able to cancel your reservation with them and that you have been offered a complimentary upgrade to an even higher category room, which you declined. Had you made a reservation directly through us, we would have no problems offering you other options, I am sorry this was not the case.

I must point out, I feel it very unfair of you to bring up the situation of another guest disputing a credit card charge. You do not know the entire story, and it may have appeared as unprofessional to you, but you missed many of the details, and background story to this situation. There was another couple that did indeed hear the entire story, and was present for the entire event, and they personally commended the manager for handling the situation so tactfully. Without full details, I think it unfair to post any comment.

We strive for great guest service, and superior product to offer our guests. Feedback and reviews show us that we are successful most of the time.

I am very happy to hear you had an quiet restful sleep, enjoyed the hot pool, and found the breakfast staff extremely nice. I am sorry however that we missed the mark on the points you have mentioned. Rest assured that I will follow up with my team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We were in Banff at the beginning of the Alberta floods, and the day that we were scheduled to leave for Jasper instead we had to scramble our plans and stay in Banff. The highway to South was destroyed, the alternatiive route South was at least temporarily out, and there was a mudslide just to North of Banff. So, there was no way out.
The management at Fox, along with the management of Chili's which shares the building, was very accommodating and reassuring. We easily secured our room for another day or two or whatever it would take, and with other guests we huddled around the bar to get TV and website updates. Management assured us that the food supply was adequate for the emergency, although that was less true at other hotels and restaurants.
To make the best of a very rainy day, we enjoyed the spa at a neighboring but affiliated hotel. Highly recommend that spa. Think it was called, "Red Tea Spa" or similar.
Fox Hotel also has a hot spring in the atrium to the hotel, which is unique and enjoyable.
I recommend the Fox Hotel to any visitors to Banff. The facility was clean and pleasant. The lobby fireplace was inviting. My only criticism would be that the walk to the center of town was a little long, but on the other hand the hotels that we passed along the way did not seem to be as nice.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the inside atrium view which looked down upon the hot spring.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyde, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The Fox Hotel was allocated by Canadian Affair as part of our tour of the Rockies and Alaskan Cruise. The hotel was well positioned just on the edge of town with good secure parking under the hotel. The rooms were excellent and well maintained, the staff were so helpful and were so good in recommending places to visits during our limited two days in Banff supplying maps and brochures and sites to see some of the local wildlife. They had a very good restaurant, Chilli's which had a good choice of dishes to suit most needs whether a quick snack or something more substantial. Thanks to all at the Fox Hotel & Suites who made our stay very enjoyable

Room Tip: We had a standard room which was very good so paying for upgrades may not be necessary as these are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Banff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#5 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff's newest Hotel! Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The new Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.