We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and Charming!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Fox Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fox Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 33 hotels in Banff
Gardena, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Cozy and Charming!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My family and I along with 75 of our friends took a group trip to Calgary, Canada last Sept 2012 and stayed at Fox Hotel & Suites at Banff. This trip was so much fun and memorable. Not only did we pack this hotel with our friends everywhere but we had a mishap where we had to be evacuated from our suite into another one because of the fire sprinkler from one of my friend's room setting off and flooding our room.
This place had a barn, rustic, wooden decor. Very cozy and charming from the inside and out. Our room was a 2 story suite although small in size it's comfortable. It has a full size pull out sofa and 2 queen beds downstairs. This hotel has an elevator service from the parking garage to the lobby. I actually requested a lobby level room so that I don't have to pull luggage around. Next time, I will want to request a room just outside of the lobby instead of the rooms around back and also take a 2 bedrooms instead of 1.They have a cave like sauna and hot tub, parking is so accessible and they have an onsite Chili's restaurant for all of us to eat, drink and hang out. Breakfast is included and the staff is very friendly and patient. The hotel is located so close to downtown Banff that you can actually walk it.
My family and I plan to go back here again because there are so many things to do that 4 days is not enough. I will definitely recommend this place if you're looking for something affordable but yet upscale enough to accommodate a family of 5.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,386 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    748
    442
    120
    56
    20
See reviews for
404
647
27
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napanee, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I cannot say enough good things about my recent stay at the Fox! I was so fortunate as to have had a corner suite which offered two stupendous views, one from a roomy balcony c/w french doors leading to it (it also had perfectly comfortable chairs and a little table for convenience) and the other from what I would call the dining room (as I put the table and chairs under that window rather than by the kitchenette, so when eating in, there just couldn't be much better of a backdrop than the mountain view!). Gas fireplace completed the cozy factor, bedroom was very spacious and the bed was extremely comfortable. Two tv's available - one in living room area, other in bedroom. Great selection of channels available. Vault in hall closet available. Everything one could think of needing or wanting was there. If I had any kind of complaints, they would be as insignificant as there being only one ice machine (at least that I'm aware of) on the lower level and/or the manoeuvrability in the underground park-ade however any parking garages I've been in, in Banff, have the same issue, tight. Otherwise, an AMAZING place to stay. The hot tub/spa is great - I think a swimming pool would be nice as well if there was space for one. The change rooms for the spa are excellent as well. Laundry facility c/w computer is great. Proximity to downtown is perfect, lobby and Chillis Restaurant are wonderfully done, breakfasts were GREAT, staff was friendly and helpful and I will most certainly return there whenever I can!!

Room Tip: Corner suite is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had a brilliant time here at the fox - as we were on our honeymoon, our kind bridesmaid had informed the hotel and they left us a lovely note with a lovely bottle of wine. A really kind touch. The room was cosy, clean and had a brilliant view of the mountain across the road. Stunning! The hotel also had a very cool grotto/hot springs area which was great after a day of exploring. We would definitely recommend this hotel and send a massive thank you to the staff for making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed here end of may. Hotel is a short walk into town. Reception, bar area & foyer well appointed. Our group of 6 adults arrived in evening. Staff seemed a little frazzled with the amount of luggage we had (2 bags each) . No official bell boy but check in manager moved luggage to our rooms, which made up for his very poor attitude when we checked in. Pleased to say he was quite nice in days to follow. Room we were allocated was 1 br suite but sadly the bedroom was 1 level down some very steep & narrow stairs. Room upstairs a bit small for 3 adults. We were moved to a single level room when asked and this was a great room with separate sitting & kitchenette . Bedroom had a great view of the mountains and street in front. Beds were very comfortable & cleaning staff were very good and friendly unlike our Montreal experience .

Hotel has its own mineral spa which was great after a long day out. Chillis restaurant & bar is a great place to hang out after the long days, cocktails were good with great service. Jennifer provided really friendly service...which saved the day after our less than welcome check in experience.

Breakfast is very good, with a good selection of continental goodies, waffles were great BUT the best part was the excellent service provided by the breakfast staff especially the man from Perth, Ryan I think. You guys were exceptional... Thank you for making us feel welcome n at home.

Safeways is a 7 min walk into town, town centre is a comfortable n pretty 10 min walk.
Hotel has its own coin operated laundry for guest, which great when staying here for a few nights.

I would be very comfortable in returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask if your suite is all one level as corner rooms have steep narrow stairs down to the dark bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

My family and I spent 3 nights in at The Fox mid week in early June, our stay was great. The Room: a Superior One bedroom- two level suite with bottom floor consisting of 2 double beds & bathroom, & a flat screen TV, it was a comfortable room for my wife & 2 small children. The upper floor consisted of a modest kitchenette (Fridge, sink, microwave, & coffee maker), this turned out to be a necessity for us and our 3 & not yet 1 year old (glad we upgraded). The upper floor also consisted of a dining table & chairs, a hide-a-bed sofa, & flat screen TV; very cozy but adequate size, clean, & well cared for. Amenities: the Fox was well equipped for any type of stay; small Gym, underground parking, beautiful Lobby, & best if all "The Cave"... a fantastic Hot pool with a cave theme that our entire family thoroughly enjoyed (definite highlight). Eats: Chilies Restraunt was the spot that offered a great lounge & dining area, huge big screen for the hockey game and friendly accommodating staff. The Chilies also hosted the daily complementary continental breakfast, that offered your typical pastries, cereal, fruit, boiled eggs, & juice; but the great perk on the menu was the make your own waffle station.
Overall I would highly recommend the Fox for any type of stay; staff was great, location perfect walking distance from most Banff townsite has to offer (2-3 blocks away from the heart of Banff ave), pool was brilliant, & rooms were modern, clean, adequate. The price was comparable to the rest of Banff options, not great but competitive.
Thank you Fox for the great family getaway!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The Fox is a wonderful hotel with beautifully appointed rooms, conveniently located near downtown, a lovely breakfast included at the hotel restaurant, as well as a beautiful, unique, grotto style hot tub. My room was initially located in an isolated area of the hotel. Since, I am recently widowed, I mentioned that I was not comfortable in such an isolated room. The hotel manager was quick to rectify this, by moving me to a more central location which I preferred. I was delighted, also, that my room was upgraded to a two bedroom suite. I will definitely stay at the Fox, again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thanks for sharing your experience! I am delighted to hear you enjoyed all the Fox has to offer. I'm also pleased to hear we were able to accomodate your needs and upgrade you to a suite you were more comfortable in. Our goal is provide accomodations and service that our guests rave about. It's great to see we've succeeded with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Nice place friendly staff but the bed we were given was like it was filled with straw. unless it was just our room you get a lumpy old mattress that is completely shot that they try cover up with thick mattress protector.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thanks for sharing your feedback. I will certainly look into this, and change out the bed for a new one. Our hotel opened almost 6 years ago, with brand new mattresses, and we've been changing them out as needed. This fall we will replace the reamaing mattresses with new ones. A comfortable nights sleep is a big priority for me when I stay at hotels too. I'm really sorry you did not have one with us. Thanks again for letting us know, so we can address it. Please feel free to contact me directly when booking your next stay. I will personally ensure your comfort here at the Fox.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Banff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#5 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff's newest Hotel! Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The new Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.