We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel with good amenities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fox Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Fox Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very good hotel with good amenities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed here end of may. Hotel is a short walk into town. Reception, bar area & foyer well appointed. Our group of 6 adults arrived in evening. Staff seemed a little frazzled with the amount of luggage we had (2 bags each) . No official bell boy but check in manager moved luggage to our rooms, which made up for his very poor attitude when we checked in. Pleased to say he was quite nice in days to follow. Room we were allocated was 1 br suite but sadly the bedroom was 1 level down some very steep & narrow stairs. Room upstairs a bit small for 3 adults. We were moved to a single level room when asked and this was a great room with separate sitting & kitchenette . Bedroom had a great view of the mountains and street in front. Beds were very comfortable & cleaning staff were very good and friendly unlike our Montreal experience .

Hotel has its own mineral spa which was great after a long day out. Chillis restaurant & bar is a great place to hang out after the long days, cocktails were good with great service. Jennifer provided really friendly service...which saved the day after our less than welcome check in experience.

Breakfast is very good, with a good selection of continental goodies, waffles were great BUT the best part was the excellent service provided by the breakfast staff especially the man from Perth, Ryan I think. You guys were exceptional... Thank you for making us feel welcome n at home.

Safeways is a 7 min walk into town, town centre is a comfortable n pretty 10 min walk.
Hotel has its own coin operated laundry for guest, which great when staying here for a few nights.

I would be very comfortable in returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask if your suite is all one level as corner rooms have steep narrow stairs down to the dark bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    801
    507
    142
    70
    25
See reviews for
445
735
30
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood Park, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

My family and I spent 3 nights in at The Fox mid week in early June, our stay was great. The Room: a Superior One bedroom- two level suite with bottom floor consisting of 2 double beds & bathroom, & a flat screen TV, it was a comfortable room for my wife & 2 small children. The upper floor consisted of a modest kitchenette (Fridge, sink, microwave, & coffee maker), this turned out to be a necessity for us and our 3 & not yet 1 year old (glad we upgraded). The upper floor also consisted of a dining table & chairs, a hide-a-bed sofa, & flat screen TV; very cozy but adequate size, clean, & well cared for. Amenities: the Fox was well equipped for any type of stay; small Gym, underground parking, beautiful Lobby, & best if all "The Cave"... a fantastic Hot pool with a cave theme that our entire family thoroughly enjoyed (definite highlight). Eats: Chilies Restraunt was the spot that offered a great lounge & dining area, huge big screen for the hockey game and friendly accommodating staff. The Chilies also hosted the daily complementary continental breakfast, that offered your typical pastries, cereal, fruit, boiled eggs, & juice; but the great perk on the menu was the make your own waffle station.
Overall I would highly recommend the Fox for any type of stay; staff was great, location perfect walking distance from most Banff townsite has to offer (2-3 blocks away from the heart of Banff ave), pool was brilliant, & rooms were modern, clean, adequate. The price was comparable to the rest of Banff options, not great but competitive.
Thank you Fox for the great family getaway!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The Fox is a wonderful hotel with beautifully appointed rooms, conveniently located near downtown, a lovely breakfast included at the hotel restaurant, as well as a beautiful, unique, grotto style hot tub. My room was initially located in an isolated area of the hotel. Since, I am recently widowed, I mentioned that I was not comfortable in such an isolated room. The hotel manager was quick to rectify this, by moving me to a more central location which I preferred. I was delighted, also, that my room was upgraded to a two bedroom suite. I will definitely stay at the Fox, again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thanks for sharing your experience! I am delighted to hear you enjoyed all the Fox has to offer. I'm also pleased to hear we were able to accomodate your needs and upgrade you to a suite you were more comfortable in. Our goal is provide accomodations and service that our guests rave about. It's great to see we've succeeded with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Nice place friendly staff but the bed we were given was like it was filled with straw. unless it was just our room you get a lumpy old mattress that is completely shot that they try cover up with thick mattress protector.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thanks for sharing your feedback. I will certainly look into this, and change out the bed for a new one. Our hotel opened almost 6 years ago, with brand new mattresses, and we've been changing them out as needed. This fall we will replace the reamaing mattresses with new ones. A comfortable nights sleep is a big priority for me when I stay at hotels too. I'm really sorry you did not have one with us. Thanks again for letting us know, so we can address it. Please feel free to contact me directly when booking your next stay. I will personally ensure your comfort here at the Fox.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This hotel is beautiful! Probably one of the prettier ones in Banff -- and the hot tub is completely out of this world...

However, we booked into this hotel for three nights, hoping for some good sleep after long days of travelling. Unfortunately there are MANY rooms that do not have air conditioning -- ours was one of them. If you want A/C you'll need to book one of the more expensive suites (at around $200). We called down to front desk, and they said they have central air in those rooms, but it was currently turned off. We tried to sleep with the window open, but the noises outside were far too loud.

Another thing that contributed to our lack of sleep was the paper thin walls and doors which ajoin the rooms. No, the people next door weren't noisy. In fact, they were speaking normal conversation levels and we could hear them perfectly clear! This was not nice when they were packing up at 5AM and looking for a pair of socks.

If you don't mind a stuffy room with no air flow, and hearing your neighbors go about their business... then this is the hotel for you!

We booked it because of the high rating on tripadvisor. We've stayed at Super 8's for a third of the price, and even they have A/C and quiet rooms!

One really gross thing -- hopping in the shower on our first day and seeing a big booger on the shower curtain -- I suppose it is easy for housekeeping to miss, but nontheless, very disgusting!

Appreciated the free bus pass for the three days we were in the city! Be sure to ask at front desk for it!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for your free bus pass for Banff! Also, book a suite if you need A/C to sleep, or yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Room on 4th (top) floor. Lift very slow but plenty of stairs. Built to resemble a European alpine hotel and fits the bill for that. Rooms very dark and the decor needs lightening up to make the rooms lighter. One window which overlooks the internal courtyard and very poor lighting inside the room - one small ceiling light, tucked away in one small corner of the room. Bathroom a bit on the small side but everything was clean and to an expected standard. Breakfast included in our deal - toast, eggs,waffles and plenty of fresh fruit. Very nice.
All staff very friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: Ask to see your allocated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments. I'm pleased to read you enjoyed both our staff and our complimentary continental breakfast. Some of our rooms have been described as being rather dark. We are currently looking at options to brighten them up. We appreciate your business, please don't hesitate to mention that you are looking for a bright room when booking again. We have plenty of rooms with lots of natural sunlight, and floor to ceiling windows as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This was probably not the best hotel for us to choose, but to rate it poorly because of that would seem unfair. The suite (luxury king with balcony) was very spacious and extremely well-equipped. It was good to be able to relax there after a tiring day. It had a safe, free tea and coffee (included a kettle, not just a coffee maker - English guests take note of this bonus), fridge and microwave. The staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. They booked us activities, answered queries and sorted out the internet for printing boarding passes.
The situation on Banff Avenue is not conducive to a peaceful atmosphere. We didn't want to sit on the balcony we had paid for - it overlooked a busy road, traffic rushing past all the time - not at all a place to relax. The restaurant and bar are also noisy and bustling - popular - nothing wrong with that - but it is a sports bar, not somewhere for the middle aged to enjoy a quiet drink. So, maybe we should have picked somewhere out of town, but that is not the hotel's fault. It was excellent in its own way - maybe not just our way!

Room Tip: If you can get one that doesn't face the main road, that would be a good idea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with the Trip Advisor community. It is great to read that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful, and I'm alos pleased to read you felt the room spacious and well equipped. Banff Ave, is definitly the busier street. Perhaps you would have enjoyed facing Fox Street, or Cougar? For those guests looking for a more intimate dining experience, I would suggest the Caribou Keg, or Downtown Keg locations. The Caribou Keg is only a 2 minute walk away, and you can take the free bus to the Downtown Keg location. Both are a bit quieter and more intimate, and you can even sign the charges back to your room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#6 Family Hotel in Banff
#6 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff's newest Hotel! Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The new Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.