We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic trip and perfect Hotel. Clean Friendly and Fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Fox Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fox Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 33 hotels in Banff
Fort McMurray, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic trip and perfect Hotel. Clean Friendly and Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

My wife and I make several trips to Banff every year and have stayed at many different Hotels in the area. The Fox has been the most convenient and comfortable location yet. We have stayed at the FOX a few times now and have had a great stay every time. Good location, friendly staff and the best nights sleep I have had in a long time. We had a suite that included a living space and kitchenette that made the time in our room much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,405 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    755
    449
    123
    58
    20
See reviews for
412
657
27
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

My husband and I eloped to Banff last weekend and with the weather being so unpredictable, we wanted a room that would be pretty enough to be married in if necessary. The weather didn't cooperate so we were married in the room and had pictures taken on the balcony. When we first checked in and told the staff we were getting married the next day, they surprised us with a bottle of wine delivered to our room. The room itself was beautiful, rustic, cozy and very romantic. We had a king loft suite facing the main road which I was happily surprised to see beautiful scenery from all of the windows and the balcony. Everything was spotless and the bed was fantastic, very comfy. The grotto pool was lovely as well though I did wish it was open a little bit later. The complimentary breakfast was also a nice touch.
My only complaint was that the housekeeping staff woke us at 8:30 Sunday morning and returned to knock on the door four more times before ten am. We had arranged a 1:00 check out time so that was a little frustrating as we are busy parents so being able to sleep in is a luxury :) Regardless of the super efficient cleaning staff, we were still very happy with the stay.
My family travels regularly to Banff for weekend getaways, we have stayed in the majority of the hotels there and I have to say the Fox is our new favorite! The front desk staff were kind, down to earth and very helpful. I would suggest the loft suites, for the slightly extra cost the space and gorgeous room are well worth it. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Congratulations once again on your marriage! I hope you will make the trip to Banff for yearly to celebrate your anniversary.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am sorry you were disturbed by our Housekeeping Team while trying to sleep in. For future stays, we do provide a Do-Not-Disturb sign, to alert our housekeeping department that the room is to be servivced later.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

The gang at the Fox are working hard at being number one. Managers Tim and Tas are always willing to help make the stay awesome. Got a great rate and even a complimentary upgrade. They will even book you and check best rates at their sister resorts if availability is tight. The Grotto (hot tub area) is nice at the Fox but better and cleaner at the Banff Caribou Lodge. Rooms top notch in both resorts.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We opted to stay again at the Fox as we had stayed there previously in 2009. As before the staff were helpful and always willing to assist as they could, very polite and are a credit to the hotel.
We booked a suite as we were traveling with our teenage son and so we wanted him to have some of his own space. On arrival we were allocated a room with a separate sitting room with a sofa bed. The room that was a suite but had to go through the main bedroom to get to the bathroom. This was not ideal so we asked if there were any alternative. The staff on the front desk checked and subsequently advised us that if we could stay there for one night they could move us for the rest of our stay (14 nights) in to a suite where the bathroom being in the middle of the two rooms with was more suited to our needs. We agreed and this subsequently happen, this was a lot better and great service by the hotel staff.
We noticed that the hotel in places is looking a bit tired and really needs a programme of redecoration, as when we stayed in 2009 in did not look like this but 4 years on it does now. The complimentary breakfast is of a good standard but can get quite repetitive when staying for a long duration like 14 nights. This could I believe be enhanced by changing some of the offerings even if this still needs to be a cold offering i.e. cereals, cold meats, fruits, etc. It would really be good if a hot offering was offered even if there may be an extra cost that guest can opt in to.
Over all a good stay and I am sure we will be back sometime soon

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This motel was very clean and within walking distance of restaurants and shopping on Banff Ave. The room was rather small for two people, but we were only there for 1 night. The staff were very friendly. It was great to come into the lobby with its fire burning after being out in the cold!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I'm kind of an expert about Fox hotel by now, have been going to Fox since about 4 years ago and still loving it. This is the only hotel I would recommend to stay in Banff town. Great romantic place for couple or anniversary kind of thing. Convenience location for travelers!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The hotel front desk was always friendly and willing to help. The pool was very different in a good way, however it needs to be warmer. It's like a warm tub not a hot tub. Maybe 94 degrees if lucky. All in all the reviews are correct. Downside try not to get the balcony facing the street. Woke up twice between 12 am and 3am on Friday night. Saturday it was fine

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Banff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#5 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff's newest Hotel! Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The new Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.