We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome staying in Banff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Fox Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fox Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 33 hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Awesome staying in Banff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I'm kind of an expert about Fox hotel by now, have been going to Fox since about 4 years ago and still loving it. This is the only hotel I would recommend to stay in Banff town. Great romantic place for couple or anniversary kind of thing. Convenience location for travelers!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,434 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    762
    462
    125
    61
    24
See reviews for
428
677
27
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
edmonton
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The hotel front desk was always friendly and willing to help. The pool was very different in a good way, however it needs to be warmer. It's like a warm tub not a hot tub. Maybe 94 degrees if lucky. All in all the reviews are correct. Downside try not to get the balcony facing the street. Woke up twice between 12 am and 3am on Friday night. Saturday it was fine

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We enjoyed our stay for four nights at the Fox Hotel. We had a two bedroom suite, and the accomodations were perfect. Everything was clean, and we felt very comfortable. We were traveling with other family members, and the staff made sure that all of our rooms were in close proximity to one another. We loved having plenty of space to hang and organize all of our skiing clothes. We also enjoyed the hotel's proximity to all of the local restaurants. It was wonderful being able to walk everywhere. The kids loved the cave/hot springs whirlpool. It was unique, clean, and a great way to unwind after a long day of skiing. We will definitely consider staying at this hotel again when we return to Banff in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, Connecticut
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Expected a lot less and got a lot more. Underground FREE garage for the car was nice on the cold evening. The hot tub and whirlpool is beautifully designed and very comfortable. The rooms all have outside protected entrances in a rustic setting and, although not very large, are very adequate. The staff were very good and always attentive. The decor is fitting for the area and the restaurant/bar on premises is a plus (although we didn't use it except for breakfast). Breakfast is minimal but there are places downtown if you want to have something else. I didn't check the bed but I believe there was a feather bed cover or something that made it wonderful to sleep on. (I should have checked out what it was to adequately give this review....you will have to check it out and let me know what it is).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Fox for 6 nights recently and loved it. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. We upgraded to a one bedroom suite once we arrived and are very glad we did. It was huge and had a kitchen area so we could make lunches and store food in the fridge to take to the hills. The hot tub and sauna were perfect after a day of skiing. The room was very clean and perfectly maintained. The free underground parking was great as were the ski lockers and free use of a lock for these lockers. We filled ourselves with a wonderful breakfast each morning before leaving for the hill. I was thrilled to see fresh healthy food, hard boiled eggs, yoghurt, fruit and then some must have treats like fresh waffles:) excellent value! I will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
It was great to have you as our guests! I'm thrilled to hear we exceeded your expectations. This is exactly what we strive for with each and every guest. It brings us great pride to hear you felt our property offered exceptional guest service, as well as great value. I will certainly be sharing your comments with our team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundre, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is rustic, but elegant. Great friendly staff were very helpful attending to our needs. We stayed here as a group of 4 ladies on a girls weekend away. We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom suite (the second bathroom was a definite bonus!). One bedroom was two double beds, the other a king bed and there was a pullout couch in the living room too.

The kitchen was sufficient for our needs with a sink, fridge and microwave and a small dining table.

The cave & basin is a hot tub of sorts with attached sauna. It was a great way to soak away the sore feet after a day of shopping in Banff! Part of the cave is open to the outdoors, so you can sit in the warmth of the hot tub with the snow falling down around you.

There is a Chili's restaurant and bar located within the hotel, which is where the free complimentary breakfast is served.

We will certainly be back to the Fox Hotel for our next girls weekend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed just overnight on a road trip from Jasper to Vancouver. We stayed in a loft suite, which was perfect for the two of us - warm, cosy and beautifully furnished, with a view of the surrounding mountains from every window. It is a nice walk from the centre of town, perfect to walk off a great meal from one of the fabulous restaurants in town. Staff were friendly and efficient, and I would definitely recommend the Fox as a place to stay in Banff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#5 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff's newest Hotel! Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The new Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.