We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View from Every Room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Fox Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fox Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Queensland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“View from Every Room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed just overnight on a road trip from Jasper to Vancouver. We stayed in a loft suite, which was perfect for the two of us - warm, cosy and beautifully furnished, with a view of the surrounding mountains from every window. It is a nice walk from the centre of town, perfect to walk off a great meal from one of the fabulous restaurants in town. Staff were friendly and efficient, and I would definitely recommend the Fox as a place to stay in Banff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    776
    475
    133
    64
    24
See reviews for
433
703
27
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel was spotless and all of the staff were very helpful. There for business and the Chilis located in it was a great meeting place. The hot tub was absolutley fantastic! Would definitly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Three friends stayed here in March, 2013 for a ski trip to Sunshine and Lake Louise. Since there aren't condos to rent in Banff like there are in Whistler, this was the closest thing. Perfect accommodation for 3-4 adults, or even 2 families. Upstairs, there is a big bedroom with 2 Queen beds, bathroom with tub, kitchenette with microwave and bar-sized fridge, and living room. Downstairs, another bedroom with 2 queens and full bathroom. The bonus: you open your front door and walk right out to the street! Or, you go out the back door to the dining room for free breakfast, underground heated parking (very much appreciated in ski season...you can leave even your boots in the car!), and the cave-like hot tub. Another bonus: free bus pass for the Banff area, so you can go up to the Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel for a spa day and dinner, or up to the Upper Hot Springs for a relaxing soak in the mineral water. Staff are excellent at answering questions, making reservations, etc; room is very well cleaned daily. Free Wi-F in the "condo", and a computer downstairs to print out boarding passes if needed.The Fox was an ideal place to stay; we've had the same room two years in a row and would go back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a door opening to Cougar St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We went as a family with 2 in one loft and 3 in another. The lofts are quite roomy and perfect for 2 or a couple with 1 or 2 kids. I noticed that many of the other rooms did look pretty tiny though. Even so, if you're in Banff to ski or hike and just want a nice place to sleep, this place is a-ok.

The hot spring tub is amazing, we all loved it and there is an open roof on a section of the pool. Would be fun on a snowy day to sit under and watch the flakes fall.

For the other services we used.....Chili's, though not my usual choice of restaurant was good, well priced for value and the staff were very very nice. The underground parking is a nice feature too, but it can be a bit confined if you have a bigger vehicle.

My only negative comment for the hotel is the elevator, speed.....painfully slow....I recommend only using it to go up, faster to take the stairs when going down.

Room Tip: The loft rooms are pretty favorable, i like a bit of room to spread out, but again...if you're o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsboro, Alabama, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We just returned from a family ski trip to the Banff area and could not have been happier with our stay at the Fox Hotel and Suites. The hotel is one of the newest in the area (built in 2005, I was told) so it is relatively updated. The staff at the hotel were pleasant and helpful as was the staff of the Chili's in the lobby. We stayed in one of the two story rooms (one-bedroom suite) at the rear of the building. The weather was mild, so we were able to park on the street just yards from our door. This made it very convenient for loading and unloading luggage and ski gear. We also had the option to park in covered parking below the hotel, which I'm sure would be better in snowy weather. The free wifi and parking were appreciated and were not free at many of the other Banff area hotels I looked at.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Me and my fiancé stayed here for 3 days for a romantic birthday trip. I really have no complaints and would give this 5 stars if it were a bit cheaper. The room was good, the pool was nice and the location great. But I would rather stay at Banff Springs (or several other top notch Banff hotels) for just a bit more money since those hotel are more of an experience and this hotel is more of a place to sleep. It's kinda like staying at a nice townhouse opposed to a majestic castle for almost the same price.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your romantic birthday trip. I would like to note for future travellers, that our price point is very competitive, and travellers sometimes forget to factor in the extra charges that other hotels, add in. Things like parking, Wi-Fi, ROAM transit passes and even breakfast are all FREE here at the Fox. Many other properties charge for these, and this needs to be considered when comparing price.

I hope when you compare price points, you will see that the Fox offers not only fantastic guest service, in Banff's newest hotel property, but also excellent value for your money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed here for a week just before Easter. The front desk was fabulous and provided lots of help planning our week! We had the "Superior 1 bedroom suite", which was was on the rear facing side of the hotel - which I highly recommend because of the noise of the other guests. I got up at 2 am to refill my water bottle with ice (which requires going outside and down to the basement). I was shocked at how much noise one group was making on their deck right above our room. However in the lower floor of our suite, we couldn't hear a thing! . The suite is 2 story - partially in the basement - it was not large but plenty cozy with nice linens and comfortable mattresses. The decorations and furnishings are new-looking and tasteful. The bathroom and kitchen were on the small side but sufficient. The hotel is an easy 10-15 min walk to town. The Chili's does room service-which was really nice after a long day of skiing. The other super nice feature is the fabulous cave-like hot tub. It got a lot of use but was very clean each time we visited. The room was also very clean. The breakfast included with the room was pretty good- make your own waffles, cereal, pastries, yogurt, some fruit, and boiled eggs. I think it would make a nice addition to have omelets or eggs prepared to order -even if for an extra fee.

I would change a few thing about the hotel: 1.) there isn't enough space to hang towels. We used the shower rod for towels but then there was no space for wet suits. One of those string extension clothes lines for the shower would have been nice. Or, there was a little out cove in our bathroom under the stairs. Not sure if all the rooms have this, but if they did, this space should have a towel rod for hanging stuff. 2.) There was a wine opener but no bottle opener for non-twist off bottles. 3.) The upstairs couch was stiff and not very comfortable - it made a weird noise every time you moved almost like the cushions were wrapped in plastic wrap under the upholstery.

The Chili's was convenient, the wait staff was very friendly but the food was so-so. I ordered a chicken pasta dinner. The chicken breast was the kind that looks like the grill marks were 'painted' on....funny because right over the fireplace was a sign that says "license to grill" -I'd bet $100 bucks my chicken was not grilled. But the spinach cheese dip and chips were good.

Overall our stay was wonderful! I would stay at those hotel again!

Our favorite ski resort was Lake Louise, which is about 40 minutes away. What makes it so nice is that each lift has a green run, which allows groups of all levels to ski together, meeting up at the lift.

Room Tip: Rear facing rooms are quiter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff's newest Hotel! Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The new Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.