We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Fox Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Fox Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I had heard a number of friends tell me that this hotel was amazing, so my boyfriend and I decided to give it a try.

Pros
Check-in was super easy.
Hotel staff was very friendly.
Heated underground parking which is great for the winter.
Room was cozy.
Bed and pillows were very comfortable.
Chili's on the main floor is really convenient and you get a continental breakfast during your stay. They have a make your own waffle station and the waffles are REALLY good.
Close enough to walk to the shops in Banff easily, but far enough way that it's quiet.


Cons
Parking lot is small and spaces are tight. Our Sierra fit, but I don't think it would have if there were more vehicles there when we arrived.
Our room was really small
Although it was cool to look at, the hot tub was more like pool temperature. It isn't really big enough to move around much (like a hot tub), but it's not warm enough to be a hot tub (like a pool)...we just kind of sat in the luke warm water. And did not stay long.

Overall, we definitely enjoyed our stay and will most likely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    787
    493
    138
    70
    25
See reviews for
440
724
27
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

After reading TripAdvisor reviews, my husband and I decided to stay at The Fox It was our first stay at The Fox, but it will not be our last! Our stay was very comfortable, and the hotel is located very close to downtown (within a short walk). I was investigating for a future getaway with friends in the summer, and the staff let us look at several rooms that met our criteria. The rooms were spacious and clean. Housekeeping does an excellent job. Over our 1 night stay we saw several cleaners making sure that all was shiny and new-looking, and any boot marks from all the snow and salt was taken care of, before it could be unsightly! The hotel has free underground parking which was very nice. The hot tub/pool is amazing!! The free continental breakfast was filling and delicious. We will definitely be recommending this hotel. Michael at the front desk went above and beyond, and was very helpful in answering all of our questions. The only thing that was not perfect.... I would have loved hotel slippers and robe to use when going to the pool from our room. That said - there are big clean change rooms, so the robe and slippers would just be an extravagance! Looking forward to staying there in the future!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is my second stay in at this hotel. My first visit was when it opened up 5 years ago. Stayed in the Loft Suite.

This is an excellent hotel 5 years later! Service and front desk personnel is outstanding. The onsite restaurant is Chili's. There are dishes and cutlery in the cupboard. A personal safe is in the suite. You can book two suites and connect them with a adjoining insuite door.

It's a different concept in hotel designs where the hallway is actually exposed to the inner courtyard. Yes it's outdoors so dress appropriately. It has lockers if you choose to store your skis and snowboard in the heated underground garage.

A must stay in Banff!

Room Tip: Tall vehicles will not fit in garage. Make sure you know your vehicle height. Book lift tickets to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We were staying in Fox hotel for the first time. Had a great time Hotel is located very close to downtown ( within a short walk) Rooms were spacious (1 bedroom suite) and clean Housekeeping was doing excellent job. Hotel has free underground parking which was very nice. Hot tub is very unique.
The continental free breakfast was fulfilling and keep us energetic until lunch time.
Definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Get the room on 4 floor, less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okotoks, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

What a beautiful property! The hotel rooms surround a courtyard in which there is a structure with steam rising from it...this is the hot tub which is a replica of the original Cave and Basin hot springs. The continental breakfast was lovely with very good service. We loved the decor...everything was a picture or shadow of a fox.

Room Tip: Because of the way the hotel is built, it is a little noisy with echos around the courtyard, but und...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and booked because of the Trip Advisor reviews. We were driving and had no where to stay, so I looked up the reviews on my phone and we turned up at the Fox Hotel which was lovely and welcoming with a huge log fire in the reception area.

Everything about our stay was perfect and the service at all times was excellent. We upgraded to a suite which was lovely and gives you a bit of extra space, plus had a microwave and fridge if you needed it. The bathroom was tiny, but it wasn't a problem, as the basin was outside.

We ate at Chillis restaurant one night, which is in the hotel and had a lovely meal. We also visited the hot tub/caves, which are amazing, really unique, we had never seen anything like it. It has a huge open roof so you can sit in there while the snow comes down!

Breakfast was great, pretty basic and loads of kids causing carnage with the make your own waffle machines!! Good entertainment for us though...

Hotel is about 10-15 min walk to the centre of Banff, and we made use of the free underground parking in the hotel too.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingen, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Superb hotel with excellent rooms. Very helpful, friendly and efficient staff who went out of their way to assist. Unique spa room in centre of hotel. Chilli's Restaurant great place to eat. Excellent wait staff, good range of food and super cocktails. Convenient transportation close to front door. Excellent decor.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
#5 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#5 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff's newest Hotel! Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The new Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.