We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed our stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Fox Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fox Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 33 hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed our stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

After reading TripAdvisor reviews, my husband and I decided to stay at The Fox It was our first stay at The Fox, but it will not be our last! Our stay was very comfortable, and the hotel is located very close to downtown (within a short walk). I was investigating for a future getaway with friends in the summer, and the staff let us look at several rooms that met our criteria. The rooms were spacious and clean. Housekeeping does an excellent job. Over our 1 night stay we saw several cleaners making sure that all was shiny and new-looking, and any boot marks from all the snow and salt was taken care of, before it could be unsightly! The hotel has free underground parking which was very nice. The hot tub/pool is amazing!! The free continental breakfast was filling and delicious. We will definitely be recommending this hotel. Michael at the front desk went above and beyond, and was very helpful in answering all of our questions. The only thing that was not perfect.... I would have loved hotel slippers and robe to use when going to the pool from our room. That said - there are big clean change rooms, so the robe and slippers would just be an extravagance! Looking forward to staying there in the future!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,400 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    755
    446
    121
    58
    20
See reviews for
413
662
27
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is my second stay in at this hotel. My first visit was when it opened up 5 years ago. Stayed in the Loft Suite.

This is an excellent hotel 5 years later! Service and front desk personnel is outstanding. The onsite restaurant is Chili's. There are dishes and cutlery in the cupboard. A personal safe is in the suite. You can book two suites and connect them with a adjoining insuite door.

It's a different concept in hotel designs where the hallway is actually exposed to the inner courtyard. Yes it's outdoors so dress appropriately. It has lockers if you choose to store your skis and snowboard in the heated underground garage.

A must stay in Banff!

Room Tip: Tall vehicles will not fit in garage. Make sure you know your vehicle height. Book lift tickets to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We were staying in Fox hotel for the first time. Had a great time Hotel is located very close to downtown ( within a short walk) Rooms were spacious (1 bedroom suite) and clean Housekeeping was doing excellent job. Hotel has free underground parking which was very nice. Hot tub is very unique.
The continental free breakfast was fulfilling and keep us energetic until lunch time.
Definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Get the room on 4 floor, less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okotoks, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

What a beautiful property! The hotel rooms surround a courtyard in which there is a structure with steam rising from it...this is the hot tub which is a replica of the original Cave and Basin hot springs. The continental breakfast was lovely with very good service. We loved the decor...everything was a picture or shadow of a fox.

Room Tip: Because of the way the hotel is built, it is a little noisy with echos around the courtyard, but und...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and booked because of the Trip Advisor reviews. We were driving and had no where to stay, so I looked up the reviews on my phone and we turned up at the Fox Hotel which was lovely and welcoming with a huge log fire in the reception area.

Everything about our stay was perfect and the service at all times was excellent. We upgraded to a suite which was lovely and gives you a bit of extra space, plus had a microwave and fridge if you needed it. The bathroom was tiny, but it wasn't a problem, as the basin was outside.

We ate at Chillis restaurant one night, which is in the hotel and had a lovely meal. We also visited the hot tub/caves, which are amazing, really unique, we had never seen anything like it. It has a huge open roof so you can sit in there while the snow comes down!

Breakfast was great, pretty basic and loads of kids causing carnage with the make your own waffle machines!! Good entertainment for us though...

Hotel is about 10-15 min walk to the centre of Banff, and we made use of the free underground parking in the hotel too.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingen, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Superb hotel with excellent rooms. Very helpful, friendly and efficient staff who went out of their way to assist. Unique spa room in centre of hotel. Chilli's Restaurant great place to eat. Excellent wait staff, good range of food and super cocktails. Convenient transportation close to front door. Excellent decor.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our stay was alright! Service wasn't great but It was because we booked online through booking.com. WARNING: You are better off in all cases to book your hotel stay Through the Hotel rather than online! If you book online and have any issues with your room the hotel does nothing for you! Also you most likely will get your stay cheaper booking through the hotel rather than online! we have made the mistake booking online too many times now and will Only book through the hotel! As for this hotel it is extremely pricey for what the rooms are like. We got a double queen room and the beds were actually two twins! Far too tiny! The rooms weren't great. Also was not a fan of the continental breakfast they only served cereal and waffles.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I appreciate the opportunity to respond. I'm very sorry to hear that your stay was just 'alright'. We strive to provide excellent guest service that exceeds our guests expecations, and are disappointed when our guests don't leave happy. I must correct you, our double bedded rooms are all full double beds. We do not have any twin beds on property. I'm sorry you did not enjoy you room, nor our complimentary continental breakfast. For future guests I must clarify that in addition to a selection of cereals, and a make-you-own waffle station, we also offer fruit, toast with perserves, pastries, muffins and cold hard boiled eggs. Perhaps you would prefer one of our sister properties for your next stay in Banff? Please visit our website to book.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Banff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#5 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff's newest Hotel! Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The new Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.